We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience”
Review of Opium KL

Opium KL
Ranked #24 of 5,546 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Introducing Opium KL! Established on 12th July 2014, this unique outlet focuses on Asian Oriental delights with a twist; such as Phoenix Dumpling, Fern Leaf Salad, Crispy Duck Noodles, Wagyu Beef Rendang, and the signature Beef Brisket & Tendon Stew just to name a few. Inspired by the Opium regimes of the east, the interior speaks for itself. Furnished with age-old artifacts such as an opium bed in the Rose Room, opium pipes and huge Chinese wine pots displayed vividly at the Communal area, the outlet aspires a 1930s-1960s look and feel. It's slogan, Eat Drink Man Woman takes a more subtle approach to distinguish Opium KL as the place for people to unwind and focus purely on the food, conversation and quality time.
Reviewed February 28, 2018

great atmosphere and fantastic food, the staff are amazing, Marvin was great fun. Visited twice in December 2017 when in KL for Christmas, will be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidnelson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi davidnelson8, thank you for the lovely review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 289 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

*Ambiance:
Not bad at all.

*Service:
excellent and very warm.

*Food:
It was amazing. I’m not a quinoa person myself but that tasted so good that I almost licked my plate at the end.

*The experience Overall:
One of the best meals I’ve had in my trip.

* Would I go back again:
definitely yes!

Date of visit: February 2018
4  Thank Ali-Ald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Ali-Ald, thank you for the encouraging remarks! It's indeed a pleasure serving you towards memorable dining experience! Glad that you enjoyed our twist on asian food. Looking forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

Beautiful restaurant at the corner street of Changkat. Great place for girls' night-out with great food and cocktails.

Must Try: Yam Chicken, Chicken Satay, Butter Prawns, Consort Young & Black Dragon

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TanyaT1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hi Tanya T, thank you for the supportive review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

We celebrated my Mom's 70th birthday here with 36 family members. The staff were very accommodating to our big group and recommended the dishes well. We had many smaller tables connected to the big long table and had all 36 people in one long table.. amazing! The staff were very attentive and food is good. Great ambience and enough space for the kids to move around as well.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank anita8333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Hi anita8333, thank you for the lovely review & share the happy occasion with us! Glad that your party were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

Found the place via tripadvisor and Opium was in my opinion the best restaurant at KL. The night time atmosphere with good service and excellent food. Also the restroom was decently maintained that you can not say of all of the places.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 299heikkih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernersGroup, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2018

Hi Heikki H, thank you for the lovely review! Glad that you were enjoying our servings and the dining experience here! We look forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Opium KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing