We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #14 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this Hilton for a 2-day business trip. Although the hotel has some nice features, overall there were too many disappointments to recommend it. First, I was not recognized as a Hilton Honors member when I checked in. Other than that, the service from the staff was excellent, however.
The room itself is modern (glass and wood decor) yet oddly configured: the size of the sleeping area is compromised by the large bathroom. The desk is directly in front of the flat-screen tv, too close to watch tv while working. Air-conditioning seemed to diminish at night, so the morning temperature was too warm. The overall sleep quality was quite good: the bed is comfortable and the room is quiet. The internet service is expensive: 36 MYR per hour or 68 per day. I would avoid room service. Although fast, the food was very mediocre--it tasted like high school cafeteria fare--and no water came with it.
The bathroom was clean and modern, good water pressure, standard amenities. There is a tiny tv screen over the bathroom vanity but you would never know unless like us, you spied a button over the sink and pressed it to see what happened.
The breakfast buffet has a good variety of food, mostly Western style. The fitness center was excellent - very big, plenty of cardio and weight-lifting equipment, and accessible 24/7.
The hotel does not provide a checkout bill under your door and you must wait in line to check out, which is terribly inefficient during "rush hour". For the price of the hotel, they should really improve the service for business travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your constructive feedback! It is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service to our guests. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Nonetheless, we have noted on your comment and we thank you for highlighting it to us on the lack of superior service. For your kind information, we do provide fast check-out service to our guest, on your next visit kindly refer to our Front Desk and we will be happy to assist you. We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,893 - 2,899 of 4,317 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Long weekend at the Hilton. Booked the rooms off a promotion which meant the rooms were excellent value. Not sure if they would still be the same at the normal prices. Rooms were clean, comfortable and very roomy. Bathrooms with sliding doors that could be opened fully were a very nice extra. Main grouse would be the location.

Even though it is situated beside KL Sentral which meant that its a easy commute via the subway to all locations within KL, one would hardly imagine that a typical Hilton guest would be squeezing in the subway especially on the weekends. (I did!) There was nothing happening in the surrounds of the hotel past 9pm which meant that if one was hungry late at night, there was only room service or the 24hr Mcdonalds within KL Sentral

Pillows were too soft and aircon couldn't get really cold. Though these were minor grouses.

Other than that, hotel was exactly what you would expect of a Hilton.....and that includes sky high prices at the hotel bar!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevenage07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we appreciate your comment which we will definitely look into our deficiency. Customer feedback is vital to the hotel, ensuring the hotel team can continually improve hotel services and offerings.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you home soon!

Best regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for a night for a birthday treat last Oct. The swimming pool is just AWESOME, its huge and has a small (BIG FUN) slide which me and my adult friends just can't get enough of. And we end the fun with jacuzzi. If you want privacy, head to the gym and if you're lucky, the jacuzzi is all yours next to a window view of KL Sentral.

The breakfast is good, but nothing to shout about. A mixture of local, Japanese and western cuisine. Props to the comfortable beds and luxury bathroom as well :) Gotta love the tiny LCD tv in the bathroom.

The hotel is located just next to KL Sentral station which is convenient for travelers to go up and about from/to airport. If you love Indian food or everything Indian, Brickfields is just 5-7 mins walk away. If you want to shop for touristy souvenirs, go to Central Market (aka Pasar Seni) via LRT and if you want to shop like locals, just take a cab to Midvalley Megamall. Don't bother getting KTM train for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rozerozeroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our pool facilities! I will definitely pass on your comments to the hotel team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in Hilton KL sentral in for 2 nights over the weekend for my business trip, being a Hilton Gold member I was upgraded to the executive floor. The rooms on the executive floor were absolutely fantastic, very modern.

The overall design of the room made it look larger than it was, with entries to the bath area from the gallery as well as the huge glass door next to the bed. The bathroom area had a separate entrance for WC and also a well designate space for both shower and a huge bath tub.

The Executive lounge has a large variety for both eateries and drinks, but if you make it to the lounge after 7pm, you would notice that there is almost no space for anyone to sit.

The hotel is located just opposite to the KL sentral station which will help you easily connect to all places in and around KL, but do not mistake KL sentral to be the KL city center, because these are 2 very different places

The only thing bad about the hotel is that for the same price, you would be able to book a hotel right in the heart of the city in KLCC, overlooking the petronas towers. But for me it worked out perfectly since I was to be travelling mostly outside KL

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrenik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Customer feedback is essential to the hotel, ensuring the hotel team can continually improve hotel services and offerings.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

would recomend this hotel for location andf service with a smile , the rooms are reasonably big , the bathrooms great , in house food excellent , close to everything , great restaurants nearby , , would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon.

Best regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was quite a disappointed stay as there were quite a number of hiccups throughout the stay. First, it was the faulty card ready at the door. They changed us to a different room. Though the size is the same yet the layout was not comfortable as the original room. Then we noticed that the window blind was broken. Thereafter they moved us the next room category, which is much bigger. We thought that the nighmare would be over yet the phone and water kettle were not working.

Overall the hotel looks fine. However, maintenance is a key issue to ensure that these kind of minor issues do not recur.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Terrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

First of all let me thank you for providing us your feedback via Trip Advisor. I realize this took time out of your day and for that I am appreciative.

Your constructive comments have been shared with the team for improvement on areas where we did not meet your expectations - please accept our apologies.

Nevertheless, we hope this experience did not deter you from supporting us again. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hilton KL is a beautiful property with well-appointed rooms. We had booked a deluxe corner room at the Hilton and were delighted to be upgraded to a 957 sq ft Lifestyle Suite with a massive bathroom, separate sitting room with a full dining table set and a powder room for visitors. The room was well laid-out with a walk-in wardrobe/bag storage area and an ironing room. The decadent bathroom with double sinks, a two-person tub and stand-alone shower was beautiful, but could've done with a latch on the sliding doors (traveling with family means one can never soak in peace without a lock/latch - please include that to enhance the bathroom experience!) The TV/ DVD in the sitting room were a bit dated, but the kids were happy to borrow DVDs from the hotel small DVD library and spent an afternoon watching Catwoman.

We were invited to visit the Executive lounge on the 27th floor due to HH Diamond status. The lounge consists of 2 separate mini-lounges, one with a small mezzanine floor. We were pleasantly surprised to find a high tea spread at 4pm with scones and cream, local cakes, pastries and sandwiches! We had only gone up to grab a soft drink before setting off for the shops, only to discover this pre-happy hour surprise. We had breakfast at the Exec lounge and at the lobby restaurant - the quality of food in the lounge is superior (cheese selection being a prime example), but the sheer variety of the buffet in the lobby restaurant makes it worth a visit. There was a good sampling of vegetarian dishes from Chinese chi chong fun, to standard British hash browns and beans, and Indian fare.

The pool, shared with the Le Meridien is awesome, with a good sized kids pool, adult pool, water slide and jacuzzi. There were ample sun loungers, although the staff had a lackadaisical attitude and didn't bother coming over and prepare them for us or bring us a menu for the Boardwalk Poolside restaurant. We had to walk over to the restaurant shack to order French fries for the kids. The pool staff would do well to walk around and see if the guests require anything. Most 5* establishments usually offer gratis bottled water and refreshments to guests, which was a notable omission.

In terms of location, its conveniently located directly across KL Sentral Station and a stone's throw from KL's famous 'little India' strip known as Brickfields with the best local curries and 'roti chanai' and 'thosai' in town. Its a short drive/cab ride away from the aptly-named Mid Valley Megamall which is sprawling and has a good variety of shops from local department stores Metrojaya to foreign and specialty brands.

Overall, a fantastic stay! Would certainly return!

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akaur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Kuala_Lumpur, General Manager at Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Greetings from Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for providing us with your favorable feedback during your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that your stay with us was a very pleasant one and it is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service to our guests. I will be happy to share your comments with the hotel team members.

On the other hand, I appreciate your constructive feedback and I sincerely apologised on the sub standard service at our Boardwalk. I have shared your comment with our Director of Food & Beverage to look into the matter and to improve on our guest satisfaction. We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Daniel Welk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,858 reviews
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
2.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,344 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Address: 3 Jalan Stesen Sentral, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $61 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this vibrant city at its best at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur hotel, located just 28 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and 33 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 by KLIA Ekspres train. Gaze out on Kuala Lumpur's city center while swimming laps of the hotel pool, featuring a tropical sun deck, or indulge in a holistic spa treatment. The hotel boasts 14 lavish meeting rooms including the magnificent Grand Ballroom, mid-size Sentral Ballroom and the sophisticated multi-event leveL7even. Services for meetings, events and outside catering are designed to meet every event need. Executive rooms and suites include access to the Executive Lounge and complimentary WiFi. Experience an array of additional benefits including complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, all-day refreshments, and evening cocktails. The hotel provides 10 stellar choices for dining and entertainment, from business brunches to pre-dinner drinks and everything in between. Hilton Kuala Lumpur has been awarded Malaysia's Leading Business Hotel 2015 by The World Travel Awards™. The hotel's modern European restaurant, GRAZE won accolade as Malaysia Tatler – Best Restaurant 2015. Hilton Kuala Lumpur also won the TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice® award for 2015 in the Top 25 Luxury Hotels – Malaysia category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Hilton International Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing