We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #76 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
belgium
Level Contributor
748 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Friendly budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was my 3rd stay there, once again i booked early and got a great deal for a single room...
On my 2nd stay a couple of years ago i had found that the hotel was already showing its age, various defects in the room...however i was pleasantly surprised now to find that the rooms were nicely renovated! All was in perfect working order, great hot shower, great bed and pillow...
The room is small but it's functional, all i need really
Staff was friendly too, check-in and check-out very swift
I also like the left luggage service, bag gets tagged and numbered and goes in a secure room, just for a mere 2 ringgit for the day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belgianguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    611
    368
    108
    112
See reviews for
221
348
340
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

For my experience...I feel disappointed to tune hotel...room is dirty and small ,the price is higher then other 3 star hotel!All staff always show black face and bad service....anyone's have see my comment,please think seriously ,choose other hotel!because tune hotel is not valuable like your expected!!!! No next time...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addylim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting up to your desired service standards. Please share further details of your stay at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and I will investigate what happened with the housekeeping activities during your time of stay.

Please rest assured, I will wire this to the front desk team for improvement. We hope to provide better service the next time you come by.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The location was good which is near to monorail station,had a nice sorrounding area, the room was nice and worth for money, the room maybe small but its ok with the cheap price except the curtain had some sticky stain and it was located near of the head of the bed,overall this hotel suitable for anyone looking for cheap price,well located and quality

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafikaAnggraini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was small but had everything you need large flat screen satellite tv good shower. The hotel was very clean one of the comfyes beds iv slept in.loaction not bad close to sky train. Wifi was good andStaff super friendly and helpful seven elleven and coffee shop in hotel id stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review.

We promise to provide the best within the limited service concept and we are pleased to find that you have come to agree with us on that.

We are happy when guests' are.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a budget hotel where you can pay for the room and extra services like internet or AC separately, so the price for the room only is very good. Anything else cost extra but the staff is good in helping you. Actually the staff is great and helped me on various things, even lending me their own charger for a moment. The laundry room is a great deal if you have lots of laundry and want to do it yourself. They have a little cafe and supermarket next to the lobby and local, good, cheap restaurants left and right from the hotel, there is also a simple mall and post office and clinic across the street. The more famous malls and other sights like the towers are three stops with the metro. Its also easy to get a taxi in front of the hotel. The room is small but well equiped with a great shower, TV, AC, Wifi, safe etc. No fridge, water boiler or nice view from window in case you need that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bene5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review following your stay at Tune Hotels Downtowm Kuala Lumpur.

We take pride in offering convenience, comfort and value for money and we are happy to hear you have come to agree with us on that.

Hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
292 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We wanted a modern cheap hotel that was central and had good transit links in downtown Kuala Lumpur.
We decided on the tune hotel for its low price and modern hotel rooms.

The hotel is located on the side of a main road, but we did not hear any noise in our room during our stay from all the cars and motorbikes outside. It has good transit links with the monorail stop (Medan Tuanku) just 5 minutes walk away on a covered overpass and also a bit further on the subway stop (Dang Wangi) which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, this stop is great for a quick service to KL Sentral on the red line.

Area was nice and a big shopping mall on the opposite side of the street with a Starbucks, KFC and a super market.

Let me point out that tune hotels are owned and operated under the Air Asia model and in a sense you purchase the room and add-on extras during your stay if you wish, for example there are added on fees for the Tv, Air Conditioning, Internet and towels.

The hotel itself is located on a major cross-road and its very busy outside. In the lobby you have a 24 hour 7-11 store and during the day time you can get fresh coffee and breakfast from San Francisco Coffee. A Coffee will set you back around 2 USD and a breakfast sandwich around 4-5 USD

Upon arrival to the hotel it's not much to look at, the tacky color of the tune logo splashed all over the outside. Once you enter you are greeted with a modern lobby and ice-cold air conditioning.

The room was much bigger than we had expected. We have stayed at some previous tune hotels and the rooms have been so small that you don't even have enough space to put your bags down. But this time we were really surprised.

The room was modern and very clean. Located at the end of the bed on the wall was a flat screen TV and a fold down table.

The room was basic but it had everything we needed for a clean and comfortable hotel stay.
Very clean rooms with Air Con, TV, very nice shower and plenty of space for such a low price

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main road and all its noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review. We are happy to find that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel.

We wish to receive you once again and provide the very best of our hospitality the next time you come by.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Tune Hotel KL for 5 days, room was clean not bigger but enough if only for sleep. Good wifi, cold and hot water and there is safety box in the room, coffee shop and 7 eleven on ground floor. Closed with Medan Tuanku monorail an there is cheaper restaurant near with hotel
Staff FO and security never smile, no greeting for the every guest. staff housekeeping makeup the room very noisy, they speak together and laugh very loud.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SitaHasanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review following your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to find that you liked our rooms and on the other side, were not so pleased with the frontdesk and housekeeping staff. We sincerely apologies for unpleasant experience.

Your feedback has been wired to both the frontdesk as well as the housekeeping team. Please be assured that we take note of what you have highlighted about them and we will ensure they improve.

We hope to offer the very best of our service the next time you come back for a stay with us,

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.5 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#73 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#96 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#82 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#64 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur

Property: Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur
Address: Tune Hotel Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune Hotel Downtown Kuala Lumpur is perfectly located in the heart of the city of Kuala Lumpur. With easy access via excellent public transport to all the attractions within the city, this select service hotel provides 5 star beds at great prices! Immediately outside the hotel is the Medan Tuanku MonoRail station that ferries guests to all corners of the city and the Petronas Twin Towers are either a 5 minute taxi ride or a 20 minute walk. Little India or Jalan Masjid India with its bustling stalls and stores is a 10 minute stroll across the road and the main Shopping and Business areas of Bukit Bintang and KLCC are again a short 5-7 minute taxi ride away. Food and Beverage locations surround the hotel with the tastes of Malaysia - Indian, Chinese and Malay cuisines galore. Taxis are available to the main KLIA or LCCT airports or simply to take you to KL Sentral where the KLIA Express whisks you into KLIA within 28 minutes. So much to see and explore and the Tune Hotel Downtown KL is the perfect place to serve as your hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel - Downtown Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Downtown Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing