We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #78 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good value & convenient”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 3 nights last month, was looking for a budget place and wanted to try out one of the Tune hotels. Yes, you get what you pay for, and you can decide what you pay for, I took fan only and internet as I am not a great lover of air conditioning nor television so it suited me very well. I use a room only for sleeping so the small size is no problem, room is clean, bed comfortable & bathroom perfectly adequate with plenty of hot water. Location is excellent, 5 minute walk from monorail station and 20 minute walk to KLCC and Twin Towers. A mall & many restaurants within few minutes walk so everything I needed was on tap!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    615
    370
    108
    112
See reviews for
222
351
343
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Yes its cheap, but its a false cheap. You have to pay for everything, a towel, air cond, internet etc.
There is not even a glass or a cup in the room. Service started off with the girl coming out to serve me and saying "YES". No welcome, no hi. I was obviously taking her away from her phone. The extras you pay for are very sub standard....You can only connect 1 item at a time, so if you have a phone & computer you must disconnect one and wait minutes before you can connect the other one. Then you must log on again every time you use it, go through two pages before it will connect. Ridiculous when most hotels have real hi-speed wifi these days. The TV which you pay for every day is the most basic, it has 1 movie channel which plays 90% kids movies.The elevator is so slow, the doors open & close at a ridiculous speed. The rooms are tiny & cramped and my one was never cleaned before 3pm, which means you cannot go for lunch and then come back & relax in a clean room. There are 3 hangers on a rod on the wall, no cupboards, drawers etc. You hear people slamming their doors all through the night. The lock on my door was broken so I told the same girl on reception, she could care less. The only good points about this hotel are, it has a coffee shop, a 711 & you can walk to public transport. There are much better places than this and when you factor in all the extras you will find a better deal. And you will probably get a drinking glass & cup in your room.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi James,

I'm sorry we failed you this time. It's clear we have some areas we need to improve. Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com so that I could check the defects on the door lock and for the rest you have pointed out, the maintenance team has been notified to check this up.

Rest assured, we will continuously monitor and improve our services. Thank you for the constructive feedback and we hope to provide better service next time.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very good choice for budget tourist, cheap! but not bad !

Excellent location, 2mins walking to MRT. u can also walk to KLCC in 20mins.

room is not every big , but enough for 2-3 people. u can DIY buying ur needed serves in TUNE's official website.

i also like the breakfast in this hotel, simple but pure. nice old town coffee and bread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is an easy 5 min walk from LCC.( ha ha much shorter walk than the walk from your arrival gate into the terminal, huge airport!!) small but comfortable clean rooms with everything that you could want for a stop between your travels. Very friendly helpful staff. They have very reasonable baggage store facilities. Highly recommended. Eat over in the Airport if you arent into the thought of going into the city, bar down stairs in the hotel serves drinks and a few snacks.. There is a food hall on one of the upper levels of LCC which has a good selection and very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: As travellers are coming and going a room away from the lift area is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Budget friendly, the add-on charge that we didn't avail and don't really need means that we save paying for those services. the luggage drop service also worked well with our schedule, meaning we can start our tours without having to carry our bag before check-in

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbcines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for the review.

Glad to hear that you had worthwhile experience during your recent stay at Tune Hotel Downtown Kuala Lumpur.

Our objective is to offer clean rooms,convenience and affordable rates We are pleased to find that you have come to agree with us on this.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The rain shower was weak compared to Tune Hotels Philippines, Thailand & Indonesia. The area is great location, clean and excellent front desk staff. Elevators were exceptionally slow and it takes quite a while to wait for a ride up or down the hotel. Great Bed but slow internet connection.

Room Tip: Choose a room behind the hotel up on a high floor without a window. Traffic can be noisy throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianJay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your review.

We regret to hear that you we unhappy with a water pressure from the rain shower, the speed of the WIFI and the extremely slow elevator.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention, please e-mail your stay details to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com so that we could rectify the necessary.

I have wired your comments to the parties concern and I'm sure action will be taken on these areas.

Nonetheless, we are happy to find that you had a good stay and wanting to return in future.

See you soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I travelled to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia with my friend. Since it's just the two of us and we both girls, we were rather picky about the area of the hotel and the cleanliness. Tune Hotel stood out because it has a very modern looking building and interior, it looks new so it attracts us immediately. The tricky part of this hotel is the add on facilities, the more facilities you want, the more you pay. I don't really mind since the room itself is quiet cheap for it's modern interior and comfortable bed. The room is nice, its clean and have a convenient space. The bathroom is nice and clean, there's a hair dryer inside, it has a modern design, female traveller might be considering this. But I do have a slight complain though, the air conditioner, it's really cold and although we tried to raise the temperature it doesn't really make any difference, it's so cold that in the morning we feel slightly dizzy and sick because the room is frozen cold. Please note that this hotel didn't provide any tea/coffee making facility inside your room, therefore if you want to have a warm drinks or make a cup of instant noodle you can buy it at the 7eleven downstairs or at the San Francisco Coffee. Yes, both of them located inside the hotel so you don't have to go outside. The hotel located on the intersection, very convenient, therefore sometimes you can hear a loud roar of motorcycles engine at night. Well, overall it's still a great experience, if you are looking for a hotel with a modern design and good environment I think you can consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose your additional facilities wisely, if you want to add the Wifi facility please keep in mind t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Rizka,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Per your comments, Tune Hotels operates on a limited service model where we only provide the basics. So we do not have similar facilities which you could find at regular hotel like coffee and tea making facilities.

Please connect with me directly with your stay details so that we could check on the air conditioning unit in room and rectify the necessary.

About the noise matter, please seek assistance from the front desk to allocate a room facing away from the road or at a higher floor. I'm sure they will be able to work something out for you.

Glad to read that we met your "girl friendly" requirements and we hope you and your friends will look our for us in your upcoming travels.

See you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.5 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#66 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#88 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#64 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: Tune Hotel Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune Hotel Downtown Kuala Lumpur is perfectly located in the heart of the city of Kuala Lumpur. With easy access via excellent public transport to all the attractions within the city, this select service hotel provides 5 star beds at great prices! Immediately outside the hotel is the Medan Tuanku MonoRail station that ferries guests to all corners of the city and the Petronas Twin Towers are either a 5 minute taxi ride or a 20 minute walk. Little India or Jalan Masjid India with its bustling stalls and stores is a 10 minute stroll across the road and the main Shopping and Business areas of Bukit Bintang and KLCC are again a short 5-7 minute taxi ride away. Food and Beverage locations surround the hotel with the tastes of Malaysia - Indian, Chinese and Malay cuisines galore. Taxis are available to the main KLIA or LCCT airports or simply to take you to KL Sentral where the KLIA Express whisks you into KLIA within 28 minutes. So much to see and explore and the Tune Hotel Downtown KL is the perfect place to serve as your hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Downtown Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing