We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accomodation with reasonable frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Budget accomodation with reasonable frills”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Located quite close to Burkit Bintau (and the Golden Triangle) and is off Jalan Sultan Ismail. It is 2 minutes walk from Medan Tuanku monrail station and is walking distance to many shopping malls. The rooms all have free WiFi access and the rooms are clean. However the street that the hotel is located in looks quite dingy and the hotel is often overflowing with delegates from various conventions which doesn't help the atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    268
    196
    50
    23
See reviews for
101
125
66
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in. The reception area is unhygienic. Rooms smell of smoke and bathrooms were dirty with stained towels. We could not sleep the whole night as the hotel is located next to the highway where motorists were racing!! the entire night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. We moved the next day to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We had stayed in the hotel (standard room) for two days. The room was quite clean and comfortable. You can have the view of both KL tower and the KLCC Twin tower from the room (ask for it, we had by chance!). If you have plan to take food the hotel is strictly for Non-veg, however veg hotels are available in the vicinity (Lotus Hotel, 24Hrs).
Taxi from KL Sentral costs circa RM12 day time and at night you can bargain for RM15 to RM20. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Mono-rail station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karavindan2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

A grim, dark and slightly intimidating place to stay even for the most budget of travellers. Prescott Inn has seen better days. The positive reviews at this site don't really reflect my experience. There are no "non-smoking" rooms offered so unless you have an affinity for stale cigarette smoke you should not stay here.

The airconditioning system is in dire need of service. In my years of travelling only two hotels have ever made me (generally a pretty hardy individual) sick and this is one of them. My sore throat and cold symptoms the first morning were almost certainly as a result of the air con system here, which is long overdue for a flushing out. After switching it off I recovered, only to fall victim again a day later after needing to switch it back on because of the heat.

Although the nice old housekeeper (whose photo is featured on your bedside table) generally leaves the rooms in a clean surface-level state, the overall condition of the rooms is tired and poorly maintained and you can't help but feel there is a horrible level of grime that lurks beneath the surface.

I was booked into a "deluxe" room on a lower floor. The best feature was the large king bed. Although not brand new it wasn't ancient either, and provided a good sleep. The room achieved about 30% accuracy to the images shown at the website. Walls are scuffed, light fittings dodgy, and the bathroom (floors, shower doors and large tiled box, toilet, grouting and ceilings) are really quite unacceptable. The water pressure is good but because of the surroundings you still feel unclean after washing in there.

The room lighting is pretty appalling - the rooms are very dark, electrical wiring on the bedside lights dodgy, and if you really want to see yourself warts-and-all at your worst then the terrible white fluroescent bathroom light does the trick.

One positive redeeming feature is the drapes/window coverings which feature heavy, dark-backed drapes to block out all external night light (there is a lot of it) out front of the hotel.

Wireless (offered complimentary throughout the hotel) is very slow and quite inefficient - guests have to run downstairs to get individual log-ins instead of a universal key (which they could otherwise just publish somewhere inside the rooms to save guests - and hotel reception - the repetitive task of obtaining and issuing individual log-in credentials).

Rooms featured an flat screen LCD TV with about 10 useable channels, the standard two bottles of drinking water per day, coffee/tea making facilities, iron (don't use on light coloured clothing unless you carefully check it for cleanliness - mine was absolutely filthy), a rickety ironing board, and a prayer mat for Muslims. The in-room fridge is more like a heater so don't rely on keeping anything in there for too long.

Check-in was satisfactory although a little time consuming. By and large staff seem reasonably friendly if not a little disinterested. The location is very average, although it is a few moments easy walk (with luggage) from the Medan Tuanku monorail station, which links you to all the other parts of the city quite quickly.

Like a number of Kuala Lumpur hotels, I have a sneaking suspicion that guests booking via Agoda or Wotif or other online engines receive a lesser quality room (although the hotel will always deny this happens). Even for a budget hotel averaging a low RM120 a night, unless you have absolutely no other options available (or you get to inspect the rooms in advance), I would go elsewhere (such as the clean, pared-back, economy Tune Hotel around the corner).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Excellent view of KL tower & Petronas Tower from the room. Excellent location, complimentary wi-fi connection in rooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights which was the start of our trip, it was a nice budget hotel, they were helpful with how to get to certain places and the rooms were quiet spacious and clean the friends we were with had a smelly room not sure why but ours didn't smell at all it was actually a really nice room.
The breakfast wasn't bad they had the basics eggs, toast, baked beans, fruit and the rest must have been traditional breakfast it was more like something you'd eat for lunch or dinner it was fried rice and fried fish ball things it was a little strange, the only thing at this hotel is they don't really change the breakfast around they do with their traditional food but nothing else so if you don't like the traditional food you're stuck eating the same thing every day.
This was a smaller hotel but really central to the monorail which took us to the shopping hotspots which was good :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights, on the 6th floor. The room size was good and the bed was comfortable. There was a huge flat screen new TV on the wall. The only thing I didnt like was the mould in the bathroom shower cubicle. I got a good rate (100 ringgits per night) and buffet breakfast was an extra 10 ringgits per person. The breakfast was very good, with some good choice for westerners too. They could make eggs to order, so the omlettes were good. The staff were excellent and friendly and helpful. There was great fast WIFI in the room too.
The location was excellent, just 5 mins walk from Medan Tuanku Monorail station. There were lots of cheap places to eat local food nearby, and an outlet shopping centre 1 block away. In the shopping centre they had starbucks, KFC, kenny rogers, and a supermarket which was good for getting supplies.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.6 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#111 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#95 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ttanz Hotel
Ttanz Hotel
#181 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lotus Family Hotel
Lotus Family Hotel
#184 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#139 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#81 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku

Property: Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Address: No 23 Lorong Medan Tuanku Satu | Off Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to the city's major commercial and business district, the hotel offers you warm hospitality and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prescott Inn, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing