We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #9 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took a Traders Club twin tower view room and had a great experience from check in really. Nice staff in the Traders Club and just in time for the eveing cocktail hour!

Beautiful room, clean, well appointed, modern bathroom with supplies like an emery board, laundry powder, toothpaste etc and some nice water pressure in the shower. An excellent breakfast buffet which even had a chocolate fountain for those chocaholics out there! We also had the dinner buffet which was varied and delicious. The hotel is halal so no pork products though I can thoroughly recommend all of the food especially the truffle mash potatoes. So good I severely broke my low carb diet there!! Also a great location and friendly staff all through the hotel.

Downside...the bed was like a slab of concrete. And yes, I know that beds in Asia are firm, I have been in a few of them myself. We also have a firm bed at home, love me a firm bed! This bed however was back breakingly firm. Each morning I woke up with major back and neck pain (my fiance also) that didn't ease until after I had a hot shower and did some stretches/moving about. I don't suffer from a bad back or anything either. The pillows to match the concrete slab were super soft and limp feather which added to the pain really. We managed to get some different pillows but I am glad we didn't stay there any longer than 3 nights. I would need a room with a more modern and comfortable bed as this one looked very old upon investigation and strangely exactly like the beds used in the NZ Prison system...so yeah sleep quality was horrendous.

Other than that we really did love the Traders Hotel. The Skybar was fantastic, delicious bar snack food up there, chicken wings were boss! And well priced drinks with a daily special not to mention just plain awesome atmosphere! I really didn't want to leave...well as long as I could change to a different bed anyway. If I could have that then I would move into this hotel!

It was almost a 5/excellent rating but the bed was just too bad to ignore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,418
    2,446
    529
    155
    105
See reviews for
1,510
4,703
670
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed there as a couple in february during chinese new year and we loved it. The view from our room was simply astounding, the room nice and couy, the bar in the pool area very trendy. The shuttle to the KLCC mall very convenient and the park in front very nice. Its conveniently located. It was definitely value for our money.

Room Tip: Its got to be a room with a view on the patronas towrs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel nailed it from the beginning! We had the pick-up service, and it was first class. When we arrived at the Hotel, they immediately checked us in, and sent our baggage to the room.

Room was very comfortable, excellent bed, excellent bathroom, lots of amenities, and the view was astonishing...Petronas just for us!

We had all of our meals at the hotel, food was quite good, and the buffet had so many things to try! For breakfast I preferred the á la carte choice, since I always pick up the same things on a buffet. It was great!

Staff there make you feel like you're a VIP, very attentive and helpful.

There's nothing bad to say about this place, I'm so happy we chose Traders

Room Tip: Ask for a Petronas view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandraRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at the Traders last week. Nice hotel, rooms are fine, average service. Located close to a shopping mall, which is convenient for meals. Pool is weird, kind of in the middle of the bar. Airport transfer is really expensive - don't order it from the hotel; instead take a taxi, all very safe. Very slow Internet access, when it worked......

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ckatsuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was one our world-wide best stays. The location cannot be beat. The service, especially the concierge desk. We paid $135/night

Seek a room as high as possible on the Twin-Towers side.

For the money, this was a steal. The only issue could be that the roof-top pool area is quite warm/hot. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but did alacarte the breakfast.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a Twin-Towers side view room as high as you'd like. We were on the 9th floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear jwhitehouse

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am most honoured to know that this has been one of the best hotels you have stayed in. The location and services are what makes travellers return for more and I am very happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. Sharing your comment with the team, they too, feel the same way.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriends on the weekend of March 1 - 3 as a get-away weekend.

I was the one who did all the booking with the hotel, considering that my own family of 5 have stayed here a few times I did not have hesitation to recommend the hotel to my friends. The experience we gained from our previous stays were good enough reasons to even not look elsewhere regardless of the price.

The booking went very smoothly and my request were well accommodated. We were even upgraded to 2 connecting rooms with the magnificent view of the Petrona Twin Towers (Room 2113 and Room 2115)

The breakfast offered many selections and we were satisfied each time.

The hotel is within walking distance to KLCC (Petrona Towers), a 5- minutes walk from the hotel, and for the hot summer days, you can even walk through the convention centre which will lead you all the way to KLCC. Another bonus for those who hate to walk is that the hotel offers complimentary buggy which offers service to and from every 5 minutes from 10am to 10pm. The hotel fronts a huge park where you can do jog, or walk, exercise. And for those with kids there is a huge free water park and a great playground to entertain the young ones. A good park to just sit down and have a relaxing picnic. The hotel is within walking distance to other major malls like Pavilion and others. Very well located.

The check-out went very smoothly and when I requested for a late check-out, they gave us until 2pm which was very generous, you hardly get that from other hotels without being charged.

Considering all of us are well-traveled and have stayed in many hotels globally especially in Asia, one thing this hotel is lacking is the expected Asian hospitality, where they would normally give you a welcome refreshing drink or a cold towel or even fruit bowl/ plate that waits for you in the room, none of these. I actually joked around when we checked in and asked where the welcome drinks were, and the front desk just smiled and said none... perhaps something to look into Traders!

Other than this, great stay!

Room Tip: Room 2113 and Room 2115
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moverskami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear moverskami

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, welcome back. It is always good to have familiar faces with us again. Being a business-oriented hotel, we understand the needs of our travellers who expect a speedy check-in and check-out process. We do however, offer welcome drinks at our Traders Club Lounge. I would strongly recommend our Traders Club floor rooms as they are great value for the benefits you receive.

Our breakfast spreads come highly recommended and I am glad that you enjoyed it. Our chefs take pride in the selection available. As for our location, it definitely is a unique selling point of the hotel; alongside the services provided and view of the stunning Petronas Twin Towers.

I thank you for being such a great ambassador to the hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had booked this hotel through Thomson shortly before our travel date.

Upon arrival we upgraded from City View to Towers View - for the cost of £22 per night each not only did we get a suite for the two of us but also the upgrade included as much as we could eat from 2pm to 4pm, upgraded breakfast over looking the towers with eggs cooked to order (try the eggs benedict) and everyday from 5pm to 7pm as much soft or alcoholic drinks and food that you could consume. This all took place in the lounge area on one of the very high floors. You could sit and watch the towers turn on as the sun sert. It was amazing value for money.

The room was fab and as it was a corner one, all glass on one side with excellent views from our bed. Bathroom enormous with fluffy towels and gowns, lots of lovely bath freebies, and so quiet.

The staff were extremely attentive and pleasant the whole stay. Very helpful with luggage, food, tips on where to go, taxis etc. Nothing was too much for them.

I would highly recommend this splendid hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a tower room for all the bonus bits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos D, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear jacqui821

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us immensely. Also very pleased to know that you took the upgrade to a Traders Club floor room. For the benefits we provide, it is great value to be staying on our Traders Club floor. It is our mission to provide a memorable experience to all our guests ensuring their comfort is always priority. I am glad we did that.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback; it is proof that we are on the right track.

Kind Regards

Juan Carlos Diago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
6,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views. All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing