We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"BBQ Korean Style"”
Review of Sae Ma Eul Bbq

Sae Ma Eul Bbq
Ranked #975 of 5,552 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

It's a Saturday night and where to go for dinner... BBQ Korean style... at Sae Ma Eul @ Solaris Mt Kiara. First time there... and found the restaurant, 2 shoplots at the corner, to be clean and airy. Waiters were eager to serve and pretty good in introducing the types of meat suitable for the BBQ. It was fun making balls of rice for BBQ from the spicy rice... guest are given a pair of plastic glove to mix the rice into balls and place it over the BBQ stove. Leave it on the stove longer if you want a crispy feel but be careful not to overcook/burnt it. There were 5 of us so we ordered mutton, chicken, pork and baby octopus for starters but the serving portion was enough.... Of the four meats we took the mutton and baby octopus were simply divine... chicken and pork were just so so. Unlimited side dishes kimchi, cabbages among others were replenished in a jiffy. Beer and soju are a bit pricey... water is served free... Come early parking is limited or park in Solaris and walk a bit. Not a bad place for dinner and reasonable pricing too.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank ABossMTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 20 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2017

Our son brought us to experience their cuisine as he had been dining here regularly. Its different from other Korean restaurants we had dined overseas and here in Asia. The place a corner shop lot had an open concept but with a blower and 3 units of circulatory air con to keep the interior ventilated and cool. The menu had a good selection of rice and noodle dishes and 2 sets of combi BBQ meats. Their Seaweed Kimchi Rice Balls was a hit and leaving that place without it would be a great disappointment. Not having the Buckwheat Pancake would be an incomplete meal and my son highly recommended it. The combi BBQ meat with Octopus came lightly marinated and the taste was subtle and tasty unlike the regular overpowering chili seasoning. Even the accompanying condiments were plain pickles.... cabbage and cucumbers and a portion of Kim Chi to share. We liked the sesame and Gochujang dips for the BBQ meats and the generous portions of lettuce wrap that was delivered promptly when a request was made. The seafood tofu soup was flavorful and as it was served in a metal cauldron it was warm till we scooped the last bite.

The staff was attentive and helpful where service was concerned. Pricing was reasonable and it was a good place to dine. One could get HITE a popular Korean beer here too!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

This is a fantastic and fabulous Korean Restaurant located in Solaris Mont Kiara. The owner and also the staffs are extremely polite and friendly and the food is so tasty and yummy. Price wise, it is absolutely reasonable and the food is very authentic too. It is definitely a must try for me each time I am in this area.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheConciergeSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Good BBQ meal... various meat, prawns, side dishes veges and sauces... somehow the Korean BBQ is much much neat and tidy than others.... just love it.
You got to remember get the Soju (alcohol drinks) and have it together with the BBQ... you will feel damn warm and happy...

happy eating :)

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Milky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

1st time BBQ rice balls in the Korean BBQ restaurant. Was given a big bowl of rice, with mixture of sesame seed, seaweed ... Happy like a kid making the rice balls. After put on grill, the outer layer of the rice balls became a bit crispy but the inside still moist. YUMMY!

If there is a choice, I would rather sit out door. So, you get what I meant ....

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JUNELAUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sae Ma Eul Bbq also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Sae Ma Eul Bbq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing