We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the airport but may cost dearly”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Awesome views from the top, lovey food and a supportive(mind you not 'friendly' but supportive) staff which courteously serves to your request. The pool was like any other standard five star hotel pool and the rooms had great plushy beds. Just one downer, didn't feel it offered for as uch it charged.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaibhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Male
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great to stay in for business or if you fancy a bit of culture whilst visiting the Maldives.

The hotel has a great pool, stunning views, very helpful staff and lovely rooms with comfy beds.

It is in the vicinity of good restaurants, the Museum and it is easy to walk around!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an overnight stay before we got transferred to our resort the next morning. There were 2 airport hotel which is convenient for guests who need an overnight stay prior the transfer next day. We decided to stay at Traders Hotel Male. It is a new hotel and just a less than 5 mins speedboat transfer from the Male International Airport.

The breakfast spread is good. I like their pan cakes and waffles. They are tasty!! They have good varieties of pastries for breakfast. Worth for the value.

The staff provided excellent service from the time you arrive at the airport till you check in the hotel. The room is nice and clean. Price is cheaper compare to Hulhule Hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel to guests who wants to stay nearby the Male International airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a superb hotel if you're on business or stopping at Male in transit. Staff are wonderful and SO helpful - always smiling! Rooms are exceptionally clean and shower is amazing - best ever!! I love the way it's visible from the room and shuts off for privacy by Venetian blinds - so inventive! Would most definitely recommend you stay here and enjoy!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank hanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here with my 2 friends only one night for transit. I booked the ocean view room, with the hope that I can get clear view of the ocean just like in the picture, but unfortunately they gave us the room at 8th floor which still can see the ocean but blocked by buildings in front of the hotel. The receptionist said that the hotel quite full during that time.
Unlucky for us, the rooftop swimming pool was also closed due to maintenance, so we cannot enjoy the view from there too.

The food was, sorry to say below expectation. We had mee mamak, nasi goreng indonesia and hainan chicken rice. I hope they can improve the taste.

The room itself quite nice and clean but too small for 3 persons, we got the extra bed. so there was less space to move. But I think maybe this is the best you can get in Male.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qimqim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is located on the island of Male, far away from the atols and resorts, it is mainly for businessmen coming to the capital, airline crew resting in Maldives between flights and stranded passengers due to various reasons, is not the hotel holiday makers are looking for, is just a city hotel for people visiting the capital. it is clean, well decorated, modern and with nicely furnished rooms. the service is good, the people running it are young and eager to help. unfortunately the Maldives are alcohol free and are loaded with taxes, everything is imported and food is pricy....but these negatives are unavoidable anywhere you go here.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nagube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The top floor of the Traders Hotel is under renovation, so the rooftop swimming pool and Azure restaurant were both closed, which is unfortunate since these are among the major attractions of Traders. As other reviewers noted, there is some construction noise during working hours, though I didn't find this a problem since I was out most of the day.

Rooms are very modern and well furnished, and the large walk-in shower was excellent. Prices are high, but this is not surprising on a small island where everything is imported. Front desk staff are excellent, helpful and friendly, and quick to call a taxi or respond to questions about local sights or shopping, or to provide an adaptor plug. The airport transfer by boat is a special feature of Male', and Traders provides a staff member for the transfer to make sure guests arrive at the airport without problems! The boat jetty is a short walk from the hotel.

Food in the Lime restaurant was very good, though expensive for a casual dining venue. Staff were sometimes slow to appear with menus, place settings, etc. though this may have been due to the Ramadan period when most locals are fasting during daylight hours. Also note that no alcohol is available anywhere in Male', including tourist hotels, though the nearby resort islands are free to serve wine, beer etc. to their guests. Curiously, the minibar in the room has a pair of champagne glasses, but nothing more than soft drinks is available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
216 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
6.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
8.0 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range: $212 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing