We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Ranked #91 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Unfortunately we could not stay in the Family Room we had booked due to an air-conditioning problem so the hotel gave us 2 double rooms side by side. Despite my husband being in 1 room with 1 child, and me being in the other room with the other child, it worked quite well. The room, although compact, was very clean and fresh looking. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. Enormous shower head with great water pressure and plenty of hot water! Not a huge breakfast choice but still quite good. The only thing which would have been nice was a small fridge in the room to put our drinks into. Would stay again! Oh, and there is a lingering smell of cigarette smoke in the hall and rooms (even on the non smoking floor)!

Room Tip: Request a room with a window. Not all rooms have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Public Relations Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your good review to us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our rooms and location. Noted that there is a lingering smell of cigarette smoke in the hall and rooms. We shall look into the case and actions will be taken by management responsible to ensure we can deliver the best service always.

We hope we may have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent our first night in KL at a neighbouring Hotel. In desperation we checked into Izumi after the first night as the other Hotel was disappointingly unclean with grubby bathrooms and bedsheets. Most hotels were fully booked and Izumi was the only other local hotel with decent reviews on cleanliness that had availability. There were 5 of us and we required two rooms one double and one triple. Unfortunately they only had double rooms available but they were kind enough to accommodate three of us in a large king room and said that they will put in extra pillows for the third person. Our stay was pleasant, clean rooms and helpful reception and security guard. What they did not explain to us when we arrived was that there would be extra charges for breakfast for the third person each day.

Despite this, on our first day they provided takeaway breakfast for all five of us as we were leaving KL early that morning for a day trip to Singapore. We took the breakfast and at no point did the Izumi bistro who supply the breakfast, requested payment for the extra person. On the second day we attended breakfast as normal at the bistro. That is when staff at the bistro pointed out that the breakfast voucher is only valid for two people per room and that there was extra charges for the third person. We explained to the bistro staff that on arrival we had paid for three people and at no point did the hotel explain to us that there would be extra charges for the third person in the three person room. The staff did not accept the extra person, as the breakfast was reasonable cheap I didn't want to make a fuss so I went to my room to get some money for the extra breakfast.

The bistro checked the voucher for the second room for two people and allowed them to enter for breakfast but for some reason they handed back the vouchers for both rooms to me when I went up to my room to get the money for the extra breakfast. I think this was by mistake.

When we came back down to pay for the extra breakfast, what I witnessed was absolutely disgusting! I've never seen front line staff treat guests so badly in hotels as the Izumi bistro staff. The Izumi bistro manager was arguing with my two friends who already sat down for breakfast as they had there valid vouchers checked by bistro staff. He came down on them like a ton of bricks saying they shouldn't be having breakfast without having there vouchers on them, and although they explained that the vouchers have already been checked by his staff, he continued to argue with them! Luckily I arrived in time to stop the situation escalating and showed him the vouchers but he was extremely argumentative and refused to believe that his staff were in the wrong. We were extremely frustrated and could not enjoy the breakfast, the food was good but the staff were watching us the whole time and it felt extremely uncomfortable and unwelcoming!

This ruined our experience at the hotel, I took the bistro manager to the front desk to make a compliant about the way we were treated. At first he wouldn't back down and accept that he and his staff got it wrong and also the hotel for not explaining the extra charges when we checked in. Eventually he acknowledged that his staff got it wrong and apologised.

Overall the hotel was clean and well located. However, the bistro experience ruined our stay at the this Hotel as it was the worst customer service we've experienced, especially as we left another Hotel (for which we occurred cancellation fees) in favour of this one and Izumi were aware of this. This is why I'm rating this place with 2 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nb_journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Greeting vicky from Izumi Hotel Team

We thank you for staying with us and appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel - happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us

We hope see you again in near future

Jarica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice central quite and clean.. Been to kl many times.. First hotel I'll come back to.. Only thing I would surgest is less dance music during breakfast. Lol but everything is better than I expected. There is continental breakfast and a local .. Be adventuros and try the local.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Public Relations Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for spending your time and sharing your good review with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our location and rooms.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us, Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang soon.

Warm Regards
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed with small children in May 2014. Probably one of the best budget hotels (value for money) we've stayed in with excellent cleanliness (apparently hotel is fairly new so rooms in good condition). Also, the location is definitely the best in Bukit Bintang (right out back of KFC opposite Jalan Alor) - walkable to everywhere (however closest monorail stop undergoing renovations so difficult to access from road). Yes, breakfast room was very small but we went early so managed to get a table. Good enough cable TV channels, excellent WI-FI and fantastic hot, powerful shower head. Beds and linen also very good. Our one big (big) complaint was the constant smell of cigarette smoke entering our "non-smoking" room (from other rooms or hallway??) - we had to plug up the door with a towel but it still seemed to enter through the bathroom vent? This is unacceptable. Management should re-think their smoking policy and more strictly enforce their current policy for "non-smoking" rooms/areas. Overall if you're on a budget this is really an excellent choice - we would definitely recommend for a short KL stay.

Room Tip: Level 4 room close to lift had constant cigarette smell entering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SquiddyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Public Relations Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your good review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang and we thank you for your positive comment towards our facilities, location and services.

Noted that you were not satisfied with constant smell of cigarette smoke entering "non-smoking" room and do accept our sincere apologies for making you feel uncomfortable. Rest assured, the unpleasant experience you described in your reviews will be immediately addressed.

Thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Warm Regards
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Izumi hotel for 5 days and was always looking forward going back to the hotel for a rest. This hotel is very new and perfect location for you to explore the Bukit Bintang area street food and shopping. All the staff, housekeeping, sercurity guard are very friendly. You do feel safe staying in this hotel.

The room is modern, simple and clean. The toilet has exhaut fan which is very important to us. For the price you are paying you can't fault the hotel much. Plus point is everyday, the housekeeping will clean and change your towels/bedsheets.

There are many nice hotels in Bukit Bitang area, but to find one that is clean and cheap rate, Izumi is the right choice.

You can opt to have breakfast included or not. I opt not to have breakfast in the hotel since there are so many street food/ café open in the morning to try out the local food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasLeeSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Public Relations Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are happy that you found our Hotel is one of the best that you have stayed at. Many thanks for your good comment and we will be sharing your good comment with our team members.

Once again, thanks for writing this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

its an excellent hotel and hospitality, couple, group or family.
love at the first sight, its genuinely an excellent hotel to stay.
we really enjoy our staying, accessible to all the facilities needed e.g. monorail, seven eleven, shopping centers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Farah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Public Relations Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to know that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We are also delighted that you found our location is accessible to monorail, shopping malls and convenience stores.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again in the very near future.

Warm Regards
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed in a standard room. Its clean and decent. 1 small thing of discomfort is that the toilet and shower are in the same room connected. so after you shower there is still water everywhere if you wan go to the toilet. Furthermore the breakfast room is not well organized. They had for a full room only one bread toast machine so everyone had to stand in line. The quality of the food was so so. Since the breakfast was not included in my case i deci to have the next breakfast in a nearby place. Furthermore they don't have laundry service and i had to take my laudy to a nearby place as well. Staff is very helpful land friendly and they try their utmost. They lobby is quite small and the desk is to my taste understaffed. so you must wait in line may times if you have just question or so. But over all a decent place. i would stay there again. This criticism is meant for the managers to improve their hotel.

Room Tip: no laundry service yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyRAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarica123, Public Relations Manager at Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
We are very sorry that we were not able to fully satisfy your need during your stay with us. We will look into that specific area for improvement particularly hotel facilities and breakfast.

We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our services and we look forward to welcoming you back to Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#48 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#122 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InnB Park Hotel
InnB Park Hotel
#102 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#52 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#105 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang

Address: 85 Jalan Berangan | off Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $27 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling area of Bukit Bintang, the strategic location of Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang means it is in close proximity to some of Kuala Lumpur's major business districts and shopping centres such as Pavilion Shopping Mall, Lot 10 shopping centres for your shopping pleasures and many more that are easily accessible either by foot or by public transportation via the nearby Monorail station (Bukit Bintang station) and bus hub. Tastefully designed guestroom is furnished with 32" flat screen LCD TV for your entertainment, safe box and WIFI facilities, just to name a few. Be it leisure or business, Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang is your ideal accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing