We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuous luxury, with friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way home from a resort in the Maldives. It is located in the city of Male. The hotel is small, boutique style but extremely luxurious. The rooms are furnished to an extremely high standard. We had a deluxe room with a beautiful glass rain shower. The room is small but well equiped with silk curtains and beautiful furniture.

The hotel has an unusual roof top swimming pool with an excellent cafe bar attached where serivce was excellent. In fact service at the hotel was outstanding. Ask for a member of staff called Shimmel who is incredibly helpful, full of local knowledge, excellent English and goes the extra mile to help out. There is also a great manager from Burma who is a really polite and helpful person.

You can step out from the hotel in the choatic streets of Male with motorbikes whizzing by and shops all around. When you re-enter the hotel out of the chaos you feel relaxed very quickly greeted by friendly staff. It was like an oasis from the chaos outside. The hotel also has its own boat which can take you to the islands of the Maldives.

The restauarant was excellent even though it was Ramadan. They went out of their way to help us and made us a vegetarian meal specially made to suit our needs.

We were very impressed with this hotel and we would go back. It is a great place to stay on the way back from a resort on an island because it is close to the airport and you are guaranteed to arrive on time rather than risking a transfer from the resort islands.

I have no doubt we will go back

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room but our children stayed in a standard room and both were very high standard. It...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brynbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Male
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 593 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Traders Hotel is convieniently located a block from the waterfront. They will pick you up from the airport and escort you back to hotel in their own boat . Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, airy and bright. Wireless internet was included in the room rate - reasonably fast download speeds of about 1 MB/second. The restaurant on the roof level serves light meals and non-alcoholic drinks and good coffee. It is next to pool and has an incredible view of the sea and outlying islands. Food is very good - tasty and fresh. As this is on Male', no alcohol is served, but you do not miss it. Their fruit juice-based drinks are imaginatively prepared, wonderfully refreshing and well presented. Breakfast was part of the room rate and is served in the first floor restaurant. Nice selection of breakfast foods and made-to-order eggs. The pool is small lap pool. The gym, also on roof top, is adequate. Has two treadmills, two cycles and a cross-trainer. Good quality equipment, with its won TV. Only free weights. Limited room for any other exercise. Well equipped to serve business travellers, but also convenient for vacationers taking a break in Male' before/after resort island stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAnilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at Traders Male for the night before heading off to an island in the Maldives.
I arrived late in the evening (1030pm!) and left the following morning by 630am, the short stay I had at Traders only gave me a good impression.
The room was a bit on the small side but it was modern. The hotel is about a block away from the ocean so you do NOT get an ocean-front view but still you can get a glimpe of the water.
I had a late night snack at the lobby bar and also buffet breakfast in the restaurant. I used the bar very late at night - about 11pm - but the food must have been prepared on the spot as opposed to one of those TV dinners which you just microwave. So it was very nice and fresh. The price for the snack (I had a salad) was about US$7 so it wasn't too bad for a hotel meal. The buffet breakfast was very hearty and the staff members there were very attentive. The buffet station had lots for you to choose from.
I know this hotel is largely used as a stop-over venue for those who travel to the islands of Maldives but I wouldn't mind staying at Traders a few more nights....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmySydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at Traders for one night after a great holiday in the Maldives. We have stayed there before when it was the Holiday Inn and our experience was better than last time. We have stayed in other hotels in Malé and had such a better stay at Traders when compared to other hotels. Breakfast was included in the price and there was lots of food to choose from and we went away happy. Transfers to the airport were well organised and took just a few minutes from the hotel to check in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We picked this hotel for our stopover hotel in Male as our flight arrived at night and our seaplane would only fly in the morning. We were met quickly at the airport and the trip to the hotel and check in were efficiently carried out despite 6 other couples checking in at the same time.

The room was still new and spacious, the bed was good to give a good night's sleep. Breakfast was really good with a decent selection of tasty treats, and the head chef fussing with the buffet.

The gym is a little tiny, but the infinity pool on roof was surprisingly big.

The staff were also good with arranging our transfer the following day.

All in all it was an efficient and pleasant stay. Just be wary that it is a little pricey if you are just going to use it as a stopover hotel

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank linlaupeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Best hotel in town for the current time as there is no other international hotel as competitor in the Maldivian capital city island.
The experience in general was very good from the beginning to the end of the stay.

Speed boat transfers: complimentary from and to the airport.
Check-in: Fast and with all the information, appreciated the greetings of the Duty Manager
Room: clean, modern and comfortable and quiet (very rare to find in Male)
Pool: great view on the airport and part of the island, interesting sun chairs, walls of the pool not so clean (small greenish algae in the joints)...
Lime: polite service, a bit slow especially for shisha service the evening, starting only at 9.30pm, definitely too late, should be around 6pm with the sunset... and no problem as it is outside
Breakfast: good but nothing exceptional however appreciated the small smoothie shooter delivered to your room by the waiter
Check-out: fast and polite

For sure I will stay again there...

Room Tip: Higher floor if you want a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at Traders Hotel for 2 nights beacause i wanted to know Male city before I go back home.
This hotel is the best Hotel in Male, and it offers the same facilities that others maldives luxury resorts offers, like free boat transfer Airport-Male-Airport, good restaurants inside the hotel, well decorated ambiance, and much more!
The hotel has a nice pool and terrace to take same beautiful photos.
If you want to stay in Male, or you have to wait your flight there, I recommend you to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
216 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
6.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
8.0 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range: $212 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing