We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Good Staff”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am in room 510 right now. I have given USD100 instead of USD1 by mistake at the dock in the airport as tips to the staff who picked me up. When I got to the hotel I found this out. I called the front desk. In a few minutes, that staff came to my room to give me back the money in person. I want to let his manager know he has such an honest staff and my trip would not be ruined at the beginning because of his good action. Thank you very much! Sorry I forgot to ask his name. But I feel so good about Male people and Traders Hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Male
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 594 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I paid Top price for top Floor Balcony Room and was given Room 408 on 4th Floor with no view.
After complaining was shifted to 908, not the 10th floor room I expected.
Was unaware Male was alcohol Free and the advertised bar was a juice bar Which meant traveling across to airport hotel daily to enjoy and socialize.
Hotel has excellent Lap Pool and fully equipped weight gym

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigertraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and assisting you with every need. The breakfast was well rounded and the hotel pool was so relaxing I fell asleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is by far the best hotel on Male. If you have a late arriving flight and need a hotel before transferring to your resort, I would highly recommend this hotel.

The greeting at the airport was fine and we only waited about 15 min before they collected all the guests and headed toward the boat. It was a short trip to Male and check in was seamless. I could recommend having your printed reservation/confirmation with you, as we noticed another couple having an issue with their booking (they only had 1 person down instead of 2).

Our rooms was very clean and adequate. Nothing fancy or like a standard Shangri La, but fine. The layout was efficient and we had a nice view. We did't use the gym or rooftop pool/bar, but it looked nice (but small).

The buffet breakfast was great - good variety and quality.

Overall, we were very pleased with the room. We walked around Male for a bit the next morning and it is a good way to see it, without taking an extra excursion from your resort.

The only issue we had was an outlet in the bathroom not working (maintenance fixed).

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to ensure it is quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EB808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Such a warmth, a diverse togetherness of so many nationalities... Lovely food, you must check out the new Chef... The service staff is so sweet and attentive and the front office seems as if they know you inside out... Most over, the General Manager is an amazing lady... Looks like she is your friend...!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sumit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our experience in General is Below expectation, The Hotel location, View and lobby are so poor, the food are not to the standard yet the prices are comparably so high, Spa service is not good and the charge are above range





Room Tip: The layout and furniture are good, lack of hands spray in WC and no Biddet
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Missaibrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THMD-GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Missaibrah,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your feedback.

I regret to hear your experience with us did not meet your expectation and I would like to receive more details from you either by email at thmd@tradershotels.com or by phone at +960 3300 888.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Best regards,

Vathsala Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I cant say a great deal about this hotel unfortunately because of a Cosmos cock up! I paid over two hundred pounds to stay in this hotel for 4.5 hours, it was however very nice but I had no food there so I cant comment on that. The room was impeccable though it had the little extras including a really good quality hairdryer which to be fair is unusual, I just would love to have stayed long enough to see day light!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOMgirlie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
216 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
6.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
8.0 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range: $212 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing