We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor service”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #77 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose this hotel for location, close to Bukit Bintang shopping malls and Jalan Alor food. The hotel has only been opened six months and is very good value. We had a deluxe room. The bed was firm but comfortable and furniture adequate, with a large TV screen. Tiling in the spacious bathroom was immaculate! The room boy looked after us well with soap, shampoo, tea, coffee and two bottles of drinking water a day. However, we came to KL to meet friends. They were staying at another hotel and we were unable to call them from our room. I put RMY50 on the account the first day and, although the desk clerk said the line was open, it did not connect. After many attempts, I went to the desk and used the office phone to ask our friends to call us. Two days later, the "Manager" said I had to put another RMY50. The phone still didn't work. They sent a man to check it. He picked it up and said "It's working!" The fridge was not very cold and had spilled juice from before and not cleaned. Also, the carpet was not vacuum cleaned in 15 days. Expecting a call from Australia, I asked 3 times and was told "no message." Back in Australia, my friend said he left a message! I would still recommend this hotel, but the staff were not helpful and need training.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank magnet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROHOTELKL, General Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Metro Hotel Kuala Lumpur

It is with regret to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay here with us.
An investigation will be conducted to ascertain the situation and actions will be taken to improvise the areas mentioned.

Please do accept our sincere apology for the incident.

Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. It is comments such as yours that will assist us in our efforts to further improve our service.

Looking forward to hearing from you and to be of service to you again in the future.

Thank you.
N Surendran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    201
    103
    20
    16
See reviews for
108
133
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I along with my wife visited Kuala Lumpur in March 2014 and stayed in Metro hotel Bukit Bintang for two nights.
The newly built property is centrally located, is clean n neat. But the service is a big Negative. Breakfast was very much limited, furniture there was just like of a road side Dhaba. The amenities in bath room were a casualty. Also the room had tea pot but only one sachet each of sugar and tea leaves was made available for two of us, we eventually have to buy from the local market. Same was the case for drinking water, no second Boyle was supplied in case you are feeling thrusty you have to pay for the additional water bottle. I would certainly not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DUREJABK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
METROHOTELKL, General Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Metro Hotel Kuala Lumpur

It is with regret to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay here with us.
An investigation will be conducted to ascertain the situation and actions will be taken to improvise the areas mentioned.

Please do accept our sincere apology for the incident.

Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. It is comments such as yours that will assist us in our efforts to further improve our service.

Looking forward to hearing from you and to be of service to you again in the future.

Thank you.
N Surendran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked for family room which have 2 king beds. Room are really nice n very clean. Bed sheets really tidy and clean. Bed also really comfort to sleep in. Rooms are spacious. Bathroom also cleaned. As I know the hotel is quite a new opened hotel.

The only matter is the lack of amenities for the bathroom. We stay in family room but we only got 1 set of soap, shampoo, toothbrush. We asked for reception but no response. We called again and again then 20mins they gave us the amenities but yeah.. they give us 1set only.

But overall besides the amenities issued we really love to stay here since in kuala lumpur its hard to find a clean n comfort hotel with an affordable price.

Oh yes, just for info.. besides the hotel there is a 24hr opened restaurant. Their food is delish..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I went to Kuala Lumpur in June,2014 and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. Very great location. You will find Berjaya mall across the street (very big mall with 12 cinema screen, many shops and resturants and nice musical stairs) and Imbi monorail station. 5 min walk you will find at least 6 malls (imbi, BBplaza, sungei wang, Lot10, Pavilion and Low Yat). It's 3 min walk from the famous street Bukit Bintang. Room was very comfortable and clean with safe box and big TV. The only drawback is the breakfast (mainly local cuisine which i don't like so much).....but as a whole, very great value for your money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a new hotel in a great location in Bukit Bintang. Close to lots of restaurants (Jalan Alor), shopping (Berjaya Times Square) and sightseeing (Twin Towers, etc). The room was nice, not too big but very comfortable. Biggest negative is probably the limited breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_dR_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights in kuala lumpur and leave with a good experience. On arrival at the hotel, I was impressed because location of the hotel is easily reachable. You will have many options for public transportation in this area. IMBI station is the nearest monorail station and can be reached by 3 minutes walking. Right across from the hotel is one of the biggest mall in kuala lumpur i.e. Berjaya Times Square. To get to Bukit Bintang, one of the interesting place in kuala lumpur, you just simply take the monorail from the IMBI station and stop at the next station (Bukit Bintang). In Bukit Bintang you will find some of the shopping centers in kuala lumpur, alor street, and various places to eat. Standard room in this hotel is quite spacious and cleanliness of the rooms is very obvious. The staff will make up the room daily without any order.

Room Tip: You may consider to have room on the highest floor, due to the hotel located on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosuasihotang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three days and luckily we find it convenient. The hotel has a huge room , clean and good facilities. There is also a Filipina staff whom we can approach with. The location is near Berjaya Times Square, a 20 minute walk to KWC mall and Central Market. Every thing is just around the hotel. It is relatively new and I hope that management would maintain the hotel. keep it up, Metro Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#93 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#85 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#74 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ceria Hotel
Ceria Hotel
#69 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simms Boutique Hotel
Simms Boutique Hotel
#139 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Property: Metro Hotel
Address: No. 208 Jalan Imbi | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Bukit Bintang, Metro Hotel Bukit Bintang is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Kuala Lumpur. The city center is merely 0.5 km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. Also within easy reach are Old Asia, Tung Shin Hospital, Sun Complex.Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Kuala Lumpur hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing