We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget place if you are not looking to pamper yourself.”
Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cititel Express
Ranked #253 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hi, lets be honest...which place in KL offers you view of the twin towers, breakfast and a room with tv, clean toilet, shower & car park in the centre of the city for less than 50SGD? This place does..there is also an in house massage/foot reflex service which we tried and found to be okay....although they charged a bit more when we paid using Sing dollar :(.

However, the best part is the view of the Twin towers, clean room & price...period.
Few minutes walk from Sogo...a mega mall...Little India is a further few mins away. Lots of convenience stores, money changers & food places nearby.

Here is the catch...since the hotel is next to the wet market....do not open the windows of your room in case you are staying in a room with a view of the towers...the smell can be very strong at times. This probably explains the very very reasonable price they charge :)
We stayed here for 1 night since we wanted to rest a bit before returning to SG from the highlands.

Room Tip: ask for a room on high floor >8 with view of twin towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Value customer

Thank you for your comment in trip advisor. For your info you can get a free transport 'Go KL' to go to Sogo & Masjid Jamid. The bas stop is just beside our hotel only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel is a bit old and jaded. Advantage is its location; very close to Chow Kit monorail station and some good Indian restaurants. Rooms are small but relatively clean. Breakfast is good. I like the coffee here served with fresh bread and kaya. Biggest disadvantage is the lack of English knowledge. Nobody understands or speaks English. All channels in the room tv are either Malay or Chinese. If you want a budget stay for 1-2 nights, this hotel is ok for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSDhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear RS Dhar

Thank you on your comment in the tripadvisor.
We do appreciate your comment and will highlight to the department concern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I ask for queen bed but give 2 single bed,the staff was unfriendly at all.i have to check in late becouse of my fight the staf dont even helf us with our bag.the key card have to try over and over again.not a family friendly to stay.to much noise in the middle of night.i can hear people running in the hallway.i highly not recomended any parent with chlid too stay here.the glass on the table can be move and can hurt your chlid.in the picture the room was with carpet but when i get in.it was tiles! Never stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Izzatulaini1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear izzatulaini1811

Thank you for your comment in tripadvisor

Firstly your booking is for the standard room all our standard room without carpet and there is no queen bed for your standard room. However if you request for a carpet room and queen bed we do have it at the superior room type.

Secondly all guest must used the key card to go to the floor. Should there be any disturbance guest can always informed our reception on the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Come and stay there with group from Office last October. The hotel was nice and clean enough. I was stayed at family room, but not Petronas Tower view. The room was big, including the bathroom and more spaces to put our luggage. It has it all, hairdryer, stock of mineral water, tea & coffee everyday.

Peak at friends room to look Petronas Tower from the distance at night and its so pretty. Better if you want to stay here, look for the windows with Petronas view instead.

The breakfast might become a little problem. Even there're plenty of choices, but tasteless. Luckily, there's a 7 Eleven next block.

If you want to take a bus, walk a bit to the shelter and just jump into the bus. Otherwise, use the Monorail, Chow Kit station. Just walk within 5-10 minutes, you can go everywhere. If you love Chane Bread, there's a stall before the station. Taste good and cheap too.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Twin Tower View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimplyVeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Value Customer

thank you for your comment in the tripadvisor .We will take not of your comment.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is alright for the cost, but I would advise that you spend most of your time out. It is located in KL but the street it is on seems to be low class. Our room window had a view of the petronas towers which was nice but it also had a view of these Muslim slums. We knew the slums were Muslim because early every morning we could hear them praying since they used a megaphone.
When we first arrived our bathroom smelled like old urine. We told the front desk about it and the next day the smell was gone. The shower in our bathroom leaked a lot so you had to aim the shower head towards the wall so water would not get on the bathroom floor.
The safe in our room had low battery and we had to call the front desk 3 times before they sent someone to put new batteries in it. I think it took so long because we called late at night.
The breakfast had a pretty wide range of foods and everything was kept in stock. Overall I liked their breakfast.
Almost all of our interactions with the staff was positive. They were helpful and attentive when you spoke to them in person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheIIe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear value customer

Thank you for your time in writing your comment in trip advisor.
We will take not of any comment you highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Likes
-Hotel is a budget buy
-Close to chow kit monorail
-Staff was very friendly especially the guy at the information desk. Always helpful whenever I needed help to get to a place in KL
-Room was good except for the leaking from the roof on my last day
-Liked how you needed your card to use the elevator
-very close to the twin towers
-wifi was free
Dislikes
-breakfast needed much improvement. Didn't like that only 1 dish was different everyday. Veggie dishes didn't change what so ever. Taste was bad. There was also flies on the fruit. It would be recommended to eat out for breakfast.
-there was a weird smell when entering the hotel
-there was only 11 channels on TV. For ppl who don't speak the local language there was only 1 or 2 English channels

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Value Customer

Thank you for your comment in trip advisor.
For the breakfast we will highlight to our chef for varieties in the vegetable section .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hi, I stayed here with friends. Hotel is really worst. Location is good only 1 plus point to stay. Breakfast very poor, smelly and only for local people. There is option for Vegetarian. Lobby has no siting arrangements if you have to wait for your guide or if u arrive early before check in time and you have to wait for your room. No free wi-fi. They gave me small room which do not have window or balcony. Its just like BOX. Bathroom is terrible. There are big cracks in wall. Very old furniture. Hotel needs full renovation. Never stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viraj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Viraj 2012

Thank you for your comment in tripadvisor.

Kindly note that we do provide sitting area at the lobby; we do have 3 long and 2 square leather sit sofa located in the lobby area.

Our Wi-Fi is free starting from Jan 2014.

Our hotel do have various rooms type customer do have a choice ranging from standard non window room to Deluxe Quad sharing depending on their budget and for your info most of the traveller would prefer superior and above due to the big room and better view and room have been upgraded.

In future we would like to recommend our newly upgraded deluxe 4person to a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#114 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#71 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#31 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#58 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
WP Hotel
WP Hotel
#57 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Address: Cititel Express No. 449 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $44 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing