We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
12
65
40
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
65
40
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskl sentralold town white coffeebrickfields areatriple roomtransport hubindian foodmonorail
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 138 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The YMCA Hostel in Kuala Lumpur is very conveniently located, just across the KL Sentral Bus Terminus. The hostel is very simple and clean, however, the disinfectant that is used to clean the rooms / corridors, gives one a feeling that one is in a hospital. The good thing about this place is that it is safe.

Room Tip: The rooms with common / shared toilets should be avoided.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCostac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a rather basic hostel. No frills whatsoever. But I was told that they were going to upgrade the place soon. They were doing some maintenance work when we were there. But it is pretty safe for a woman if you are staying alone. It's value for money.Lots of food around this vicinity. But food served in the cafeteria is in small portions. Towels were clean. But I feel that they could upgrade a bit and charge a bit higher. Dont want YMCA to lose its appeal to the young travellers in a shoe string budget.

Room Tip: I doubt they have a fitness center or a swimming pool. As I said, it's value for money. Don't expect much and you wont be disappointed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shan101062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Do not stay here! I'm really regret it. I don't even think that we can stay in here. So terrible!!!
The bathroom is broken, the room is flood when the rain is fall. OMG!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ihateymcakualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was looking for somewhere to stay near KL Sentral which was clean and also safe for a solo woman traveller (there are quite a lot of shady hotel / massage places in the surrounding Brickfields area.)

The YMCA has been a nice surprise - the room is small and unfortunately carpet-ed, but everything clean and functional (tv and kettle, attached bathroom with hot water) and the place seems very well run.

Check-in was easy and breakfast is included - each day they have some different special (fried noodles today!) as well as regular toast and butter or whatever. There is a 7-11 just behind, on-site laundry and an "Old Town" kopityam (with free wifi - free wifi also in the YMCA café) across the road.

The airport bus-stop is 5 minutes walk away. Just one word of caution: women should be careful walking around at night (after 10pm or so it's not really advised) and also in KL you should always be careful of your bag - there are many cases of bags being snatched by motorbike riding thieves. Best to walk carrying your bag on the non-street side. This is also true in many areas of Bangkok (actually I had my bag snatched on Sala Daeng in BKK one month back.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I must advise everyone, this facility is most suited for those in vraiment désespéré or when there's no other choice. I stayed here for two days and 1 night since my permanent residence was having water supply shortages. Dragging our feet, we closed one side of the eye to check-in here, early January, 2012. It was already 10:00 p.m., as I'm so exhausted after work, I can't wait for the water supply to resume (back home). At RM80, we got a Deluxe room , paid using Visa debit card (Walk-in). The room was equipped with the old, torn and worn out wall paper with smelly beds that's covered with the 80's bed cover set. Even the small bulky CRT colored TV must be of the 1980s model and yes, it has air-conditioner (also 1980s). It is really like the horror movie feeling when the lift door opened at the black-out darkened hall way. We are lucky because there is a technician that still working at 10:45 p.m. to fix the broken lamps. Water pressure is good, heater is workin, toilet not that bad.
Other facilities:- There's a kiosk that sell basic necessities such as biscuits, sodas, tit bits, shampoo, soaps, American cigarettes and magazines. Also there is an ATM machine attached to the building and a new restaurant operated by the same hotel workers. If you walk about 5 minutes to Jalan Syed Putra Kiri, you shall find a fameux plat pour la Malaisie the Nasi Lemak stall. It's cooked in coconut milk, with pandan leaves and even ginger or a stalk of lemon grass. Nasi Lemak is available on almost every street corner and in almost every local-themed restaurant, served with everything from chicken to beef to cuttlefish.
If you could spare more budget, walk up the hill (about 8 minutes) to Le Chateau Siu Siu seafood restaurant, famous for the Chilli crabs and chill beer. It's packed with the expatriates. Public transportation should not be a problem in this part of the city. Walk about 150 meter, you shall find yourself a cross over bridge to monorel that will transport you in the heart of the city or to the airport. If you love shopping, get a taxi to the Mid Valley Mega Mall (it should cost you less than RM10) - about 1.3 km.
That's all.

Room Tip: There is no good room. The hotel is too old, without any attempt to refurbish.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeachBoys_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews