We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic choice on your way to the islands”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice on your way to the islands”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at Traders for one night after arriving in Male on a 10pm flight. It was the recommended option from Expedia. The pick-up at the airport was very friendly and professional as was the check-in service. We were impressed that the hotel was aware of our transfer time the next day to an island resort, and had confirmed the arrangements on our behalf. The room was very modern and stylish, and just what we needed after a long day of connecting flights. Breakfast was as good as we had anywhere in the Maldives and they had the best range of tropical fruits we encountered. Overall, we are sure this hotel would receive a 5 star rating in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Sunshine_Band_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    261
    66
    24
    15
See reviews for
79
201
31
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 2nights end of November 2011.
The hotel was great from the pickup at airport ,Checking in,friendly staff,
helpful staff and good service etc.
The downside is they dont serve alcohol, not at the hotel or anywhere else on the Island.
You cannot buy any and you can not bring any on to the Island. We did not know this before
we went to Male. It was a shock when we went up to the roof top BAR for quite beer and told
they only had Non Alcohlic drinks. The nice staff were very helpful and told us to catch a ferry to the Island were the airport is and go for dinner at the only hotel that served alcohol.
We did that the food was ok but the cheapest botte of wine was about $50US.At least we got a drink.Do not stay in Male anymore than one night as there is totally nothing to do in this town.siteseeing will take aproximatley 1 hr walking if you are slow and there is nothing to see, I mean nothing.The shoping is also totally nothing, except for some cheep souverniers. all in all good hotel to stay 1night on route to your wonderful island hotel, but only one night.

Room Tip: No smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raider5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed there for one night. The pick up from airport was quick. Quick check in. The room was clean and comfy. The breakfast was usual. Yet the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Recommend for transit. Rooftop restaurant was nice also, in terms of food and view.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

From the boat transfer from the airport, to the reception staff, to the wait staff at breakfast, all the service was excellent.
The rooms are all new, clean and well presented, [all with air-con, safe, fridge], the upper ones even having a good view over the ocean.
The bar does great coffee, and interesting 'mocktails', and the position by the rooftop pool is wonderful, with lovely views across to nearby atolls.
The gym, though small, is quite well equipped.
The position of the hotel is fine - 1 street back from the water (although Male is very small anyway).
Breakfast was VERY impressive, with the usual western and asian buffet items, plus a great egg station, and special small dumplings or smoothies brought around each day by the friendly staff.
My friend and I spent a few days here before transferring to the islands, and as many dive companies will pick you up from here, [there are many VERY good dives within an hour on a boat], this was an IDEAL place to be based for a few days.
Overall - wonderful hotel: well placed, great staff, good food, reasonable value (great value for the Maldives!). If coming back to the Maldives -I would spend more time here and spend less time on an island..would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Easy transfer from the airport pickup, a short boat ride to the hotel. My husband and I came in late, and were grateful for the quick check-in. The room was good for an overnight hotel. But I did think it smelled a liitle funny ( mold, cigarettes- I'm not sure). We were too tired to complain, and were only there for about 8 hours before going off on a diving boat the following day. The downside of this hotel, the price. The upside, the breakfast buffet, proximity to the dock, and the service was excellent. They went out of their way to help us without any prompting from us when our van didn't show up the next day. This required them to take initiative and several steps;they resolved it all for us. Now this was worth the price of the hotel nights stay. Nice going Traders staff!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stay here about once a month for work, the staff are very helpful and welcoming, they have just reopened a spa which is great after nothing for nearly a year. The roof top pool is a great place to watch planes landing taking off with very little noise. It is also a great look out point to see one half of Male. The hotel is about 1 minute walk from the harbour front.
The rooms are very spacious, clean with brilliant walk-in showers. It's great to open the window and not use the air conditioning. You will hear the call to prayer but after a few times it fades into background.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the front harbour, this is then away from the school at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsoreatsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

On being brought to the jetty from the airport by the hotel's motorboat, it is a minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel was right across the road from the Indian High Commission where I had my meetings. Luxurious and comfortable rooms and ample facilities for an excellent stay. The only sour point is that we get no alcohol on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
108 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,695 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
209 reviews
7.2 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
3.4 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Property: Hotel Jen Male
Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing