We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”
Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cititel Express
Ranked #253 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, clean, large room. Breakfast more asian than western. We were the only westerners staying here but staff were very helpful. Walking distance to mono rail so easy to access all tourist spots. Night market over the road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VICKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you Vicki B for taking time to comment in the tripadvisor.
We will take note on your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Me & my family simply love the room..big & clean. Good location for shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanzalahFatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Hanzalah Fatin

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for your comment in trip advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Nice hotel at a good market place with street food and local shopping area.Good spacious room with good breakfast and lobby. Local shopping is nearby. Do not open windows, (the smell is bad). Although the slum is nearby it is safe if you keep your windows closed. Beware careful while shopping, avoid wearing too much of jewellery when going for shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Twin towers gives a good view, but do not open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavethra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Dear Pavethra

Thank you on behalf of the management and the staff of Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur for choosing and staying with us and give a very valuable comments on the trip advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I read other reviews which stated how the rooms are bad and service is horrible. But what I experienced were all the opposite. I'm quite regular here, I came here almost every month and always booked online, which is very2 valuable. The rooms are small, but clean. The staffs are friendly, always smiling and they are flexible when guests came to check in earlier than 2pm. I always remember a staff name RASUL who is very quiet but his smile is really welcoming. I saw no matter how fussy the guests are, he would just smile and complete his job. Same goes with other staffs. Fast check in, friendly (and patient) staffs, value for money. The location outside is quite dangerous, I agree. But its not the hotel's fault. Just be careful when you're shopping outside. Overall, I will always come back to Cititel Express, plus it is very close to my meeting office.

Room Tip: if you opt to have a queen bed room, go for superior upwards. standard rooms are mostly twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faizin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Value Customer

Greeting from Cititel Express KL

We are delighted that you had opted to stay with us despite the negative comments.
We are glad that you found the service and the quality of the hotel to be acceptable.

Once again, management genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow.
We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

You'll either love it or hate it!

Horrible, dirty & noisy location.
Rooms are adequately clean.
More can be done to make it better.
Staffs are unfriendly.

Room Tip: Go here if it's really cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for taking time in tripadvisor,We surely regret to be hearing your comments on our staff which we certainly will take the necessary action to improve our staff performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

no matter how much is the tariff, staff should be smiling. that is one of the many things cititel lacked. windows cant be opened. hotel staff cleaned my room without me hanging the tag outside. there is slum on the other side. ac is central. not working upto mark. no service for that. though u get a good view of twin towers (1* for that). and location is nice. 5 min walk to monorail station (2* for that). overall okish. try maytower instead. heard its nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pank1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for taking time in tripadvisor

Regret to know that ,services provided to you was not satifactory thru out your stay.

We hope this shortcoming will not place us in your disfavor.

Lastly Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience cause

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Warning !!! This hotel is nice but the location is dangerous and not good. Becarefull !!! There is a man down the street just outside the hotel who pretends to be a tourist police he is in white shirt and black trouser and shows a fake ID card and he checks all your wallets and bags and somehow he manages to steal your money without being noticed. I and my wife were walking down the street in front of the hotel on our first day of the trip and we were going to the nearby pizza hut where we were stopped by a man and showed us some card very quickly and kept it inside and told us he is tourist police and he asked us for our ID and then he said how much money you have and then he checked my wallet and my wife’s bag and he was asking if you have dollar as people bring fake dollar here, then I told him I just have Ringgits but I didn’t tell that Idiot that how much I had I just told I have little as I don’t carry all money with me and I keep all money at hotel, so then he said show me and he took it and started counting done he gave us the money back (but he actually stole 600RM out of that) and he said don’t roam on this road alone at night as its very dangerous and he said what chain are you wearing is it gold and he said keep it inside and don’t wear as people would cut neck here and take the chain and he said an asian was killed 3 days back here. Then when he saw other people he went away and he was asking us to come in dark

We asked about him from Pizza hut staff and they confirmed he was fake and they also told us don’t roam here at night as its dangerous.

I would definitely advise everyone to be very careful of choosing a place and area to stay as I found other areas also not safe.

Hotel was good and and restaurant inside the hotel is good although there are some points suc as the AC duck was not fixed and it was kept down, there was a lizard which we found and asked the house keeping to take it off and there was a stain on the bed like a blood or a woman’s period stain which we noticed when the room service came and removed the mattress and they ignored it until we asked them to replace it.

So pls be careful of cheater and fake police and if you find them ask them to show ID clearly and never allow them to touch your wallet as they somehow manage to steal the money without being notice and never tell them how much you have just pretend to have less money.

Room Tip: Ignore this hotel as the area is very dangerous and its scary at night as you wont find any person o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BIG-Y123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#114 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#71 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#31 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#58 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
WP Hotel
WP Hotel
#57 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Address: Cititel Express No. 449 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $44 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing