We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #9 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved being near the towers and KLCC park. The park is small, but great to have some green space with walking/jogging trail. Bar on roof has spectacular view of towers at night but gets pretty crowded. Rooms clean and well done, lots of light. I ate in the hotel restaurants due to work commitments; that was main downside- pricey and average quality food. Traders lounge is nice touch but was not a deal breaker for me. Definitely near the top of places to stay in KL.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SDM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,377
    2,428
    524
    155
    105
See reviews for
1,502
4,673
667
1,217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is completely out of its depth - starting from the ridiculous overcrowded and noisy reception area on the FIFTH floor of the building down to the staff who have no clue. We were delivered dinner without any serving plates, chapatis that were clearly reheated from frozen, as they still had frozen corners when they were delivered to us, soft boiled eggs in a bowl without egg holders or salt and pepper or even a spoon, and to top it all, an Indian dish that we ordered from the vegetarian menu had fish in it. I am allergic to fish and only narrowly escaped a trip to the hospital! The only good thing about this hotel is the view of the twin towers, but for that, staying here is not worth the risks. Avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Traders Hotel was a nice place to stay in KL. Great club lounge with nibbles and drinks to enjoy each evening with a great view of the Petronas Towers. Our room was very spacious with only one disappointment - no view of the Towers but a view of the neighboring apartment high rise. Great location as you can walk to near by shopping malls, the Petronas Towers and catch the Hop On/Hop Off bus near by. Staff friendly and service excellent. Definitely recommend this hotel just be sure to ask for a room with the Tower view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonarque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was great for a view of the twin towers, and the location was handy to the tower shopping centre.
The staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The gym and spa were good and the executive lounge well-stocked.

But we found the bar was a bit of a gimmick and the pool was not appealing after seeing the bar in full swing around the pool. We also found the noise of the bar at night was quite loud even though it was a few floors above.

We are definitely keen to go back to KL, and I would consider staying here again but probably only if the bar / pool area were separated.

Room Tip: definitely pay extra for the executive floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was a lovely and well-run hotel. From the excellent service to the quality food, every detail was attended to with precision and an eye to customer service. Big details like facilities and little details like the quality of toiletries in your room made us feel we were on a special holiday the entire visit. The location was also spectacular, providing views and ease of movement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Dotti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have an excellent experience over here. The room was so comfortable. Normally I can't sleep well in any new places but here I can have my good sleep.

The location was so strategically located in town. I can go shopping easily in KLCC and even at Pavilion. Love the buggy service provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Joey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, so much so I didn't do much sightseeing! Because I booked early I got a free upgrade to a club room, and I also paid extra (I think about £20 a night) for a tower view room - it was worth it! The club lounge was fantastic and if you are going to be in the hotel enough to use it I recommend the upgrade. Breakfast is delicious and varied and there is free afternoon tea and evening cocktails - both with a selection of free food. It is a very relaxing spot to unwind. The room was very nice with a bathtub bigger than the one I have at home!
If you want to swim there is the pool in the sky bar, but I found the concept of swimming whilst people drink around you a little strange, plus the water was very cold. But it is novel, and they provide towels and lockers. Maybe I would have enjoyed it more if I got there early enough to get a spot of one of the sofas or was travelling with friends and could enjoy a drink together after a swim. I had thought about coming back later when it was quieter, to then notice the decorations going up for a themed beach party!! Well it is a bar so I should have expected that.
After I checked out at midday (my flight wasn't till midnight) they let me come back and use the facilities - free afternoon tea and cocktails again, and I could take a shower in the changing rooms in the gym.
If you are on a budget don't rule it out - I didn't pay much more for my flight and hotel as a combined package than a quote I got for just the flight. Then with the free club upgrade I had free food and drink. If you don't want to pay for a taxi to/from the airport you can easily do it by train. I took the fast train to KL Sentral, then changed (different rail network but if you ask someone will direct you) to the train to KLCC. You go through the shopping mall to the park and from outside the free Traders shuttle will take you to the hotel (which is 10 minutes walk away - note, they don't go if it's raining). I think the fast train was RM35, and the two trains were just a few RM each. Of course if you are in a group it might work out cheaper to get a taxi anyway. I think a hotel taxi costs about RM150 but I spoke to a couple who booked a local taxi for about half that price (as is the norm for hotel transfers)
Normally in hotels I feel a little out of place, but the Traders managed to be of a very high standard yet felt homely and comfortable

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you are paying for a tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelMustTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views. All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing