We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location -Nice & clean rooms”
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YMCA Hostel
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we two families stayed for 3 nights in YMCA ,triple room & double room on 3rd floor .
rooms are clean and comfortable.staff is co-operative . Location is very good near KL sentral , Breakfast was all right need to improve the menu .
Regards
Sanjay Godambe

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sansheetaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

The staff were most friendly and helpful. Sure, our room was rather spartan, but then, it was clean and comfortable. Location is just wonderful, right in the center of the city, near public transportation. Breakfast was all right, and that is the reason I gave it four star, rather than five.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I came to kuala lumpur with my friends, and this hostel was our choice. A good choice for backpackers just in need for a place to crash after a long day of trip. Flat screen tv, good AC, near to KL Sentral which is the intersection of all public transportations, near to restaurants, 7 eleven, petrol station if you decide to rent a car. Ive decided to come back hear next year.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aldy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is my second trip to Kualalumpur n stay in the same hostel. Actually I plan to try another hostel near Kl Central which is the central of bus and train in KL. After check some hostel nearby train station, finally i come back again to this hostel. One thing that I like from this hostel is the safety. There are many rules written n this i like....:D. The receptionist..are very friendly and helpful , clean room (with new bedcover..as I remember)..clean bathroom (my 2nd priority). However the variety of the breakfast are still same as 2 years ago..

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the best choice, it has attached bathroom with reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TatikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The biggest plus point for this hostel is the amazing location. Real close to KL Sentral.This means easy access to any mode of travel.

As far as the rooms are concerned ,they were clean and the beds were quite comfortable. The bathrooms were also clean though were a little small. The staff in-charge was quite helpful and there were no major issues with check-in out check-out process.

Breakfast was also decent. No issues with it.

All in all a Decent place to stay. Not bad.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sukesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The YMCA Hostel in Kuala Lumpur is very conveniently located, just across the KL Sentral Bus Terminus. The hostel is very simple and clean, however, the disinfectant that is used to clean the rooms / corridors, gives one a feeling that one is in a hospital. The good thing about this place is that it is safe.

Room Tip: The rooms with common / shared toilets should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCostac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a rather basic hostel. No frills whatsoever. But I was told that they were going to upgrade the place soon. They were doing some maintenance work when we were there. But it is pretty safe for a woman if you are staying alone. It's value for money.Lots of food around this vicinity. But food served in the cafeteria is in small portions. Towels were clean. But I feel that they could upgrade a bit and charge a bit higher. Dont want YMCA to lose its appeal to the young travellers in a shoe string budget.

Room Tip: I doubt they have a fitness center or a swimming pool. As I said, it's value for money. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shan101062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#88 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#13 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
BackHome Kuala Lumpur Hostel
#1 of 296 in Kuala Lumpur
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: 95 Jalan Padang Belia, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $20 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing