We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains Shunting in the Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Station Hotel
Ranked #267 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A good hotel is never good enough but a bad hotel is a joy forever. (Our family motto.)

Well, everything on this site written about musty carpets, sagging mattresses, and gloomy halls is true, except, if you love trains, the joy of this hotel is that from some rooms (not sure which, but mine) you listen to the sounds of trains in the station all night long. I know, an acquired taste, but maybe for some of you the stuff of dreams.

Someday, a swanky hotel group will snap up this hotel, turn it into a palace on (above?) train wheels, and the rates will go from $50 to $350 a night. In the meantime, the hotel is perfect for coming and going on local trains, which I found delightful. Langkawai, Penang, Singapore: all easy train rides from KL.

Guys, your wives or girlfriends will not thank you for a night in this hotel, but for those who love the sound of engines shunting in the night, here's your hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthewStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

We arrived early morning and were greeted by LURCH. No smile, little customer service. We were shown our room via a 100 old creepy lift which barely made it 2 floors up. Down a long decrepit coridoor into our room. It was a triple room but by no means large. The carpets were musty smelling and dirty. Chairs and table run down and broken. No toilet paper. When we asked them for some we got a rude reply that we should have looked in the cupboard. Didn't tell them we didn't dare open the cupboard for fear we'll find something out of a horror movie inside it. The room was so dark and everything in it was dirty and disgusting. The bathroom was shocking!! Dirty, leftover hair from previous stays and no hot water. Most horrendous hotel I've ever stayed in my life!! Disgusting and spoilt my entire holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dd8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Booked this from UK and had read the reviews but wasn't prepared for the reality.
As we walked in the smell of decay/ rot hit us. The cafeteria next to reception was gloomy and looked grubby.
We asked to have a look at the room and went up in the little lift which was quaint and worked fine. You could see beams with dry rot as you went up. We got to our floor but had to negotiate a short flight of stairs to get to our floor. Up to a lovely wide light , airy corridor but with threadbare dirty carpet.
Room 3329 was large with a dressing area and neat and tidy but so gloomy as there was only one small window with opaque glass (obviously overlooking the station platform). The smell of decay/chemicals was nearly overpowering so we didn't stay.
It's such a shame as I'm sure that this could be a fabulous hotel and the staff that we met were lovely. I think that it needs a serious amount of money spending on it to make it habitable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank johnsbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This is the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in! A standard single was in fact a suite/2 room apartment. The building is enormous and very, very historical.
Pros: Enormous room with 2(!) air conditions. No timer, so the room remained at set temp all day. Good service, good breakfast, free Wi-Fi downstairs. Excellent location and quiet at night. Had a really good sleep!
Cons: No non-smoking rooms, wear-and-tear everywhere, not the cleanest place, no hot water in showers (which did not matter at all, probably 40 degrees "cold" water), rack rates over-priced, no air-con in common areas.
If you want your room spotless, don´t stay here, but if you instead of zooming in on the stained wallpaper and send the photos here, just ignore them, you'll have a great stay! For eating out, go to the local diner next door, sooo good Malaysian food and very cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Remember the hotel in the movie the Shining?.....
I kept expecting to see something spooky down those long long hallways.
But i digress...
The Hotel......
It's a real pity as this place could be incredible,great architecture,original old lift,dark wood everywhere...
If there had only been some upkeep since maybe the 1930's perhaps?!?!?!?
Stained carpets,stained mattresses,no top sheet, ancient blanket etc etc
The location has nothing going for it...
Chinatown is full of hotels and they're also pretty close to KL Sentral for the bus to the low cost carrier airport.
The staff were lovely (if a little felliniesque)
Fortunately on arrival we were told the water pressure was down to a trickle,so after a quick check of the room (just in case it was a real gem)we had an out.
So we grabbed a cab,and with the help of a great taxi driver, headed to Chinatown to find an alternative.....easily.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irdano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and were not impressed. Although this hotel is set in a heritage location and close to Chinatown there are better hotels in more tourist friendly locations. The room was spacious enough but no hot water and the carpets were very dirty. The bed was clean and comfortable and the air con worked well. With a bit of proper upkeep this could be a fantastic hotel. There is free wifi available downstairs in the eating area but this closes at 7pm. On the positive the breakfasts included were very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The Heritage Station Hotel is definitely not the place you would want to stay in. Mostly because of the burglaries that have taken place there. Our friends who stayed in the next room from us got robbed - a guy broke in to their room via ceiling and stole money and a mobile phone. Later they learned from the police that this was by far not the first time guests were robbed in Heritage Station Hotel and did not recommend to stay there at all!
Besides that, the hotel staff did not make us feel welcome and were quite rude all the time.
And about the cleanliness - there was dog poo in corridor behind our door!
So I absolutely would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LiisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
Avenue J Hotel Central Market KL
#106 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#125 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leo Leisure Hotel
Leo Leisure Hotel
#132 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Dua Sentral Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#86 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Station Hotel

Address: Bangunan Stesen Keretapi | Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Station Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a no frills budget hotel situated in a gazetted heritage building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage Station
Heritage Station Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing