We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the caretakers there!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sekeping Serendah Retreat
Ranked #58 of 358 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Pros: Nice retreat spacious Warehouse 1 and Wooden Malay House ( quiet nice too)
really a getaway from the city - poor 3G signal - so talk to each others!

Cons: The caretakers ( im sure they are very nice people actually) but they keep disturbing us demanding for money , if that happens to you , please deal with the management directly...

Room Tip: Take Warehouse 2 - spacious Take Malay traditional Room - if you like a traditional malay house fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the place for you to go if you want to unwind and chill. The fresh air and jungle sound is relaxing calming. Don't come here if your idea of fun wknd involves internet and tv. There's no phone line so it is the perfect place to go to escape the reality of work and city. Driving from town takes about an hour. Plenty of things to do like hiking, swimming, fishing and just laze around. The only bad thing I can think off is the service. The caretakers stay near the entrance of the place so it's a hassle for us to go back and forth to change the kettle that's not working (we change it 3X). And don't expect them to be the friendliest people on earth coz they are like working there under protest. Even when we reach there and we wanted to check out the place he was very rude and dismissive. When we leave the place there was no one at the gate and we opened the gate ourselves. OK I sound very whiny but of you pay for that much wouldn't you at least expect some decency for someone to open the gate at least and say good bye, thanks for coming? But all that aside I still recommend this place coz the architecture and surrounding is breath taking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaiChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me and my friends really enjoy the natural of Sekeping Serendah.
We stayed Timber Shed 1 which near to the main entrance. Chris is so friendly to us when we reached there.
The place we stayed in was clean and the bed is so comfortable.

Will be a great place to gather all the friends!

http://j-angel0610.blogspot.com/2013/08/8sekepng-serendah-retreat.html

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euginelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Sekeping Serendah near Rawang is about 1 hr drive from KL. Didn’t know what to expect at first except it being close to nature but when we arrive there, I was pleasantly surprise. The acco. concept was basic rustic minimal contemporary design and I really like the way the decorated the place with very old industrial vehicle parts, bolts and nuts, chains hanging. There’s no walls and you’re constantly next to nature the whole time. There’s mosquitoe netting on the bed bunks, but surprisingly we weren’t really attacked by mozzies.
It’s a great place to getaway for group outing, especially if you have a big group of 10 or more, it’s fun. Good for teambuilding. We arrive in the afternoon after passing thru Rawang Town. After checking in, we decided to venture to the nearby waterfall about 10 minutes drive away. Practically that’s the only attraction around there besides pond fishing. It was great relaxing at the waterfall, enjoying the cold water and nature.
By evening, we went back to the unit and started our bbq. The staff there will prepare the necessary and you will have a nice big bbq pit. I would do this on a regular basis if the price for the unit was a bit less expensive. We paid around RM1200 for 12 people for night.
Overall it was a good experience and everyone enjoyed themselves which is the important factor. One of the better getaways that I will remember. Good for 1 night, 2 nights will start to get boring I think.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JsiaKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

me n my wife colls book glass house for last holiday. 26july to 27july. 1st time knw there have a place jz 1hr drive frm the city. the way frm rawang to serendah is jam on traffic. aft serendah polis station, need to turn right. in fact the big jungle tree not as big as we imaging at the roadside.

for sure, the place is deep and far away frm the main road which we need to drive pass by 2 orang asli kampung and there is a vy beutiful lake view on right hand side. aft we reach, all cars is park aft the gate and glass house is middle on the whole retreat.

1st impression is jungle , mosquito and fresh air. we cant feel the hot sun ever though 2pm in the afternoon. we enter the glass house vy excited. but aft we see the toilet and the bedroom. abit down. toilet not so clean as we expect, and also the bedroom we tot is fully glass even the rooftop, but there is not glass on top.

we went to swimming pool, enjoy swimming in the jungle feel. we also went to the jungle tracking so called. the road is between the jungle and nice green view. weather is jz nice to tracking the jungle. we saw they are build new house. think the business is good so that need to have more house to cope the need of customers.

we do complain on few things.
1. the toilet cannot flush.
2. the water power is low.
all this they have a fast action and fixed it.

630pm the staffs came over setup the fire for bbq and looks vy friendly to us. all tools for bbq is ready by them and we jz prepare the foods. tis is a great time enjoy wit friends and family there. we cant use phone cos the signal is weak, no fb no chatting on phone. there have no tv as well. all back to the simple and relax life.

11pm we go into bed. glass house the lock not so safe. in case any ppl can try to enter easily. i also not sleep so deep in case anything happen. the feeling we sleep inside jungle wit glass house is a vy amazing experience for me and my wife.

anyhow this is a vy good place away from work stress.
recommend those friends and family gathering there. but make sure go with male friends or family. abit dangerous for females alone there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WinsonJaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Basically, it was a good experience for those who never been to "forest". My friends and I went there for 1 night. There are 30 of us in total, so we booked 2 warehouses and 1 glass shed house. Firstly, the warehouses are totally open to the environment with just the rooftop (some of the bathrooms are without ceiling), however, they were well-equipped, very spacious and quite cozy. They are a very good places for gathering. At night, it was very cold i would say. The glass shed house is also a very nice place whereby there are a small pool next to it and a barbeque pit, how cool is that. The glass shed house is "closed" as compared to the warehouse. For those who fear of mosquitoes, perhaps glass shed house is a better choice.
The place is quite difficult to locate if didn't use the interactive map provided and the there was no big and clear sign board at the entrance, such a pity. There was only a small block of stone carved and painted with the words 'sekeping serendah' on the ground and if you don't notice, you would end up overshoot.
Regarding the connection to outside world, it was not totally out of connection with the outside world as some of the telecommunication service providers were still able to provide mobile data such as U Mobile and Maxis whereas Digi need to find a higher location to have signals.

Overall, I would say this is a good place to spend with family members or friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaiLing03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Been there yesterday for only 1night. There was 5 of us all girls. Stayed in Timber house located nearer the caretaker house,the 1st house on your left right after the gate. At first everything was fine & we enjoyed ourselves of the green landscape,welcomed by the caretaker nicely,had BBQ n etc. The worst part happened at 12.36am last night when all of us already gone to bed. One of the caretaker had entered into our house knocking one of the room saying 'hello hello' (with hoping that my friend will open the door),luckily they ignored him and then that guy walked away. My friend get out n asked us whether we see any guy coming just now..not long after that (while we still talking), he came back! Making both of my friend to run back to their room & lock themselves!! I was scare to death wishing that he wont something bad to them (3 of us staying in other room,which we can clearly see what is he doing). My friend said to him back from the door 'what do you want, go away or i'll shout'..he answered back 'nobody can listen to your shout'..after about 15mins he gone again, three of us run towards our friend room where now 5 of us are stick together in that room. I was shaking like hell,damn scared and hardly to breath. We locked ourselves n put one of the bed n sofa tothe door to hold it.n everyone trying to get the mobile network.luckily one of us who used Celcom able to make contact and called the police. It took them about 20mins to get to us, at first none of their caretaker open the gate for the police, n i opened the window n shouted 'help' then only the police located our house. The caretaker has run away leaving his sandal.we found that he has trying to get into our room by climbing the ceiling using the sofa as a ladder. We packed our stuff and driving back around 130am. After 15mins the cop clled us informing they have found the guy n he was drunk. This morning the p.i.c called my friend ask us to take back the police report and offered us 1 night of free stay. She must be insane. This is the WORST experience ever!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
170  Thank yuyu3087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Lumpur
16.2 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#3 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
869 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
290 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,410 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
#84 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,082 reviews
15.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sekeping Serendah Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekeping Serendah Retreat

Address: 67 Jalan Tempinis | Lucky Garden, Bangsar, Kuala Lumpur 59100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sekeping Serendah Retreat Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing