We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”

Whale Submarine Maldives
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Maldives Submarine Tour
Ranked #2 of 20 Tours in Male
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine yourself cruising through an underwater garden filled with tropical fish. This is exactly what you will experience during your 45 minute dive. On board the submarine you will descend to a submerged reef 45 meters beneath the surface. However the first stop is at 25 meters where you will see a colorful display of corals and different types of reef fish. In most of the dives the submarine is greeted by a school of blue or yellow-stripped Snappers. Common Lion-fish, Yellow Box Fish and turtles are usually found here. Next stop at 40 meters is yet another type of coral garden and depending on current the submarine will be beached on a sandy spot just close to a big cave. The exterior lights of the submarine will enable you to see the different types of fish taking shelter inside the cave
Parakai, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you're like me and you're too old or too chicken to do the scuba diving thing (I'm both) then this is for you. When I was late being picked up someone came along and let me know they were running late so I wasn't left wondering. When we got out to the submarine docking area I was a little worried as it shows the effects that salt had on metal but the sub looked in prime condition. I was a little nervous but they were very professional on the sub with good safety demonstrations.
Once we started to descend to the depths it was just magical. This is a safe view of the reef fish with so much colour and plenty of fish to see. I'll do it again of we go back - it was well worth the US$86.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    20
    11
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Dickson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go for the experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're a diver or have snorkeled in many interesting seas, this will be boring. But the experience being in a submarine is great especially for children. I wasn't really impressed as I didn't see many different colourful fishes except when the divers came to feed them! So paying US$85 for 45 minutes ride wasn't really worth it. You would see more big fishes in an aquarium especially the big ones like in Dubai. The reef seems wilting with very few fishes swimming on it. Anyway, I am glad I went inspite of so many not-so-favourable comments I read. It's an experience by itself. So go and do it, just for the fun of it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZuraidahKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Under the sea experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Other than scuba diving, this is another great way to experience the under water world, especially for children or someone who doesn't swim.

The submarine is clean and tidy, all the seats are set with a big round windows in front of it, so everyone got the chance to see what's outside, the coral reef and the colorful fishes are just too beautiful, some of them already get used to the submarine or human i guess, they swim so near to the windows and let us take pictures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

it was a simply wow experience, i had not seen such beautiful fishes and corals & a lot more underwater sea life.
they take you 30 feets below the sea.it is a must watch

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Satyen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Submarine yes but ...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Here i'm agree with most of the post.
yes this is a submarine going down to -38 meters, but this is inside the harbour just below teh contener sheap.
So the corail reef is not so nice , and thanks the divers who came with the submarine to feed the fish, if not i don't think you will see a lot of nice one.
This is a good experiences but too costly for the results

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Submarine Maldives also viewed

Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Whale Submarine Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing