We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, superb service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First thing to consider in the Maldives is that lodging is just plain expensive for what you get. So lower your expectations based on price. For whatever reason, something that is listed as 4 star (along with price) is really more like a 3 star. That doesn't mean that it isn't still nice, just not equivalent to the price. That being said, the Trader's Hotel was very nice. We were met at the airport by a nice young man who escorted us to the boat for the short ride from the airport to Male and then to a car for the (unnecessary, but nice) 1 minute ride 2 blocks to the hotel. The hotel is in a great location with walking distance to anything (well in Male everything is in walking distance, but this was extra convenient). The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly - even providing me with super glue to fix my only pair of sunglasses before we left for our liveaboard. Our package included a tour of male. This is a walking tour (it is that small and traffic is that bad) that takes around an our. It was done by a really nice young man that spoke good english. He seemed willing to tell you as much or as little as you wanted to know and go really wherever you wanted to go. We ended up buying him a coffee on the waterfront and a place he liked to go and had a really nice time with him. Our rate also included a 3 course lunch in the rooftop restaurant. Again service was very nice. The rooftop restaurant isn't airconditioned and was quite hot. We weren't quite used to the heat yet (had just arrived) so it was a bit stifling. The meal was good. In the Maldives we did experience quite a few times where something that was on the menu wasn't available. I am sure this is due to everything having to be imported, so just keep that in mind and have a second option. The lobby has a nice little coffee shop as well. The rooms were nice and clean and modern. The previous complaints about enclosing the shower and providing privacy seem to have been addressed. The rainfall shower was wonderful and nice and hot. They provided shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and a box of toothbrush, etc. Robe and slippers too. Everything worked great - a/c, tv, coffee/tea, etc. They offered us an upgrade to a balcony view room for $60, but we weren't going to be in the room much anyway. The workout room was small but had new cardio equipment that overlooked the water - looked nice. Food in Male itself wasn't that expensive. No , it isn't as cheap as most south or southeast asia destinations, but typical for a resort island. Room was nice and quiet. The hotel also provided transportation back to the airport. All-in-all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coquelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    246
    65
    23
    12
See reviews for
78
193
30
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were on our honeymoon trip to Maldives. As our flight arrived at night, we had to stay for one night at Male' before we took the seaplane to the resort. Traders Hotel Male' was our hotel for transit and it was a very good hotel doing its job.

We arrived at around 10pm local time, the reception staff was right there to pick us up. After gathering all guests from the same flight, we were guided to the hotel speedboat. The staff were very nice, taking care of us when we got on or off from the boat in the wavy sea. And you didn't need to bring along with your luggage, but the staff did that for you.

The front desk was very efficient & informative. We were at the counter for about 5 minutes, and we got our room card, breakfast serving time & location, as well as our arrangement of the seaplane the next day.

The room was spacious and clean. As we just stayed for a short period, it didn't matter for the view we got. The only thing the improve is the quality of the shampoo & shower gel, we found them a little bit oily for us.

Breakfast was average, with what it should be served.

Overall, we were satisfied with the stay at the Traders Hotel Male'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a hotel in the capital Male, and is more for business than holiday, but it is a great place to stay if you need a stopover for an early or late flight as well. It is very clean and well appointed, with a cute pool and bar area on the roof (no alcohol though). The welcome and service from the hotel staff is excellent. I was taken ill while staying at the hotel while travelling solo, and I can truly say I was better looked after than if I had been at home with my family. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice, rooms are great.

Pool not so nice.

But it's all about location, it's in the city, with nothing that the Maldives is all about around it.

Hotel does offer some excursions to some of the resorts which are open to day travelers. Staff is friendly and will ensure quorum get the resort you want.

The city itself is nothing special, it is there to support the rest.

If your planning a vacation choose a resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BD700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent location for my recent business trip on the island , again the Hotel was the perfect meeting place for our business meetings.
Rooms were well furnished , roof Top pool and sun deck is excellent
While the island is dry ( No Alcohol) there is a free ferry to The Airport Hotel which can provide you with your required drinks and is also very nice

Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was actually my second time to be at this Hotel and if there is one that have stuck in my mind, was the hotel's forever smiling staff. They made me feel very much at home. Evidently, they are well trained in hospitality work. This was especially refreshing for me considering that both my visits in Maldives were for meetings and not for holiday (nobody believes me when I say this) . Special mention goes to the Executive Chef Mr. Edwin Santos who always engaged hotel guest eating at any of the hotel's restaurant in shore conversation and he made sure that were satisfied.

Although the rooms are comfortable enough and equipped with the required amenities, it would have been perfect they been a bit bigger.

Anyway, I hope to be back!

Room Tip: The tenth and eleventh floors are okay as they will give you a good view of the city and the sea, pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luie656997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Convenient free speedboat transfer from the airport to the hotel and back (I let them know in advance).

There are not many hotels located in the small city of Male itself (not much to see in Male and way too many motor bikes!). This is easily the best one, a good 4 star venue. Although more of a business hotel, they made every effort for our 4-year old daughter. They provided a free extra bed for her.

The room was clean and modern and nice with a cute, glass-walled bathroom (with blinds).

Breakfast buffet was elaborate and excellent, a good mix of European-style breads, hot Asian dishes, cheese, eggs and sausages, fruits etc. We also enjoyed nice sandwiches for lunch in the downstairs Deli. For dinner, we tried room service once and the (Italian) food was good. We also ate at the rooftof restaurant the 2nd night and all the food was good too, at reasonable prices. Service was very slow though and it's always warm in the restaurant (even at night, it's open air, no airco).

Rooftop infinity pool is great with excellent views. It's not too big but very nice. Good place to relax.

Check out took a while since I tried to pay cash with the local currency (Maldivian Ruufiyah) and it was difficult to find change. I recommend paying with cash US dollars or credit card!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
7.1 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Property: Hotel Jen Male
Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing