We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #12 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel clean fresh rooms, beautiful pool area husband loved the water slide, nice executive lounge. Outstanding breakfast amazing selection of foods. Friendly staff very classy hotel we will definitely be staying again. 5 stars and beyond

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jess300883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for your very nice review.

My team and I sincerely appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you were impressed buy the hotel and our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    1,193
    265
    82
    48
See reviews for
584
980
380
1,506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Let's start off with the good:-

Deluxe lakeside view room (lake in mid distance beyond 5 lane freeway)
Magnificent shower
Comfortable bed
Nice bathroom
High quality swimming pool particularly suited if you have children up to age of 11 (small water slide which kept many kids very happy for many hours)
Good breakfast buffet

The bad:-

substantial building work/noise near pool area – looks like it has 6 months at least to go – a new tower going up. Nothing Hilton can do about this.
if you like coffee for breakfast, bring your own flask. We waited 20 minutes on the last of our 3 days and gave up. Days one and two were not a lot better. Simply not enough staff serving the coffee and those they had were inattentive. Very puzzling because all other breakfast elements were very good.
only 5 tv channels on gym kit
no hdmi input on bedroom tv
hallway on 23rd floor looked very tired.

And the ugly

the restaurants had good menus with expensive but acceptably priced menus given their upscale nature. However someone has completely lost it with the degree of mark up on the (substantial) wine list. For example, I paid R128 for some Cape Mentelle in a local store and Hilton had the same bottle priced at R800 (GBP145!) in all of the hotel's restaurants.
To avoid this greed, go to the Le Meridien next door. Good wine list and fairly priced. For example they had some decent DeBortoli cabernet for R90, which was under half the price of the Hilton's very cheapest wine.

Overall a nice hotel, particularly suited for those who have children, and are not worried if they need either coffee or wine. Still a long way off the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this fourm.

I would however like to clarify for our guests a few points raised in your review and to place them in perspective for readers of this post. Unfortunately the title of your review is somewhat dramatic/misleading and without clarification provides inaccurate details on the Hilton Kuala Lumpur product and experience.

Regarding construction - there is no construction adjacent Hilton Kuala Lumpur. Construction on a new office building and residential complex is located approximately 150 meters from the Le Meridien South Eastern boundary and presents no inconvenience whatsoever to our guests and absolutely no noise for guestrooms. Outside on level eight you may hear background 'city' noise however it is not accurate to indicate that construction noise is an issue at this property. The general background noise of the city is definitely more prevalent than anything emanating from the construction site and noise from all sites is strictly enforced by the authorities. Hilton KL is also in a position where no construction can take place in front or behind of the hotel due to zoning and our view is guaranteed due to the Lake Gardens, Federal Hill and KL Sentral.

Concerning wine pricing - at Hilton we offer a very wide range of pricing and pricing that is comparable to all other upscale hotels and restaurants including Le Meridien. The Cape Mentelle wine you have highlighted/compared at a significant price difference is from the 'Trinders' range and is not comparable to the premium range and vintages offered at the hotel. In addition to premium wines we also have a selection of entry level, house and wine by the glass available in all restaurants and a nightly happy Hour at the Boardwalk Bar and Restaurant.

Our guestrooms and corridors are presented to the highest standard and constantly maintained. I have reviewed the 23rd floor with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper and the corridor is in good condition with no damage.

We sincerely thank you for choosing Hilton Kuala Lumpur and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are committed to constant improvement.

Hilton Kuala Lumpur also recommends that guests to this website review the 100+ reviews on this site to obtain a balanced perspective on the hotel. We are also pleased to be recognised as one of the highest rated Hilton hotels in Asia Pacific and are committed to providing exceptional hospitality.

Wishing you safe onward travels and a warm welcome back.


Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Our Hilton stay was very nice. Check in went smoothly and our room was very nice. The bathroom does have limited privacy as it is one if those sliding door ones but the beds were heavenly. Check out was a little bit of a nightmare due to some IT upgrade but the Hilton front-desk manager soon put things right. Would stay again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xoxLuxyxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for your review and for choosing Hilton Kuala Lumpur.

I would also like to apologise for the delay on check out due to essential equipment upgrades that impacted the entire IT infrastructure for 6 hours.

Wishing you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Good location at KL Sentral hitch allows you to easily get the train to and from KLIA. Also good if you want to be out of the frenetic pace of KLCC. Close to Bangsar Village, Mid Valley and still only a short ride to the city in a taxi or on the commuter train. Everything you would expect from a Hilton Hotel in Asia - clean, modern, efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the towers or looking out at Federal Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this forum.

I am glad you found our location to be convenient and that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel a few times but never reviewed here! I have always stayed in this hotel if I want to use the express train to travel to other cities in Malaysia and to the airport! Very convenient cos the hotel is located above the train station and the lake view rooms have very good views of the lake gardens in the distance!

Check in was smooth and the rooms look reasonably clean although the hotel is not new anymore but you don't feel the property is old! Concierge managed to book the train tickets for me before I arrive at the hotel which was a nice touch!

The zeta bar has a very good band playing and the place was full and rocking when i was there! Love the dj's music and the band! Would I stay here again? Definitely!!!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Hilton Kuala Lumpur is in its 10th year of operation in 2014 and over the past 10 years we have constantly reinvested in the property to ensure it remains as one of KL's premier upper upscale hotels.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Check in was a bit of a pain as the team leader at the check in counter gave us a room with one double bed when we clearly indicated we wanted two beds in the room, and she repeated the request after what I said too. Also asked for a non smoking room and the room smelt of smoke. Asked for a high floor and quiet room but was provided with the choice of either a low floor (smoking) or a high floor (but close to lifts). Essentially no choice but what was frustrating was her inability to either comprehend English or understand the English requests that she repeated after me and they wouldn't be a problem...until I got up to the rooms to find out....so lots of walking back and forth between the rooms and lobby. The bellman who took up our luggage was cheerful enough though and tried to be friendly as I went through this frustrating process.

This hotel has pluses and minuses.

Pluses - the bed is comfortable. Staff generally cheerful. Toiletries are nice. Location of hotel is convenient if u travel through KLIA, but not LCCT. Hotel rate reasonable.

Minuses - room is a little small for bigger luggages that open up in the middle. Washroom design is odd and lacking in privacy with sliding doors (thin) as dividers which make all sounds in the bathroom audible. The tap for washing your face is positioned too far in and water pressure is too high such that water will be splashed every where if u try to put water into the cup and you have to bend very far forward to wash your face. The tv in the bathroom isn't positioned correctly if one is meant to use it while taking a shower or a bath. Checkout was a bit confusing as they asked us whether we took anything from the minibar, we said we didn't. But the hotel staff said the system indicated we did, but I reiterated that we didn't. and he left it at that. So I don't know what they mean at all. Oh well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I have reviewed your stay with the team and it is unfortunate that your check in was not as expected.

Your reservation was made for a Deluxe (standard) double guest room and the team allocated a room of this type. At Hilton Kuala Lumpur our standard guestrooms are located on the lower floors of the tower and a high floor can not be provided in this category - higher room categories with views and larger room size are available at the point of reservation and also on pre arrival.

Fluent English is spoken by all team members and English language skills are very high in Malaysia as it is the business language of this country. We have never received any guest feedback indicating that the team members on our front desk can not speak English.

Concerning the bathroom design, our open plan design is the most popular aspect of our guestrooms and allows privacy or open space. The guest room toilet is separate and completely private. Our guestrooms are also one of the largest in the city at 40m2 plus and represent outstanding value. Water can be adjusted using the tap to adjust the flow and the TV is positioned to watch whilst at the basin or in the dressing room.

KLIA Express Trains serve both KLIA 1 and KLIA 2 (LCCT) in 28 minutes from May 2 2014. Alternatively bus transfers are available from KLIA2 (LCCT) direct to KL Sentral.

We thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments.

Wishing you safe travels and a warm welcome back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Fantastic Hotel, all that you could want from an inner city 5 star hotel, very good location next to the main train hub. Very good value for money. Excellent and friendly staff, good quality of food and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank merlinn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review.

The team and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you have shared your experience on this forum.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
6,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 3 Jalan Stesen Sentral, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this vibrant city at its best at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur hotel, located just 28 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 33 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 by KLIA Ekspres train. Gaze out on Kuala Lumpur's city center while swimming laps of the hotel pool, featuring a tropical sun deck, or indulge in a holistic spa treatment. The hotel boasts 14 lavish meeting rooms including the magnificent Grand Ballroom, mid-size Sentral Ballroom and the sophisticated multi-event leveL7even. Services for meetings, events and outside catering are designed to meet every event need. Executive rooms and suites include access to the Executive Lounge and complimentary WiFi. Experience an array of additional benefits including complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, all-day refreshments, and evening cocktails. The hotel provides 10 stellar choices for dining and entertainment, from business brunches to pre-dinner drinks and everything in between. Hilton Kuala Lumpur has been awarded Malaysia's Leading Business Hotel 2015 by The World Travel Awards™. The hotel's modern European restaurant, GRAZE won accolade as Malaysia Tatler – Best Restaurant 2015. Hilton Kuala Lumpur also won the TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice® award for 2015 in the Top 25 Luxury Hotels – Malaysia category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Hilton International Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing