We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”

Vishal Food and Catering
Ranked #198 of 4,052 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I really enjoyed eating at Vishal. The crab, mutton, bone marrow and veggies were fantastic. Definitely a place to return. Try and speak to the owner Susi to recommend the day's favourites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive affair”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We decided to have a banana leaf lunch at Vishal. Me and my wife had a simple lunch with 2 side dishes each and the bill came up to 46 ringgit, I'm pretty sure that the 2 soft drinks we had were just a couple of ringit at the most. That was definitely going to be the last we stepped in there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sidious19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Authentic Chettinad delights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Unlike many Indian restaurants that serves spicy & salty food and claim them as Chettinad, Vishal serves authentic fare (trust me, my ancestors are from Karaikudi). Food here is of good quality and portions are good. You can be sure a fulfilling lunch with good selection of meat, vegetables and condiments/curries. Do try their (salty) buttermilk drink too cool of the heat from the tasty, spicy food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The banana leaf food served here is South Indian food and it's extremely delicious. Both vegetarians and non-vegetarians can enjoy the food here. Their fenugreek (vendhayam) curry and their Rasam are particularly great dishes. I was quite surprised to find even their thairu (yogurt) quite good as I hardly find restaurant thairu edible at all because usually they don't seem to be anywhere close to homemade ones. The seating in this restaurant is somewhat akin to a wedding hall-like seating where you sit in a row and it's a common sight to see people waiting outside the restaurant to get a seat, so if you're planning to go to have a relaxed, chatty lunch, this isn't the place. All in all, it's great to try out the banana leaf food here at least once!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elvisftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true indian food restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

They serve lotsa dishes from north india and chetinand dishes. Spicy and great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wormyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vishal Food and Catering also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Vishal Food and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing