We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, quiet, friendly”
Review of Hotel Sri Petaling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sri Petaling
Ranked #31 of 351 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent 1 night with my son at this hotel in connection with an event at the national stadium in Kuala Lumpur which is a long but possible walking distance from the hotel. Staff was very friendly especially in the restaurant for breakfast although the food was very local. A little too local for mornings we thought.
Hotel was quiet and room average. Maybe even good considering the price. Highlight was for sure the shower which often does not spit out regular, comfortable water with constant temperature in these level hotels. This it did in Sri Petaling. The pillows were also considerably better than many 5 stars hotel I have visited.
Overall a good experience which considering the price exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timkyungah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our group of friends stayed at Hotel Sri Petaling 2 years' back, so we went with the same expectations. Back then, rooms and toilets were clean and decent and new. This time, the hotel has aged somewhat.
Rooms were OK. Clean, but with a musty smell. I think all room floors are non-smoking, and yet our floor had a whiff of cigeratte smoke. Black stuff was growing in between the shower wall tiles, but the toilet floor, sink, loo, and shower floors was thankfully clean.
The bed was just fine, and the rooms were relatively clean. Furniture was showing its age.
The underground parking was great for us drivers. We could sleep easier with our cars parked below decks. We did not stay long enough to enjoy the hotel's F&B.
The front office staff had a cool attitude, not warm and welcoming. But maybe they were overwhelmed by our large-ish group. The Bell Captain recognised us and welcomed us with warm greetings and firm handshakes.
An OK hotel to stay, especially if you just need a place to crash for the night. It is close to loads of local food, a Shell station, 7-Eleven, a mid-sized supermarket, and massages. It's also a stone's throw from Mid Valley Mega-Mall and the higher-end The Gardens Mall. From here, it'll be easier to reach KLCC and Bukit Bintang shopping and Petaling Street night market.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Decent hotel close to TPM. I think this is the only 3 star hotel in the vicinity. Most of the other hotels are in KL Central. Though the only problem i had was there was no internet connectivity in the room. Free wireless internet was avialable in the lobby. There is lots of good eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santosh_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed a total of 3 nights at the Hotel Sri Petaling recently and found it to be a very solid, comfortable business hotel.

Hotel Sri Petaling's outside presentation is fine, a large building but a bit old perhaps. The immediate neighborhood has some simple restaurants, convenience stores and some cafes. The hotel's lobby and restarant are satisfactory, but my room was surprisingly clean, modern and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. The television was an older model with only 9-10 channels, with no international programming. The bathroom was spacious and clean, but the tiles were a bit old. Everything worked just fine, though.

The two largest disadvantages are the hotel's location (not so close to downtown) and the lack of wireless internet in the rooms. (Of course, in fairness, the location can also be advantage for some people.) There is free wireless high-speed internet available in the lobby and in the restaurant, but it's really disappointing to not have it available in the rooms.

I would happily stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global_Matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Yes, I agreed with the 2 most recent reviewers. Sri Petaling has just undergone a facelift so some of the poor reviews prior to the renovations are no longer a problem. We stayed here for a night on transit to another place. It was a surprise to me how large this hotel is. The hotel block looks more like a shopping centre building. The room is new, bedding comfortable but the furnishing is very basic; eg no safe deposit box. Parking is in the basement and is free upon validation by the front counter. Our stay did not include breakfast but this is not a problem at all, as food is in abundance around the hotels as there are lots and lots of restaurants. Price-wise, it is quite reasonable considering the recent renovations. However, plse note that the hotel is still probably a high 3* or low 4*.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Member88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I am staying here for a week and will be continue staying here for the next 3 weeks. The hotel has changed. The room is totally brand new. Comfy bed and pillow. New carpet. No bad smell or whatsoever. The bathroom is good. It has hot shower. The best part is the toilet is equipped with water hose. Easier for Muslim patrons.

The tv is small. No cable. Only local channels and Vision Four. No wifi in room, only paid one in lobby. The room is cleaned by the housekeeping everyday and they did excellent job. Newspaper is sent to room every morning.

Breakfast is good, suitable for a 3 star hotel. There are many restaurants walking distance from the hotel. KFC and Pizza Hut are only about 30 steps away from the lobby. There are also many chinese restaurants around. Few malay stalls. There's a tomyam restaurant at the corner, a delicious nasi lemak stall opposite the road and burger stall in front of 7-11.

Location wise is excellent. Not far from city centre. There's a mall bout 3 minutes away from the hotel. Getting a taxi is not a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherrinaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

The rooms were quite clean. They have just renovated the hotel. Rates were quite reasonable with quite a good breakfast spread included. Drawback was that there was no broadband connections and satellite tv. Front office staff could be more friendly especially the Chinese lady.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Orange Hotel Sri Petaling
Orange Hotel Sri Petaling
#191 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#125 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
23 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pearl Kuala Lumpur
The Pearl Kuala Lumpur
#100 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
de Elements Business Hotel
de Elements Business Hotel
#150 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel MinCott
Hotel MinCott
#176 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palace of the Golden Horses
Palace of the Golden Horses
#1 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sri Petaling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sri Petaling

Address: Hotel Seri Petaling 30 Jalan Radin Anum | Bandar Baru Sri Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 57000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $38 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sri Petaling 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sri Petaling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Petaling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing