We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Little Penang Cafe

Little Penang Cafe
Ranked #65 of 4,174 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Little Penang serves very good local dishes such as char kueh teow, asam laksa, prawn mee, curry mee, nasi leamk, lohbak, ABC, etc. Considering the location of the cafe, the price is reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JUNELAUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    227
    84
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good street style food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything was delicious and pretty reasonable. The waiting wasn't that long and we got our food fast. I will definitely go back when I am in KL.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Little Penang for lunch during our 2 days for lunch while visiting KL. The food is delicious and inexpensive. On food alone, I would give this place a 5. However, I have 2 minor complaints:
1. The location: Little Penang is located in a mall (the Suria KLCC). I understand this is common for Kuala Lumpur, but doesn't provide a "romantic" (for lack of a better word) setting.
2. Little Penang does not serve any alcohol. I felt that a beer would be a fantastic complement to the food, but was unable to get one.
Despite my minor complaints, I would still highly recommend Little Penang, especially for someone seeking a quick, inexpensive meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stantongk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have visit Little Penang Cafe more than a dozen times since they opened their first outlet in Mid-valley. They are consistent and the service is reasonable, but often difficult to get a table during peak hours especially at lunch time. Every time we visit KL we make it a point to go to Little Penang Cafe, and have been through most of the menu with no disappointments - highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Last year I visited my daughter and son-in-law in Kuala Lumpur and we went to Little Penang. The food was really delicious. Although I never visited Penang myself, my daugther and son-in-law tell me that it tastes exactly the same as the food in Penang. I had the Kuey Tiao (I have no idea how to spell that) and it was excellent. The service was also very good. I will definitely come back to the restaurant the next time I go to Malaysia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evangelina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Penang Cafe also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Little Penang Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing