We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton on our return trip home because our usual hotel was not available. overall it was a mixed experience. On the plus the hotel has location, location, location. Across the road from Sentral station and the train to the airport side. For an early morning flight it is priceless. The room was quite large by Asian hotel standards and the beds were comfortable. We had a 5 star meal at Chynna and we could eat there tonight if we could. Highly recommend you eat at Chynna. On the negative side, paying extra for internet and breakfast really irks us. In a 5 star hotel wi fi and breakfast should be included. Upon check in we questioned the charge for breakfast and were quickly given complimentary breakfasts. Why make it an issue in the first place? We did not like the very modern bathroom due to the fact that water from the shower went everywhere. The bathroom overall although it looks luxurious was not very practical. Lastly and most importantly although the staff were very good at the welcome and greeting we felt they were just going through the motions. In our opinion they did not have the 'warmth' we have experienced in other KL hotels. All in all a good place to stay if for no other reason than the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review of your recent stay experience with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests - including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and have shared your comments with the team for improvement.

The next time you have the opportunity to travel to Kuala Lumpur, I do hope that you will be our guest again - thank you for your review.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,307
    1,173
    261
    82
    46
See reviews for
575
967
372
1,485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed on the 14th floor of the hotel and the room that I had came with a very good view of the swimming pool and surrounding residential estates.

My previous stay in Kuala Lumpur was at Shangri-La and Ritz Carlton, where both were located in KL city. While Hilton is conveniently located at KL Sentral, where there is a Airport Express service which takes you to the airport in less than 30 minutes at RM35. And by taxi to KL city, it takes about 15 minutes if traffic condition was in your favour. You can choose to take a taxi at the hotel or walk across to KL Sentral station and buy a ticketed taxi, which is much cheaper than the former.

There is a good variety of restaurants and bars within the hotel and Le Meridien (annexe to Hilton). During my stay, i had the opportunity to dine at Prime Steakhouse and Vasco's. The latter offers buffet dining at the hotel lobby and I had breakfast twice. The reason I returned for breakfast the second time was because i enjoyed the cappuccino very much. The food was fine but not superb. On one occasion, scrambled eggs were not replenished.

The room did not have a very strong sound proofing. Toiletries are very well stocked and replenished. I had to deliberately buy a toothpaste because the ones that were provided did not have a good minty and fresh taste. In fact, I thought it was a banana-flavoured tooth paste.
Showers were very nice except that the bath tub in my room leaked after each use.

Staff were really nice, accommodating and patient especially the ones who worked in the breakfast buffet schedule. Bell boys and concierge were friendly and smiley all the time.

I don't know if I would choose to stay here again because there is more to do in KL city and hotels are just as good as Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettingHydrangeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Customer feedback is vital to the hotel in ensuring that the team can continually improve hotel services and offerings.

The team and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay with spacious rooms, very courteous staff, amazing and variety of cuisines and being 5 minute away from Little India. Being close to little India was a bug positive as we have variety of India food choices and best part was Hilton being opposite to KL sentral Station. Take KL sentral to and fro from Airport !!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Srinivasa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Srinivasa,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location of the hotel.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a large corner room with a wonderful view (from bedroom and bathroom) of the lake Gardens and Parliament House. There was an extra large king bed with room for a rollaway. Good snacks in the Lounge, also with good view. Very good and easy connections to the fast train to KLIA and the LRT (local light rail). Right now there is a lot of construction in the immediate area so it is not so easy to walk around. Also the highway system that is all around Sentral is confusing and not pedestrian-friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for Room facing North toward Lake Gardens and the mountains beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you found the room and location of the hotel to your liking and satisfaction.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My stay at the Hilton Hotel KL was excellent. Room's outstanding, service was wonderful and quality and choice of food for breakfast was outstanding. Internet access in room was top rate. Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Tracey,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Getting a bit long in the tooth however still very good, best point is excellent location for KLIA express to and from Airport and KL great Shopping malls as well as the buisness district. Good value and I have stayed here 5-6 times and will again as I transit through KL to other parts of Malaysia

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Kenneth,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay experience with us and I am glad to hear that you found the location of the hotel to your liking.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I have been to this hotel several times. The customer service at check in was not too bad but the not outstanding though because during one of our check-ins, were were told we have to wait for 45 minutes if we prefer a room facing the garden view.

There are some things that needed improvement. We got the room on the 27th floor several times and each time, I find that the hand basin area especially the table top not well cleaned. I suspect during housekeeping, the staff just replenish the toiletries and ignore the rest. If you take a closer look at eye level, there are stains everywhere on the table top which is not visible just be looking from the top. I believe whichever the floor is, this should be looked into for the comfort of the guests.

The pool is not big and the music in the sitting area near the pool is so loud and we find it difficult to relax and also if we want to read our books. Once we asked to staff to bring the volume down but they do not seemed to be able to do so. Also smoking is allowed on the left hand side just after the entrance to the pool so that when the wind blows in your direction, you will smell the smoke and that makes it very uncomfortable for non-smokers.

I will return to this hotel again but would be happier if these improvements are looked into.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecoffee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience with us.

Customer feedback is vital to the hotel, ensuring the team can continually improve on our services and offerings.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Daniel Welk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 3 Jalan Stesen Sentral, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this vibrant city at its best at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur hotel, located just 28 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 33 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 by KLIA Ekspres train. Gaze out on Kuala Lumpur's city center while swimming laps of the hotel pool, featuring a tropical sun deck, or indulge in a holistic spa treatment. The hotel boasts 14 lavish meeting rooms including the magnificent Grand Ballroom, mid-size Sentral Ballroom and the sophisticated multi-event leveL7even. Services for meetings, events and outside catering are designed to meet every event need. Executive rooms and suites include access to the Executive Lounge and complimentary WiFi. Experience an array of additional benefits including complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, all-day refreshments, and evening cocktails. The hotel provides 10 stellar choices for dining and entertainment, from business brunches to pre-dinner drinks and everything in between. Hilton Kuala Lumpur has been awarded Malaysia's Leading Business Hotel 2015 by The World Travel Awards™. The hotel's modern European restaurant, GRAZE won accolade as Malaysia Tatler – Best Restaurant 2015. Hilton Kuala Lumpur also won the TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice® award for 2015 in the Top 25 Luxury Hotels – Malaysia category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Hilton International Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing