We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great taste; very filling”

Sala Thai Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great taste; very filling”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having visiting Bangkok nine times in the past two years, I can say that Sala's Thai food matches the quality and flavors I've enjoyed in Thailand. The ginger iced tea is very strong, and goes very well with the spicy food (unfortunately, no alcohol served on the island of Male).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    122
    48
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Asian restaurant in Male!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went there for a lunch.
We ordered pha nang curry,kangkong and pandan chicken with rice.
The pna nang curry has just the right portion of spices, I love the sweet basil leaves and sliced lemon.
Kangkong was nice, though a bit spicy for me, but I like the oyster sauce aroma.
It has similar taste as another thai resto I used to eat in Singapore.
We happen to know that the cook is a nice thai lady.
I would definitely return again, would love to try its pad thai and pinneaple rice :)

Service was good and fast, the waiter, who happen to be fellow Indonesian, is very friendly.
We also met the owner of the restaurant, he is also very friendly, asking us how the food was, is everything ok, etc.

The price is a bit on the high side, but considering the food quality, cleanliness and the good ambience of the restaurant, I think it is worth it!
This is a must try place when you are in Male!

Helpful?
Thank OceanBlue_Travelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Thai.... EVER!! Must stop over to try.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It's just the finest thai place, probably the finest in the world. A must visit. We ate there twice during our stay. Once when we were guests at the Sala boutique hotel and once when we were staying somewhere else. The Satay is to die for!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anega_Bawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food with authentic taste”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The best dining atmosphere in Male' with food to match. The staff were friendly. The food was the best Thai food available at present. The fruit dink i had was refreshing after the spicy food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

good food, one of the few places in male', where you can get a decent thai meal. place is centrally located and has a good ambiance.

very pricy though. there are thai restaurants in resorts less pricy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mshahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Sala Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing