We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alex Guesthouse Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
$90
$75
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$124
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$87
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$75
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
$75
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$125
$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
10
1
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
1
3
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 15 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Alex's Homestay Guesthouse for 4 nights. Alex is a nice guy, very helpful with an open ear. His Homestay Guesthouse is 2 stations away from KL central. But trains are running very rarely and if you could catch one they are overcrowded.

If you are planning a longer stay.... some people have been there for months, this place might be ok. The owner lives in an other place 25 km away, but we got his Number and we could call him at any time. One of the long time guests made the check out for us.

We got our room confirmed 4 days before we arrived. Anyway, our room wasn't cleaned properly and before we could move in we had to ask to clean it. The kitchen was disgusting. The towels had been very old and much used. The Internet (Wi-Fi) was free, but worked very poor.

Alex's Homestay Guesthouse is not worth for that price and we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zhenia_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you are in KL for just a few days and just want to do a bit of shopping and see the Batu Caves, then perhaps this isn't the place for you. It might be better to stay up in a hotel around Bukit Bintang. This place is just a bit too out of the way.

It is also just a bit run down, and rather noisy being next to a combination of train line and freeway. I think the place needs the right mindset to be enjoyable. If you go in with the standard expectations of a hotel, then you will be unhappy.

But, if you are planning a longer stay.... some people have been there for months... then yeah, this would be a fine place. It's big strength is your contact with the other residents. A little community develops. You take ownership of the place and find yourself cleaning the kitchen.

It was all quite interesting. It added a bit of emotional depth to our trip, if that makes sense, though we were also missing a clean, maintained hotel room.

Room Tip: Not the back rooms that face the railway.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Singapore is much developed place in comparison of Kuala Lampur but Excellent arrangement in terms of economical budget, affordibility , guidance from owner, availability of cooking facilities , overall support at all time and unforgettable experience in Alex Guest House of Kl (Seputeh) compelled me to say and write these words and to think about the further visit to KL.
S.K.Shaha-Kolkata,India

Room Tip: With good kitchen and kind hearted owner
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shahafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

If you're travelling on a budget and want a local experience, this is the place to go.

It's affordable, but basic. The rooms are clean when you arrive, but aren't cleaned during your stay. The interior is basic, and there was mildew on the wall of our windowless room. The shower is divine though.

The airconditioning in the room works brilliantly. In the common room there is no airco, but ceiling fans.

There is a kitchen and a shared refrigerator. There were quite a few ants though, a number of lizzards and one giant cockroach.

The location is good, it's around the corner from the subway station, which unfortunately is the least reliable subway line. Trains runs 2-3 times an hour, but are often cancelled.

You can walk to the Mid Valley Megamall, but it's not the safest route, along the motorbike track.

The foodstall across the street on the corner has great Indian food.

There's free hi-speed wifi which works very well.

I would say your experience here will depend on your fellow guests. It's nice to get to know some other travellers and share experiences.

Overall, for the price you pay you can't expect too much, but if you want a local feel on a budget, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmlq2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at the Alex’s GH during a three week tour of Malaysia while finding the GH through the internet. We really appreciated the friendly and warm service at the GH and the cleanliness and good condition of the rooms. Despite not being fancy, the rooms are spacious, clean and orderly with great ensuite showers/toilets with superb water pressure, not seen in many places we’ve stayed at. It’s equipped with WIFI throughout and the open space kitchens have all the necessary utensils and cutlery if you wish to do your own cooking during your stay there. The location is within easy walking distance to the metro system and only two stops from KL central, adequately compensating for the fact that the metro is rather slow and infrequent!. The great thing is that you are only around a 10min walk to one of the biggest shopping malls in Kuala Lumpur with its many coffee shops and eateries open till late at night. Very safe to walk to and back from if you wish to stay up late. Also across the street you’ll find a small massage parlor with reasonable prices to get your tired feet back on track after long sightseeing tours! Alex, is a great host and will make you feel right at home with a warm greeting and a welcoming atmosphere providing you with information about local attractions and places of interest, and if you’re lucky, you could even get treated to a lunch or two at the local restaurants. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yichunese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews