We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star from the first heartbeat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #9 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Barker, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star from the first heartbeat.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Whilst it is perfectly located for shopping, shopping, the Petrona's towers and shopping, it was the service from all the staff that rose above our expectations. They made us feel like we were their long lost friends and the only ones staying there, truly was 5 star from the first heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,463
    2,466
    533
    155
    106
See reviews for
1,523
4,738
674
1,241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed two nights on a weekend break from Hong Kong. The location, with views of the Petronas Towers, is really good. The staff were great and the breakfast of Roman proportions. Our room was fine but just felt like 'yet another large chain hotel room', with little individuality. Admittedly it's not a boutique hotel but it could have been better. Although we'd read rave reviews of the rooftop pool, it's more of a place to hang out in the evenings than to go for a dip as it's basically a green house on the roof with a small pool and lots of bar stools. Having had afternoon tea at The Majestic near the old railway station, I think we'd aim to stay there next time for something a bit more different.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin and Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'm usually quite hard to please an a little sceptical, but Traders proved me wrong. In KL for a 2 night stay basically to meet a friend and to see the PETRONAS towers, was originally going to book the Mandarin but swayed by my friend to the Traders, which she said had better views of the towers, being across the park. She wasn't wrong. On arrival with only hand luggage, we were given a bag tag and sent to the 5th floor for check-in. I had booked a superior towers view as the online traders lounger room package was slightly over the top for me, but on arrival we were offered a cut price "upsell" which was a little cheaper than online, and included executive suite with a view, exclusive access to the traders lounge for breakfast, free soft drinks through the day, afternoon tea and a 2 hour free flow cocktail service 5-7pm. My wife upgraded using my credit card, and I have to say while a little annoyed about it, it was well worth it. We arrived at 9 am, was given our upgraded suite with sitting room, every luxury you could imagine and then some, we were given immediate access to our room, where our case was already waiting, and allowed to go and have breakfast in the lounge - a bonus. Staff were extremely good and I couldn't fault the whole experience. Tea was buffet and plentiful, as was breakfast with many things made to order - and avoiding the hustle bustle of the main restaurant was brilliant.

And yes, the view from the room was extraordinary.

Definitely worth a visit - we wouldn't hesitate to take the whole package next time we are in KL.

Room Tip: Must be a towers view - awesome at night, especially when the dancing fountains start. We were on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTMEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear w0rldtraveller_04

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, I am glad to know that you took up your friend's suggestion to book with us instead. With that being said, I am brimming with joy knowing that we exceeded all your expectations and the upgrade was well worth it. Good to know that you would stay with us once again when visiting Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you once again for your compliments.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way home. To be honest, I was not expecting much. It blew me away! Booking a Traders Club room ensured we were treated to a quick check in. All the staff are more than willing to help with anything!! The view of Petronas Towers was amazing. It is really close to a huge shopping centre. We had a few drinks at the Sky Bar and it is reasonably priced. Make a booking in advance if you want a nice table with a view. Everything from the bed linen to the room service to the water pressure was perfect. I am looking forward to staying at Traders again - we just booked 2 nights in the hotel in Sydney and we hope it is as good as KL.

Room Tip: A Trader Club room facing the Petronas Towers is well worth any extra money you might end up spendin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear bianca h

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

The hotel strives for excellence through versatile efficiency coupled with simplicity and practicality; plus that with a fantastic view of the Petronas Twin Towers and strategic location, you know you're in good hands. Happy to know that your stay went very well and that we surpassed your expectations.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W A
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked Traders in response to Trip Advisor comments and were not let down. What a wonderful hotel....Customer service is about 150 % ....the whole experience was just blissful. Decided on a City view room which was great....gorgeous bathroom with a massive shower head and lots of marble...able to manipulate water control easily unlike some other hotels... bathroom amenities first class. Breakfast was brilliant, well planned, and again staff very attentive to any needs or requirements. We also ate the two nights in differing restaurants in the hotel and found the whole experience to really be 5 star. Loved the free buggy ride to the Suria shopping centre, blissful after trolling shops ! A wander thru the park opposite is great...complete with various water fountains... a great spot in the middle of a busy city. Concierge posts cards for you...1 Rgt... A drink at the Skybar is a must...as well as an evening photo of the Towers. What can u say except we will return and heartily recommend Traders to all.

Room Tip: Any type seems excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is first class, and a great value if you compare this hotel to Europe prices. The location is perfect and the staff is beyond excellent. The hotel employees are so nice and helpful, the nicest staff, who really make your trip comfortable. The waiters in the restaurant always greeted my morning with a smile and kindness. The guest services were fabulous. They helped me with massages, and day touring. Koy and Sharef were fantastic. Everyone was great! and the BUFFET BREAKFAST was the best I have ever seen anywhere in the world, they even have sushi and a chocolate fountain. I should mention my view of the Petronas Towers was over the top. My only complaint would be that the pool really isn't for swimming as there is a bar there filled with the best views in KL and people all over, not a quiet or private pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Melissa K

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I have noted your comment on our pool area and apologise for the inconvenience caused towards you. A suggested quiet time would be in the mornings. Aside from that, I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your compliments with the team, especially to Koy, Syahril and the chefs of Gobo Chit Chat. Their efforts will be celebrated.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in a Towers View room and had an amazing view over the park and of the Petrona's Towers. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. The service was very good and they even had a golf buggy to take you directly from the hotel to the main shopping center.

The Skybar is amazing and the pool area very fancy. The drinks were a little bit expensive but the view was worth it. A great hotel for couples or a business trip which is very close to the main shopping center of KL.

Room Tip: Tower View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
6,998 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,556 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views. All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing