We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stay in Male'”
Review of Skai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skai Lodge
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Male
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night before joining a liveaboard dive boat. Male' hotel options are not great and the best ones are expensive so this was a good find. Located less than 10 minutes walk from the ferry terminal to/from the airport it is a short walk from the main street and shopping areas. The lobby and rooms were simple but clean, AC worked well and wireless speed was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but again good enough. Our room was accessed by a steep staircase outside that will be a problem for some people so best to ask for a room inside with easier access if you have problems. Overall a good option if you are looking for an affordable night in Male at the start or end of a holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nishan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had a layover in Male for one night, so I decided to stay in town (rather than hang out in the airport, bored out of my mind!).

I booked this place because I was not looking to spend a fortune on a hotel. I only wanted somewhere safe, clean and comfortable.

And, although this place is not fancy and has that look and feel of a 70s outfit, I have only good things to say about it. It was extremely clean, it had AC, the beds were comfortable, there was a TV in the room, and a balcony (I think I lucked out with that). The reception was available 24/7 and the man working there (I believe his name was Ivan, if I remember correctly) was very kind. It was within walking distance from town and close to the ferry dock. There is a great little place called Bro-Cafe practically next door, where I enjoyed a good cup of coffee and nice service, too.

Overall, a surprisingly great budget option that I am glad I found! I realised afterwards that the hotel was also mentioned in the Lonely Planet. Not that I agree with all of their reviews, but that is generally a good sign.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Rather then spend thousands a nite on a Maldivian resort I opted for $70 a nite on this little B&B on Male. Using it as a base for scuba diving with the local Male dive centre it turned out to be a pleasant house meeting my basic expectations. I was placed in a relatively small room with a tiny window looking into another wall and another little window. No sunlight.
AC and shower worked well, full time and free WiFi and a large plasma TV that I never turned on. Breakfast was prompt and always fresh (Fruit, Toast, Omellate and frankfurter sausage thing with greatr coffee and obliging staff). Good value for your money (thats compared to the total rip off for anything targetting tourists!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and request that they ensure a fridge is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BrendanKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank puncakkefasihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nie decyduj się na żaden pokój...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simonghet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: caddeye bakan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayfun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fuana Inn
Fuana Inn
#9 of 11 in Hulhumale
86 reviews
3.5 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 11 in Hulhumale
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skai Lodge

Address: Violet Magu, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range: $61 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skai Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skai Lodge is a cosy place where comfort and affordability are synonymous. A spacious lobby, a coffee house, a garden lobby and a garden terrace allow you to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere right in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Skai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skai Lodge Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing