We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #109 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay. We were first time visitors to KL and found the location ideal to walk to various sights. The hotel provide a free leaflet 'A walking tour of Kuala Lumpur' with a map showing 13 things to see which are all close to the hotel. The Chinese market is only about 200m away and then it's only a short walk to the Central Market (crafts). We felt perfectly safe wandering round.
The hotel itself is a good budget hotel for the price of a standard room. The staff were friendly, the restaurant OK and there is a tour desk in the foyer. The rooms were adequate, but our bathroom was not brilliant, but it had a bath and shower. We were on the top floor and had good views over the city towards Merdeka Square. Some rooms have good views of the Petronas Towers.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    279
    183
    52
    47
See reviews for
113
178
51
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A good location! Walking distance to Petaling Street where you can shop a lot of cheap goods over there (don't forget to bargain). It is also near to the LRT station (Plaza Rakyat), walking distance 10-15 minutes. Opposite there is a Mydin shop where you can buy things at a wholesale price. A&W and subway around the area. Buffet breakfast was alright and the service is good! Reasonable price with perfect location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblynad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was there with my 6 other family members (All adults) from 16/11 - 18/11 staying in their Superior room 1210, 1212 and 1213 since their Deluxe was sold out from Asiaweb. It was a great stay here despite a few hiccups along the way.

Not so good thing first.

1) We drove there in a Toyota Picnic (7-seater) and i must warn anyone who is still an inexperienced driver or has a huge vehicle to take other alternative transportation. The road to and in their carpark is so narrow! Yet, the cars are parked everywhere that's possible, making the road even narrower! It was nervewrecking. So do reconsider about driving or parking here though the parking is complimentary if you are a in-house guest.


2) Upon going into our respective rooms, we found a few defects:
- 1210: It is a corner room, no bathtubs when the rest has it, Elsafe locked and the phone was down.
- 1211: Elsafe was locked, otherwise it's perfect!
- 1213: There was a slight slump in the double bed (but still functional). Shower tap is damaged so the engineer came and repair the shower tap when we are out but they did not clean up their mess throughly. Otherwise, all the defects was attended to promptly! :)

3) There is only 2 guest lifts to serve 14 floors which can get a little bit inconvenient at times especially during the breakfast hours. Breakfast was great for a short stay since there wasn't much changes in the food.

Now for the GREAT THINGS :D

1) Check-in was fast, the bellman approached us to help us with our luggage which was great!

2) Although the website that we booked the room from states that additional bed was not allowed, but we still requested for an additional bed from the front desk because there is enough space for one additional bed. The additional bed with breakfast cost RM77 which is very affordable. The bed was speedily delivered together with the amenities. Impressive!

3) We were there to celebrate a birthday and i am TOTALLY impressed with the speed of services that was provided by Ariff who was at the front desk. He listened attentively to all my request and managed to reserve a Marble Cheesecake with wordings and my surprise plan settled within minutes and had it sent up at night after we are done with the day's activites.

4) They have the standard Green Initiatives which i totally appreciate.

5) Perfect location for anyone! Chinatown is just round the corner and you can make use of their free shuttle which brings you to other place such as Bukit Bintang and KLCC which is also accessible via the train.

6) Free wifi for all in-house guest! Connection is stable enough for simple web surfing.

The whole experience at Ancasa was great and i would recommend the hotel to my friends if they are touring Chinatown area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms is literally like an oven and does not have bathtub, so ask for a change if you can! Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lianli1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
225 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Smack in the center of chinatown zone, Ancasa probably the best thing going in this neighborhood when it was built, fitted out bland and traditional. A little old now, but still a safe choice for mid-budget touristing. Corner room with multiple big windows in back of the building overlooking a school athletic field, some noise from that and the monorail train. Light-blocking curtains would have been nice, but otherwise an ok enough room for the price. For a short-stay if you want to be in chinatown,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room is comfortable but bathroom a bit small for my side:)
Free WIFI but connection sometimes slow.
This is my 3rd visit to ancasa hotel, overall service is great and staff are friendly and i am sure coming back....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed in Kuala Lumpur a lot and this is a great value hotel. While it is not brand new, it is large and friendly. The breakfast is good. The room service is prompt and the staff always helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 691Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went to Ancasa again for what might be my 3rd or 4th stay. We usually stayed in the superior room. This time we had to take the deluxe room as the place was fully booked. We have been opting for other hotels since our last stay as the place was starting to look tired and nobody seems to have bothered to fix it. We went back to Ancasa as it's walking distance to Chinatown and this was somewhat important to my parents who were coming along.

When enquired what a deluxe room had that a superior room didnt have, I was told that it had a bath tub. Surely, for RM100 more they were giving just a bath tub? Brushed it off as the receptionist not being able to articulate well in English. Boy was I wrong. Yep, a Superior Room costs RM218 and a Deluxe Room costs RM328 and the only difference is a bath tub. Well, there was a clearer view of some slum-like area but that was about it.

The bed was far from comfortable, the room was cramped, the shower water was COLD, the bathroom was tiny. Mould and mildew everywhere in the bathroom, room carpet had a damp smell, tv cabinet doors were hanging on its hinge... the list goes on.

Whatever the price Ancasa has in the future, we're never returning. The proximity to Chinatown is something we will learn to work around.

Pros:
1. Friendly staff
2. Neat lobby
3. Good location (near chinatown)
4. No need for credit card to make a reservation
5. Allows for cancellation till the day itself

Cons:
1. Lousy room
2. Lousy bathroom
3. No hot water
4. No in room wifi, lobby only
5. Smells
6. Uncomfortable mattress
7. Overpriced

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AhHuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
AnCasa Express @ Pudu
AnCasa Express @ Pudu
#235 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 5 Elements Hotel
The 5 Elements Hotel
#123 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#53 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#85 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#60 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, PO Box 12700, Kuala Lumpur 50786, Malaysia (Formerly Impiana Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancasa Kuala Lumpur
Impiana Hotel
Kuala Lumpur Ancasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing