We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean cozy room, with relatively nice view”
Review of Cititel Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cititel Express
Ranked #255 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Went with a group of 4 friends last December, and to our surprise, the room was not as bad as what we thought it would be! THough it was kind of small, but the cleaniness made up for it all. Bathroom facilities were all in working condition, and the window was facing the petronas tower! It was a pleasant experience. Worth your money, guys!

With regards to the front desk service, although they are helpful and cheerful, but sometimes, they may give the wrong information, especially on bus services and routes around the place. So it will be a great idea, if you could check out on the routes beforehand, to prevent any misunderstandings.
Oh yes, when you book online, although there is a function that states any special request, i am not so sure if you could just take it with a pinch of salt. We requested higher floors with regards to our rooms, but they gave us the fourth floor, and also they gave us a room within smoking area, which we really cannot take it.
Nonetheless, in this coming Jan 2012, I will be heading down to Cititel express once again, with my family as the overall experience was great, and i introduced this to my family. I sincerely hope that we are able to get high floor, with strictly no smoking room though! And hopefully, it will be a better experience for us! ;)

Room Tip: Choose a room with high floor Non-smoking area
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kappire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Value guest

Thank you for your comment.

Pls do email me at ho.saleskul@cititelexpress.com or fokul@cititelexpress.com once you have made your booking for your trip on Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Cititel Express
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 228 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel has decent rooms at a good value. But the surrounding area is not the ideal location for tourists. Hotels near the Petronas Towers or Butik Bintang Area are ideal choices for tourists.

The buffet breakfast was chaotic as we ran into bus tours rushing to have breakfast before commencing their tours. All hot and cold items were run out and the staff was not able to replenish in time. Since we stayed only one night, we did not get chance for redemption.

The concierge desk was very useful in giving us directions as well as arranging our transportations.

In short, good value but with limitations.

No free wifi in rooms or lobby. Only one computer that can be used by guests in lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRPMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear MRP Mumbai
Thank you for taking your time to review our property we appreciate your comment for us to impove ourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I went to Malaysia with family and stayed in this hotel in Kuala Lumpur. It's located in Chow Kit area, a suburb in KL where many Malayans gather in the area. We took taxi from the airport and we arrive there in about an hour. Aww… the first time I saw the hotel, it didn’t give a very good impression. The hotel was surrounded by the wet market along the street. I didn’t expect at all that the hotel is ACTUALLY in the middle of the wet market.

The room has basic facilities, such as twin beds, shower, big window, and TV. In fact, the room was quite comfortable with spacious bathroom, but we didn’t have good quality of sleep for 3 nights. We stayed in the third floor with the room facing the street and it the street was very crowded with vehicles from afternoon till night. To make things worse, the wet market was still opened from night until morning . I guess it’s because that time was Moslem New Year. We could hear loud noise from speakers which the sellers promoted their items, from night until dawn! I could barely sleep and wished to move to another room. Unfortunately the hotel staff said there was no room available at that moment. So, for 3 nights I and my family tried to adapt with the noise to get some sleep.

It was a terrible experience, because I never stay in such a noisy hotel. The good things about the hotel is that it’s close to monorail station (about 5 minutes walk) and you could find many street foods in the market. It’s just hard to walk along the street as the pedestrian walk was full with the stalls. Maybe next time I would choose another hotel closer to city center where we can sleep well at night.

Room Tip: Always ask for room in higher floor and not facing the street to avoid
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

We regret to hear that your stay with us had not been a pleasant one.This is due to the Ramadhan Month.And If there is anything we can do to make your future stay enjoyable,kindly let us know. Should you wish to contact me directly to further discuss this matter,please feel free to email me ho.saleskul@cititelexpress.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

everytime we visit KL, no doubt, we stay here. The location is not that bad. Well if you live the life of the rich and famous don't stay here. but money wise, it's perfect! The surroundings of the hotel is full of markets, yeah sometimes, it smells but not that awful. The sidewalks is muddy? yeah, if it is raining. find any sidewalks that is clean after the rain? any?

If you really want to experience the typical life of malays, you can see it here. it's near the chowkit wet market, where every night i buy satay ayam, delicious!!! and it's much cheaper compared to Jalan Alor.

UO Supermarket is also very near. You can buy anything there. Specially when you forgot something to bring, you can find it there. Also price is much cheaper compared to giant in sungei wang.

If you want to go to chinatown, few steps away and the buses are there.

Now the hotel already have water dispenser, so you will save money in buying water. If you have any inquiry or need directions, ask Mr. Ramzi, he is very much willing to help.

Lastly that I love in this hotel, they always grant our request, room with petronas view! spectacular!!!

See you again in November!!!

Room Tip: higher floors with petronas view
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apple_dapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Value Guest

Greeting from Cititelexpress Kuala Lumpur

Thank you for your comment in the trip advisor.

We look forward to see you in November

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I was seriously scared of the woman at check-in. She was fast and efficient, sure, but I did not feel any sense of welcome at all. It was like, 'you're here, so what'. My friends felt the same way too.

The hotel is a reasonable walk away from the Chow Kit Monorail, although be aware that this is not a fancy neighborhood. The sidewalks to the hotel have been taken over by street markets, selling stuff from used clothing, to fruits, to pirated DVDs and flowers. It rained quite a few times while we were there, so the walk to the hotel from the Monorail was a challenge. There was hardly any space for pedestrians, there were lots of people who were shopping, and muddy, wet floor.

Back to the hotel. Cititel KL is everything you can expect for its price. It's clean, it has a good location, and the breakfast buffet average. I was looking for something that would set it apart, and sadly I didn't find it.

The only thing that sells this hotel for me, is the view of the Petronas. Make sure to ask for a room with this view, it's nice to wake up in the middle of the night seeing the lit towers. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Petronas, they granted our request!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Value guest

Thank you for your comment in the trip advisor.

We value your comments for you and or any other guests on the next stay to better serve our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The worst thing about the hotel is its location - just in the center of the night market Chow Kit. You have to make all way from the monorail/bus station to your hotel and back (2-4 times a day) through numerous stalls with clothes, food etc. full of people. The entrance of the hotel is easy to miss among all these stalls. The street is very dirty. Because of the market it is also very noisy, sometimes you can hear the music till 2 am.
However, the hotel is very reasonably priced and there is all you need for budget stay in Kuala Lumpur for 2-3 days. The rooms are clean, with a good air conditioning, quite large, good bathroom. The staff is friendly. Be careful, despite their good attitude they are not always competent and sometimes give wrong information (about the bus schedule and so on), so, double check!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceCatherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear value guest

Thank you for your comment in the trip advisor

We value your comments for you and or any other guests on the next stay to better serve our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The best part of this hotel is the view .. We got to our room on the 15 floor and got the best view of the Petronas tower and the building around my 1 year old son refused to move out of the window in the evening cos the lights fascinated him

Their rooms are a little run down with the paint peeling and the furniture's a little old, their breakfast is decent but do not eat any of your meals there we made that mistake once.. The staff are very very pleasant and the guys at the travel and bell desk are the sweetest, i was standing outside waiting for a taxi and one of them actually ran down the road to get me one.

we were there during Ramadhan and the roads were blocked with stalls selling everything possible was quite painful cos we just got stuck in long traffic jams.. the area may not be the best in KL but its def the most convenient.

overall we were there for 4 nights and i thought it was value for what we paid.

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floors
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyw936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEKL, Manager at Cititel Express, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear value guest

Thank you for your comment in the trip advisor

We value your comments for you and or any other guests on the next stay to better serve our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
3.5 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#69 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#184 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#94 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#141 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express

Address: Cititel Express No. 449 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $51 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity at its best, Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur is strategically located in the "old-world" charm of Kuala Lumpur along the scenic and quaintessence of Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Offering 244 guestrooms with 6 room types to choose; Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur provides all our guestrooms with essential room amenities at a great value. Within the 10-minute radius of the commercial districts, financial institutions, government offices, local eateries, entertainment areas, international exhibition centres, as well as major tourist sites; it is also conveniently located along the ring of public transportation. Our own restaurant (The Terrace) which opens daily serving local varieties as well as western cuisine offers our guests the best view on the daily lives of the people along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Our Nasi Lemak (rice cooked with coconut milk) which served along with hot & spicy sambal plus other condiments is our best local signature dish. Try out our other local dishes such as Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice), Mee Goreng Mamak (Fried Noodles) or any other dishes that are simply mouthwatering. Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur - Smart, Clean, Simple a hotel that promise to deliver our guests a refreshingly simple yet clean and comfortable accommodation which one would agree to say : GREAT VALUE BOOK NOW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing