We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pay-for-what-you-use-hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #79 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Overall it is a perfect hotel for anyone who want to balance comfortability and money. The pay-for-what-you-use program allow the customer to eliminate the unneeded service (for me: such as AC, Internet, and Television) to save money. However, the check in and check out time are little annoying since you only can check in after 1400 and must leave before 1100

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IaMIqbal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

We essentially provide the basics for a good night sleep. We do not provide items such as wardrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, extra pillows, extra beds, room service, etc. Air-conditioning, Television, and Wi-Fi are chargeable add-ons and towels are on rental basis only. This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.
Apart from the advantage of affordable prices, this concept is adopted primarily to support “Less Waste, More Earth”, which typically encompasses energy –consuming facilities such as air-conditioning, TV entertainment packages, laundered towels and other amenities. It allows guests to tailor their stay to their preferences whilst conserving the environment and their hard-earned cash, since most travellers bring along basic essentials such as towels and soaps. A real treat for budget conscious back packers and perfect for people who just want a good price on a user pays basis.

Our check in and out polices are in place to ensure all necessary cleaning and upkeep is at optimum level before rooms are made available.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location, easy walking distance to monorail and lrt, across road from shopping mall with supermarket, eating places and shops, subway and 7-11 downstairs. Staff friendly and helpful. Free wifi in lobby or cheap in room ($4/24hrs)- has to be used within that 24hrs, can't be stretched out over several days. Ac again is cheap, and this can be stretched out if you turn on & off when you need to. Room is small as expected and advertised, but very clean, modern and bed very comfortable with good powerful shower in bathroom. Tv I didn't use as was out shopping and sightseeing, had bbc news, and I think a sport and movie channel in English. Laundry upstairs, can use washing machine for 3RM and dryer for 2RM.
Value for money excellent and I will stay here again next time I am passing through KL

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nepalidocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking time to post a feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot shower, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, at extremely affordable prices

Our limited service concept means that we reduce the room size and the Complimentary extras whilst simultaneously lowering the prices we offer.

Our primary focus is to offer a comfortable bed and shower for a wonderful slumber experience.

Thank you very much for choosing us and we greatly value your continuous support.

See you soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

most of all the trip is very good except my room is next to the road, noisy on the night time, one more think you have to keep in mind is everything has to paid and pls be on time for both check in and check out

Room Tip: room 306 an 426 is single room and next to the road a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aooBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The experience of booking Tune hotels is like booking a budget airfare flight - everything is charged on top! From air con (which is needed), to internet access costs on top of the room rate. Aside from this, this was a pleasurable experience. Rooms were clean and modern. Location was good in downtown KL, and everything you needed was close by. The wifi was a little dodgy, and considering you're paying for it, it does grate a little! Staff were friendly and attentive, and luckily, if you arrive late, there's a 7-11 and subway downstairs to grab something from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for posting a review.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Our hotel has successfully pioneered a branded value hotel brand with the concept of pay-as-you-use that has become hugely popular amongst travelers from across the world.

We hope you give us the opportunity to once again welcome you on board and provide you the positive Tune Hotel experience you have come to expect from us.


Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went to this hotel visiting a friend who stayed here. I would give it better rating if it's not an old building with very slow elevator and poor sound proofing. The room on the other hand, even though very small and tight, is quite comfy and standard. The toilet is super tiny you have to squeeze if 2 person at the same time are trying to use it. The bed is undeniably very comfy, there's lots of mirrors in this room which is one thing they're not stingy about. The locations is not only near to the monorail station, but also a Ampang Line LRT, Sultan Ismail station. However there's some construction going on now near the hotel and they're not providing a proper path for pedestrians which is quite dangerous.
If i'm paying for this room, i wouldn't pay more than rm150 for it. given the location.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget take 12hrs A/C as they also provide a ceiling fan in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for posting a review.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Our limited service concept means that we reduce the room size and complimentary extras whilst simultaneously lowering the prices we offer. We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service.

Thanks for the review; I hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Sharon DS - Manager (Customer Care)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really appreciate the no-frills, purchase as needed concept of Tune Hotels, which makes travelling more affordable and enjoyable. Tune Hotel KL has very affordable rates (cheaper if you book way in advance) and is within walking distance from the main shopping area (Bukit Bintang), and after a long day of sight seeing, shopping and walking, the beds are very comfortable to sleep in. And as tourists who are out all day, a soft comfortable bed and a strong hot shower and is all you need to get you started on a following day's journey. Forget something? There's a convenience store at the lobby. Hungry? There's a Subway kiosk at the lobby as well, or you can go to the mall across the road for Pizza Hut and KFC. Looking forward to staying in other Tune Hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TayNayNak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi There,

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our, services and facilities and I know my team will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics - a 5-star bed and powerful showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

To maximize a good stay in this hotel, you should well prepare DIY kit, then you'll satisfy the accommodation. You may bring the toiletry kit or purchase here and must have free and easy mind. Good for single and couple traveler. I do enjoy basic facilities here and sure to stay again.

Room Tip: Nice view at high floor corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and completing a Trip Advisor Review on your return.

It's always rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our 5 star beds at 1 star prices.
Thank you very much for all your positive comments.

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#114 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
612 reviews
1 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
1.5 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#69 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
1,037 reviews
3.6 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#97 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
WP Hotel
WP Hotel
#63 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: Tune Hotel Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $21 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur is perfectly located in the heart of the city of Kuala Lumpur. With easy access via excellent public transport to all the attractions within the city, this select service hotel provides 5 star beds at great prices! Immediately outside the hotel is the Medan Tuanku MonoRail station that ferries guests to all corners of the city and the Petronas Twin Towers are either a 5 minute taxi ride or a 20 minute walk. Little India or Jalan Masjid India with its bustling stalls and stores is a 10 minute stroll across the road and the main Shopping and Business areas of Bukit Bintang and KLCC are again a short 5-7 minute taxi ride away. Food and Beverage locations surround the hotel with the tastes of Malaysia - Indian, Chinese and Malay cuisines galore. Taxis are available to the main KLIA or LCCT airports or simply to take you to KL Sentral where the KLIA Express whisks you into KLIA within 28 minutes. Come explore Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Downtown Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing