We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing to find good pork knuckle in KL”
Review of El Cerdo

El Cerdo
Ranked #9 of 5,520 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Backed by 40 years of experience in various fine dining kitchens around the globe, Werner Kuhn set up El Cerdo KL, in the year 2005. The restaurant is well known to many as the No. 1 European style Pork Specialty eatery in Kuala Lumpur, focusing on traditional recipes. Having gathered many accolades for its outstanding food and service quality, the most popular item is "The Cochinillo Segoviano", a Spanish style roasted suckling pig dish that is served with the obligatory Plate Cutting Ceremony. Our slogan shouts out loud 'Nose To Tail Eating'.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

I was so excited to find good pork knuckle in KL. The quality was as good, if not better than the pork knuckle in the german bier gartens. The crackling was brilliant and there was enough to share with three people. The service was also very quick.
A very good dining experience - the plate throwing adds to the entertainment.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Hi J-Bird86, thank you for the supportive review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant very romantic, all the food serving are nice of juicy taste especially the roaster pig. Before when through the dinner they are good explain of the history of special serve dishes. In the end, the environment are good in service with Mr.Andrew and all the staff. I would like to recommend to my relative and friend around me.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JessreneGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Hi there, thank you for the lovely reviews, we are glad that you enjoyed our food and service as much as we do! It is our pleasure to be able to serve you and do come back to visit us anytime soon. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant has a wonderful and cosy ambiance. A nice place to have gathering.

The food is yummy and finger licking good. Did not order the roasted piglet as there were only 2 of us. We ordered the Iberico ribs cooked in guiness stout. A little too salty but the ribs are awesome. The Portobello mushrooms are sweet, salty and mouth watering. Children below 6 eat free. The sausage is really good.

A really good place to dine. However a word of advice....please make reservation. We were there on a Wednesday night and the place is packed.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Hi sheronlee, thank you for the lovely reviews, we are glad that you enjoyed our food and service as much as we do! It is our pleasure to be able to serve you and do come back to visit us anytime soon. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday night. The food was still excellent. We started with caesar salad. And same as last time we had the pig tail stew and ribs, both were good as last time. This time we finally have tried half a suckling pig. It was two week old and it was very tasty. Ben, the waiter who served us was really attentive and always carried a smile. We will certainly go back for more.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank miraclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Hi miraclen, thank you for your continual support and the lovely review! It's indeed a pleasure serving you towards a memorable dining experience! Glad that you enjoyed our food and dining experience here. Looking forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

One of the most cool restaurant of K.L.
Superlative food in one of the most interesting street of the city; may I can suggest to try "Spaghetti with meatballs" so good taste!!!
Quite expensive but believe me, it's worth it.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Andreagipsy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at El Cerdo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Hi Andrea L, thank you for the supportive review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cerdo also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to El Cerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing