We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, can't adjust the temperature in your own room”
Review of Hotel China Town 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel China Town 2
Ranked #199 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is just 10 minutes away from the LRT station of Pasar Seni, many famous old buildings are within walking distance, such as KL railway station, Masjid Jamek, Merdeka Square, Sultan Abdul Samad building ect. And many restaurants around.

If you pay by credit card, the holtel will charge additional 2% for bank tax, it's a bad experience about that.

In addition, the wall contral of the airconditioner was not in your room, you have the go to the reception for help if you want to adjust the temperature. No matter you are in or out of the room, the aircondioner is on, which will waste much of the electricity energy, it's not good for the enviroment.

Room Tip: If you want a window room, you'd better check with the hotel before your booking.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Hotel China Town 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 357 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Located bang in the middle of Chinatown we paid £19 for a double room with private bathroom. No window, but for one night it was fine.

The electrics in the room seemed a little sparky so we avoided the plug sockets, but in general it was clean and comfortable.

No safety deposit boxes available when we stayed. Front of house were a little surly, but not a reason not to stay.

Good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel prices in Kuala Lumper are higher than in other places of southeast asia, however you can find good prices at china town. China town 2, situated in the center of kuala lumpur china town is a nice budget hotel, the cheaper rooms dont have a windows and are really small, you pay for what you get. The hotel itself is very well located, just a few blocks away from the sky train and in a very turistic place, its really easy to get from there to Petronas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Some people have very high expectations of most buget hotels in S.E.Asia. For the price this hotel is great value, window rooms are available, and the windows do open. you just have to ask. While in KL we didn't spend much time in the room so the room size does'nt really matter, does it?
Great counter staff, very helpful. Well located in the middle of China Town. We caught the Chinatown bus from the airport and got off at the 2nd (last) stop then walked, it was about $3.00 each for the 70 minute trip!. Late check out is available, we paid about $US1.50 per hour after midday, so we checked out at 7pm and caught a midnight flight home, that gave us an extra shower then straight to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a window if you need one
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnBurrillLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have pre-booked this room due to my late arrival in Kuala Lumpur.
It was a cheap room and that is really also how it looked like. The room had no windows, it did have an AC, but it did not work very well, and the entire room had a light smell of Fungus.

There was WIFI in the guesthouse, which worked well and was pretty fast.

In the lobby there is a massage chair, which is awesome. Its free and after carrying the backpack its nice to sit down there and relax.
The location is fine, in the middle of the night market an everything is in walking distance, also the main bus terminal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySunnyDays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We started our trip to KL here, we wanted to stay in the thick of China Town. We only stayed one night but found nothing wrong with the place. Room was small but had king bed and en suite (NO windows). No strange smell! trust me you learn to treasure this as you continue traveling!

Fantastic location!! and theres even a bar next door!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd level, King Room had no windows.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missdrum_atic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Thought this place was good value. Have traveled all over Asia the last 20 or so years and can now afford not to totally rough it! Clean, cool and quiet. Hot water, air con, daily room service if you like, cold drinking water and free wi fi is all good. Cheerful helpful staff. Just don't get caught in rain at 3inches per minute trying to find the place as when the markets come out its well concealed! if you have got a bit older and traded your back pack for a suitcase on wheels they dont traverse quite as well in the monsoons!!!

Room Tip: out the back next to the 'day' markets, with a window.. though its air con and doesn't r...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#110 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
#155 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#86 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ann Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ann Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#250 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hote123
Hote123
#154 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neotel Hotels Kuala Lumpur
Neotel Hotels Kuala Lumpur
#242 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel China Town 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel China Town 2

Address: 70-72 Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $14 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel China Town 2 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel China Town 2 is 60 rooms budget Hotel located in the heart of Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur. It offers International standard accommodation at very affordable rates. Our rooms are simple yet comfortable and clean with air-conditioning, attached bathroom with hot/cold shower,DVD/Satellite TV and Internet/wifi access. Our main door opens right into the famous Petaling Street night market.Here you can find many lively shops and eateries.This location is perfect for your needs while you travel in KL.Hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel China Town 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing