We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Hostel”
Review of Equator Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Equator Hostel
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A fantastic Hostel”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is a great place to stay in KL. We enjoyed it so much that we came back here at the end of out trip. The staff were extremely helpful, not only suggesting places to visit but they also allowed us to check in and use the facilites early.They also remembered us on our return a few weeks later. The hostel is extremely clean and even though it was shared bathrooms, they were always spotless and there was plenty of hot water(not that you needed to have hot showers). There were rooms with air con as well as fans and the lounge area was a great place to chill out and meet new people. If you needed to do some washing there was also laundry facitlies and a basic breakky was included. Its position behind Times Square was great. You could grab something to eat at the food court or supermarket or even check out the theme park and ten pin bowling. With the monorail there it made getting around KL very easy. I would definately stay here again

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Sometimes you could here the music from the club next door.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
11
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

First I was a bit worried of this place, because the houses near to it are not very nice, and the place is very small. But right after I entered the door, I realised that it is a really loveley small hostel, with very friednly staff. We had a twin room to the front with very well working aircon. The rooms are very basic, only the most neccesary is included, however it is enough. Surprisingly everything is amazingly clean, the rooms, the corridors, the bathroom and the toilet too. The staff could not be friendlier, especially the owner, who is the most of the time at the site. You have internet access, loundry place and a nice TV-lounge with DVD. The location is also perfect, only 5 minutes walk to the monorail. Until 2 in the night there is a bar working the next door, what you can hear in the room of course. However I could sleep very well, it is definitely OK for a place located so good. You will anyway not be at home before 2 AM, if you want to enjoy the amazing nightlife in KL. I am sure, this is the cheapest and the best hostel to visit KL. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No point of that
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hegyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2008

This was the first stop for us on our trip around Malaysia and it was excellent. Charles (the owner) was very helpful and helped plan oour days as well as our next move out of KL. Good simple breakfast to start the day and great location with the monorail stop for exploring KL. The food court of the "Times Square" nearby is good for a cheap feed with planty of choice. A/C unit was noisy and there were ants in the toilet but this didnt spoi our stay.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

It's small, but sweet. The owner is wonderfully helpful. Good breakfast. Very clean. My only criticism is the nightclub that opened next door adds noise at night.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2007

very friendly staff, right in the center of the city, 2 minutes from the imbi monorail and right opposite to times squeare, nice comfortable rooms, clean toilets, and staff who guide u well to cover the city in 2 days.. one can go there with no worries. staff we awake till 5 a.m to see us off to the airport.all at a very affordable price..

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank harisundhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

This place is a gem. Its a friendly and cosy hostel. The people that run it are so nice and involve everyone so you all get to know each other. There is free tea and coffee whenever and free breakfast. They have loads to do if your bored but dont wanna go out! The rooms are clean and the whole place is new so it feels even nicer. The best place to stay in KL!!!

  • Liked — The atmosphere and free tea
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — try the smelly fruit
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynkazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Revopackers
Revopackers
#13 of 266 in Kuala Lumpur
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,814 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equator Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equator Hostel

Property: Equator Hostel
Address: 70 Lorong 1/77 A | Off Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Equator Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing