We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel
Ranked #58 of 319 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Recently stayed at the Boulevard based on reviews of the hotel on this site. Proximity and convenience to shopping malls was the major drawcard for us and given that we were travelling with young children wanted the option to return to the hotel for a rest during the day. Imagine our disappointment then, when on 2 of the 3 days, we expected our rooms to be made up/ refreshed, we returned to our rooms at 3pm only to have to call reception to request our rooms be attended to.3pm?! Ridiculous as we left our room with the sign - make up room in situ at 9am! No apology, instead we were told they were very busy! Indifferent staff who were more keen on chatting amongst themselves rather than attending to guests. Very, very ordinary and certainly NOT worth the money and the convenience - might as well stay at BB and taxi to the mall should you need to.

Room Tip: I'd imagine the higher rooms would be quieter in general - pretty busy area of KL/ PJ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lenz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    335
    133
    28
    14
See reviews for
142
91
64
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have been staying at Boulevard Hotel Kl during our business trips almost once every other mths and it's been uneventful until our last 2 stays.

Sometime in Nov, While having a meeting at the Exec Lounge spotted a rat running across the counter where the food were being placed ..... Immediate heart attack and shocking that a rodent is running free at the Exec Lounge no less ...., totally unacceptable on so many levels. Informed staff but they did nothing to appease my fear.

Recent visit abt 1 week again, upon entering the lobby ....foul sewage like smell seem to engulf the entire lobby floor and it's really strong and bad considering the lobby area is huge. Again informed the front desk and she told me to comment via online ????

This is not a cheap hotel and even if it is - the basic necessity for a hotel is hygiene of which they seem to lack and don't seem bothered by it at all.

Seriously, do they intend to only take action when the infestation of rodents and all things rotten overtake the place ?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AileenC0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BE-Lim, General Manager at The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Ms. Aileen,

Thank you for highlighting your experience to us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I do apologise for the regrettable experience at our Executive Lounge in October 2013 where our staff could have explained more to allay your fears. This is definitely unacceptable for us as we take any pest encounter ultimately as crossing the line because of our standards benchmark which we fiercely uphold. Then again one encounter is far too many and my personal apologies for this lapse.

We took immediate action over a week with our consultants and pest controller throughout the building to identify the root cause and have eradicated the rogue pest. It was challenging for us as the hotel is intertwined with the mall`nevertheless additional measures from existing were installed within the hotel piping services to ensure any potential pest access to our building is out of bounds.

Again, I do apologise on your visit in January with Ms. Catherine and Ms. Amy whereby our staff was not guided enough to provide you with a satisfactory response on the sewage smell encountered at lobby. We worked hand in hand with mall building services on that particular day to isolate the common area drain overflow at lower sub ground level which affected our lobby. Rest assured, such occurrence is definitely not common.

Ms. Aileen, we thank you and your colleagues for all the support thus far and will always try our best to ensure your stay is as pleasant and comfortable as possible. My team and I are working on getting our staffs up to speed in responding to guest concerns correctly. I trust your upcoming visits will see us in a different light like how we have always served you in the past.

Kind regards,
BE Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From check in to departure this hotel made my stay very comfortable and loked after all requests with a can do attitude.
The restaurant was excellent as was the very cold beer at the bar. could not fault a thing. Slept well, had a quiet room and felt welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nice hotel. Breakfast 3/5 but good enough. Rooms spacious. We had a corner room, floor to ceiling glass so very bright. Nice bathrooms double sinks and separate shower to bath.
Biggest plus was handy to shops. One side general shopping. Other side luxe brands. Also lots of food places - bistro, cafe etc.
Very comfortable - firm beds, feather pillows.

Room Tip: Corner room as you get floor to ceiling windows on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Out of four hotels on our two week trip this was definitely the best. The staff were excellent and every request was answered with a smile and a can do approach. It is a large hotel so it was a amazing they remembered our preferences after only two days. Would definitely stay here again when I am in KL. Also helps that they are attached to the mega mall (if shopping and eating are on your top two things to do whilst in KL!).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thermolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in this Hotel for 5 Nights, what I can say, it is not value for money, not worth what we paid for. One night around RM330 inclusive of service tax and gov tax (W/O breakfast). Expected it will much more comfort than Cititel Hotel that I stay 2 years ago, but it disappoint me in the following points:-

- Bed and pillow are not comfortable, there plenty of dirty mark on the blanket.
- In room aircond was too cold until unable to sleep comfortably, increase the temperature not much help, need to switch it off to sleep.
- Limited number of devices can be connected to the free WiFi (Only two devices can be connected), at first was only limited to one device, call to request for more, but was told their management only allow maximum two devices to connect. It need to key in the password frequently, ie if you left your devices idle for 15-20mins, you will have to re-type the password. Hope that the Hotel will look into this issue and improve.
- In room fridge is not cold enough
- Iron offered in room was old.

Good points of this Hotel:-
+ Easy accessible, great location for shopping, not too far to KLIA (45mins), Bukit Bintang (10-15mins), 1Utama (15mins), IKEA (15mins), Mid Valley Megamall just downstair of the Hotel.
+ Big, clean, comfortable Hotel Lobby.
+ Friendly staffs
+ Feel secure in this Hotel, including the entrance, lift, as well as room door
+ Good bathroom, basin, but the WC a bit dated (plastic start to deteriorate, yellow stain).
+ Well lighted room.
+ Offer free drinking water.

In my opinion, the Hotel shall priced at RM265/night W/O breakfast inclusive all the tax, with what they offered.

Room Tip: Higher floor can avoid traffic and KTM noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TokLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had been stayed in the hotel twice in 2013 ( in May-13 & Dec-13) mainly for business travel and vacation.

Check in was smooth and but no bellboy offer to bring my luggage to my room. May be short of people as the hotel is quite busy in Dec-13.

Given a room 2101 which was clean and comfortable. Great to see improvement on refurbishment and renovation in the room compared to last visit in May-13,

All electrical appliances in the room and water tap in bathroom are in good working condition. I saw a card on the table which you can leave a comment and complaint if anything is not working well which i think is an excellent idea for the hotel to seek for improvement of their service.

Would like to comment if they can offer more pillow choice for guest.

Excellent location for shopping and eating out. Have a pleasant trip to stay in the hotel. Would return back for business travel and vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
#41 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#73 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#32 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Hotel @ Mid Valley
My Hotel @ Mid Valley
#207 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel

Property: The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel
Address: Mid Valley Expressway, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#36 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#48 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located strategically in Mid Valley City; one of the most modern and integrated leisure, dining, entertainment and shopping destination in Kuala Lumpur, the 390-room Boulevard Hotel is easily accessible to major commercial hubs and popular tourist attractions. Adjoining to the hotel is the popular Mid Valley Megamall and the upscale Gardens Mall, with over 630 retails, dining and entertainment outlets. The hotel offers a choice of rooms including Executive Rooms and Studio Suites with FREE WIFI - perfect for business or family getaways. A variety of gastronomic delights is available at the 24-hour Wild Rice Restaurant, whereas Flutes Living Room is the place to unwind and enjoy your favourite cocktail. For the health conscious, there is an outdoor swimming pool and a gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your The Boulevard-St Giles Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Boulevard Hotel
Boulevard Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing