We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, somewhere to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #82 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed March 1, 2012

OK, so the only really good things about this hotel are the price and the location. It's dead cheap. You pay for what you use. If you don't use anything, you don't pay a lot.

We stayed here because we were spending out on really expensive hotels elsewhere and wanted to pay pittance. It was great for what we wanted. If you're visiting KL you don't want to hang out in a hotel - you just need somewhere to sleep that isn't the streets.

The room is basic, but clean. You can sleep if you get a room on the inside of the hotel, otherwise lots of road noise. The checkin desk appears to be run by teenagers, none of whom really know much about anything. Every time I had a question we had to wait while they went to ask someone else behind the mysterious curtain.

One day we got back to the room to discover that a cleaner had been, and taken the loo roll - thank goodness for emergency rolls!

It's located near a KTM station, which is great for getting around. The KTM is cheap ish, but frustrating to use if you've just come from Singapore.

Room Tip: Get a room on the inside of the hotel as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathanandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great location as it is located near at Jalab TAR which is famous for shopping. The check in was smooth but there is no friendly smile from the staff. The room was neat and clean. Excellent water pressure. Everything in the room work well.

Room Tip: Request for room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noy1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

FIrstly prices are equal to good hotel,the x charge for air conditioning,shutle and even towel so your total cost becomes higher..the best part there is no place to keep the luggage..i wasted my money please dont waste yours

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rashi_bglore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Hi Rashi,

Thanks for the TA review.

Tune Hotels offers the bare essentials; clean, comfortable bed and a great shower. It’s about creating a great slumber experience whilst keeping prices low to flex the band of affordability. That in perspective, facilities you find at regular hotels, are packaged as add-ons to offer options, and ultimately choice to tailor make your stay. You may find items such as air conditioning, wifi, towels, etc are sold separately as optional add ons, and guest could even have them purchased during last minute check-ins over the Frontdesk

Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay. You would not have similar options at regular hotels and certainly the flexibility to tailor make your stay would not be possible.

The Tune Hotels proposition appeals to a very broad set of customers and is particularly targeted at the value-conscious travelers.

This in mind, we hope to continue being in your radar of consideration; in your future travel plans

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Outstanding product & service for a truly budget price

Room Tip: inside rooms away from the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3nights early Feb and it was the best! Great location to the monorails to get around. Excellent security and staff. It was super clean and bed was made daily, shower was great. Didn't find that we needed air con as the fan was sufficient so maybe wait and see then pay when you get there for this than pre book it. Internet was a bit slow at times down in the foyer but then it was free so who can complain! The only other thing was that the laundry was closed when we wanted to use it as they are beginning renovations. Didn't affect our stay at all though!
If we return to KL we will definitely we returning here! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber255119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Good location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable, what else can you expect from
A budget hotel Very good

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_renuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

tune hotel is nice and comfort, like 5 star hotel. service, locartion is the best in KL. i would like to stay again when going to KL

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanibalprj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#89 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
1.5 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#70 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#119 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
3.6 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#96 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: Tune Hotel Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $21 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur is perfectly located in the heart of the city of Kuala Lumpur. With easy access via excellent public transport to all the attractions within the city, this select service hotel provides 5 star beds at great prices! Immediately outside the hotel is the Medan Tuanku MonoRail station that ferries guests to all corners of the city and the Petronas Twin Towers are either a 5 minute taxi ride or a 20 minute walk. Little India or Jalan Masjid India with its bustling stalls and stores is a 10 minute stroll across the road and the main Shopping and Business areas of Bukit Bintang and KLCC are again a short 5-7 minute taxi ride away. Food and Beverage locations surround the hotel with the tastes of Malaysia - Indian, Chinese and Malay cuisines galore. Taxis are available to the main KLIA or LCCT airports or simply to take you to KL Sentral where the KLIA Express whisks you into KLIA within 28 minutes. Come explore Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Downtown Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing