We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not a Shangri La standard..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #9 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location but not a Shangri La standard..”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Had high expectations of this hotel - having stayed regularly at the Shangri La in Bangkok and being a member of the Golden Circle club. Requested a non smoking room and the room reeked of smoke. We overlooked a construction site and one of the bedspreads we got had a hole right in the middle of the bed. Not really good enough for a hotel of it rating. We came with 4 other couples and one of the couples waited an hour for their room and another of the couples were told their room had been cancelled. Not a great start! Room service was terrible, rang one night for a softer pillow and no one came at all. The Sky Bar was OK - drinks unreasonably expensive so we only had one during our stay. Probably would choose another hotel next time we stay in KL. On the plus side - we had paid for the club rooms and the staff in the Club Lounge were fantastic. Special mention to Danish and Kenneth who were very helpful and looked after us very well. Breakfasts and Club facilities were very good. Shuttle to KLCC was a great idea but should run more regularly.

Room Tip: Club Room - request a Petronas View room - definately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collecting-info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,523
    2,491
    538
    156
    107
See reviews for
1,553
4,772
679
1,257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My room was city view so it was not good view at all... but the view from poolside, 33F, was great. You should visit the pool even you don't swim.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ysugiura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Their rooms are clean and service is good. However, in my last trip, they non-smoking room had smell of smoke. The replacement room took longer than expected. The service staff saved the day. Good location and nice view of KLCC twin towers from the hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed two nights in a tower view club room and for £130 a night I think the little extra we paid for the view was worth it (club rooms are level 27-32 with only the club lounge and the Skybar above). The club room gives access to the club lounge as well where you can get free soft drinks all day, breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks/ canapés. We had breakfast in the main part of the hotel every day as they had a wider selection. Afternoon tea is served from 2.30-4.30, but I don’t really think it qualifies as afternoon tea and only worth going to if you are in the hotel anyway. There is a bit of fruit, a sponge cake and when we were there they served a Malay high tea which was a tuna wrap, a spring roll and a skewer with meat we couldn’t manage to eat as it was so tough. I would recommend going to the evening drinks which were on from 5-7pm and also had a good selection of canapés – but be early (that is before 5) if you want a window table. It is worth noting that there is quite a large number of club rooms so on our first evening there the lounge was full when we arrived for evening drinks and it was difficult to get a table, although it was much quieter on the second evening.

The pool area turns into the Skybar in the evening so the pool is only open until 7pm. The pool is not outdoors but the walls are half glass and half open air. If you want an outdoor pool we could see the mandarin oriental pool area from our room and it looked great, but if you want good views of the towers the location of this hotel can’t be beaten!

Most flight’s back to the UK leave at midnight and it is worth noting that if you have a club room you can use the lounge area from you check out till you leave for the airport. I think paying a little extra for a tower view club room is worth it for the great views and access to the lounge if you have a late flight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days last month in a Towers view suite room. Overlooks Petronas Towers. It's a real WOW moment when you open the curtains to see the amazing towers, especially at night. The club room is fantastic value for money. The Traders lounge has everything you could ask for. Afternoon tea and cocktails with the most delicious nibbles that just keep on coming! We enjoyed chatting to Danish who taught us lots of Malay.
The Sky bar is a must. I read reports that the drinks were expensive. It's standard 4* prices but the view is why you go. It's £10 for a glass of champagne. I just paid that to sit in the middle of a shopping mall in London and toast a friend for her birthday. Give me Traders any day! One tip, even if you are staying at Traders it's not easy to get a pod seat in the Sky Bar i.e. the ones with the best view. You have to book 4 - 5 days in advance. Luckily we managed to get a slot on the last evening but I suggest you email and ask for a pod, if you don't turn up within 15 mins you have lost it. There will be plenty of takers if you don't show up.
Other great things about Traders: The service, the friendly smile of ALL the staff, the breakfast, Club Lounge (as previously mentioned), the little golf buggy that takes you to the SURIA KLCC shopping mall. The location.
The only thing I would like to point out is the pool is a little on the cool side. My husband thought it was great as he swims lots of lengths. I like to swim and have a chat to fellow swimmers but its way too cold for that! Also the mosque is on the other side of the park so you do hear the call for prayer if you overlook the towers and park. I think it all adds to the atmosphere of being in the Far East but maybe it might be a rather early call for some at 5.50 a.m.!
I have previously stayed at The Mandarin Oriental nearby which is now twice the price. I shall always stay at Traders in future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M.C.Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was here on business for 4 days. I stayed in the club lounge without the view of the twin towers. Not to worry the view you have from the club lounge is truly amazing. A short stroll to the towers and the shopping centre.

The breakfast is good and I ordered room service which was on time and very tasty. The hotel staff were not friendly as some of the other hotels I have stayed at but this hotel is definitely value for money.

The rooms were small size but the internet was fast.

Couple of tips: Go to the Lowyat Plaza for the best electronics deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connecttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed after 9 nights in Langkawi so were ready for the hustle and bustle of KL, and Traders were impeccable from our arrival to departure. A beautiful bouquet for my beautiful wife, rose petals scattered in our bathroom (and cleaned up, to the pleasure of my wife), lovely muffins to welcome us. We also had access to the complimentary Traders Lounge for afternoon tea, and cocktails. We only managed cocktails on the last night and we definitely had been missing out.

Having had to leave a little early than expected, the concierge's help was outstanding. Taking the stress out of ringing around and trying to figure out what we could do to get early flights, I must say we were totally impressed. I was a little worried about going from relaxing breakfasts by the beach to this, but the service at breakfast was just as impressive as the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Petronas Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vyks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,097 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,696 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is a contemporary city centre hotel that caters to smart business and leisure travellers. This hotel in Kuala Lumpur offers 571 stylishly appointed rooms and suites in the heart of the city, just opposite the Petronas Twin Towers. Guest Rooms: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers value accommodation with a range of amenities and facilities combined with an exceptional level of service that is distinct from other KL hotels. Traders Club: Traders Club rooms offer an enhanced level of service, comfort, and convenience for busy travellers, including a personal concierge. All rooms on the Traders Club floors are non-smoking and have exclusive access to the Traders Club Lounge on level 32. Suites: Suites at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur offer spacious and luxurious accommodations. All suites offer a separate sitting area that is perfect for relaxed business meetings, and a choice of dramatic park or city views. All our guests enjoy complimentary WiFi broadband access throughout the hotel premises and in the hotel limousine during airport transfers. It's the freedom smart Travellers know at Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur. Restaurants: Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides a fine selection of restaurants in Kuala Lumpur to satisfy your culinary requirements. Enjoy some of the city’s best steaks in intimate elegance at Gobo Upstairs Lounge & Grill on level 6. For more casual dining and popular entertainment, sample Western and Asian fare under an animated light show at the Gobo Chit Chat on level 5. Lounges & Bars: Enjoy the creative cocktail list at the Gobo Upstairs Lounge. A tourist attraction in its own right the famous SkyBar is a cosmopolitan open-air rooftop cocktail bar and a must for any visit to KL. Happy hour runs from 11am - 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Traders Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel Kl
Traders Kl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing