We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
12
66
40
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
66
40
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kl sentral old town white coffee brickfields area triple room transport hub indian food monorail
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 139 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2017

We 3 had stayed in YMCA in a triple room on 7/6/17. The room size, room rate and location is great.
But, the condition of the shared bathroom cum toilet is totally not satisfactory. Not to mention the size (2&1/2ft x 5ft include toilet & shower), cleanliness of the bathroom, but the proper amenities like hook/hanger is not installed in every bathroom in order the hostel guest can hang their clothes while taking bath. Moreover In the first public toilet/bathroom on 3rd floor, both heaters were not functioning. We hope the authority will improve and upgrade the bathroom facilities. And one more thing, they should have supplied slippers for guests using the shared bathroom.

18 hours ago Answer

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ally_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

The YMCA, KL is located at a stone's throw from the KL Sentral transport hub for where you can get transport to all parts of Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand. The KL Monorail is a short walk. The rooms are small but quite tidy and come with twin beds. The in-house cafeteria is closed since February, 2017, but that is not really a problem as there are plenty of eating joints around the YMCA complex including my old Favourite, Old Town White Coffee, bang opposite its gates. you are also not far from the Brickfields area, so Indians will have plenty of options within easy walking distance. The location so close to the transport hub of the city makes this an ideal place if you have early morning flights to catch. Moving around the city on Monorail or LRT is also quite easy.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mohantymr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017

YMCA is located in a vintage point as it is in the heart of the city of Kuala Lumpur. It is closer to the Train Transportation hub of "KL Central". You can walk with one bag to the KL Central from its backside entrance through massive the supermarket. There is an overhead passenger walk structure of the road where it connects from KL Monorail station. Either get to into it from escalator walking from roadside or enter the Supermarket and get to the upstairs and find the entrance to the back of the KL Central Station. If you want to enter the KL Central station from front, you have to take a taxi but it is at closer distance. Train schedules can be downloaded the internet asking for ‘ KL train schedule to your destination location”
I booked the YMCA on the same morning but luckily there was a vacancy though it had to be booked in advance. The checking in and out is at 2 pm. I came there around 12 pm and I had to keep my bags in their store- room on the ground level with a name tag and the counterfoil was kept by me to claim for them when needed. I walked around the area and got to know the surroundings. I ate from a restaurant a lighter diet (parota) as I was not much hungry. There are numerous restaurants found around the YMCA for having Indian or Malaysian food. You should be careful of the Malaysian food as the tastes might not meet with yours. YMCA has a restaurant by the name “Cherry’s Cafe” which is on the ground floor. The food is little on the high side and takes little time to serve. But the place is clean and has a quality outlook with beautiful decorations.
At 2 pm, they took copies of my passport and my YMCA membership card and I had to pay the subsidized rate in full for the full stay. You have to take your bags by yourself with the help of the little older lift in operation. The room is clean and carpeted though it looks old. They supply 2 small bottles of water and two clean glasses wrapped in pollythene covers. You can make tea/ coffee if you bring sugar and tea sachets / 3 in 1- coffee packets as a heater is provided.
‘Wifi’ facility is available but I didn’t use it as I had 3 GB data from the local sim I bought at the air-port for 30 Ringgits (lowest offer). Sometimes they refer Ringgits as Malaysian Dollars by slipping of the mouth. At the airport, the foreign exchange was 4.1 MR to 1 US $, but you can get higher rates from the Money Ex-changers in the city.
The AC is very effective. The TV shows about 5 channels which are all in Malaysian medium with no sub titles in English. Therefore, there is no value of the availability of the TV to a foreigner. The authorities could make arrangements to provide some English channels either of Malaysian or from other countries’ TV broadcasts, which gives a value to foreigners too.
The toilet is clean but looks oldish. The space towards the cubical white plastic covers to the left of the commode, is very small and not comfortable to do the needed activity. The water filling to the storage cistern of the commode, did not stop in the night, which disturbed my sleep with the noise of water.
If anyone or a group of people wishes to go on sight-seeing of attractions in KL, Malacca etc could be arranged by organizers in the city. Read the forum to find the details of the organizers. I enjoyed my sightseeing of very interesting attractions around Kuala Lumpur and really got impressed in them. I enjoyed my stay in YMCA as well as KL.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Titus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017 via mobile

For budget conscious study tours in KL, this is a good place. Even better than the usual backpackers hostel, because you have your own bed in a stylish, carpeted room. Also the best part is that is near the KL and NU Sentral, the transportation hub leading to various points in KL, wven to Batu caves and KLIA.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
Thank janmichael10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

We a group of 19 adults most of them senior citizens during our visit to Kuala Lumpur stayed in YMCA, Brickfield, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for four days. YMCA is situated in the heart of the city and very near to the Central Railway Station. Further it is very close by to Little India and you can go there by walk. Lot of eateries nearby both Indian and Chinese cuisine. If you don't have any transport of your own then you can engage a taxi very easily. The rooms are neat and tidy with AC and geyser in the room. The linens are white and clean. The reception staff are cordial and also helpful. Most of the workers are Tamil speaking hence you can easily seek their help. As of now electrical re wiring is going on so there will be some notice pollution during day time. No complimentary breakfast provided by YMCA. BUt there is Cherry's Cafe in the ground floor which opens at 7.30AM, but the rates are on the higher side and they take their own time to serve the ordered food. The hotels opposite to YMCA offers Indian breakfast by 6.30AM at a very reasonable price. Ample Car parking facility available. You have to book in advance and have to pay the balance at the time of checking in itself.TV, wifi and lift are available. Overall a very pleasant stay for the group.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ravikumars3443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews