We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You no buy...you no ask how much”

Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Small-Group Food Trail Walking Tour in Kuala Lumpur
More Info
$62.30*
and up
Kuala Lumpur By Night Tour
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Kuala Lumpur Heritage Walk
Ranked #36 of 286 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sample mouthwatering dumplings, then revel in the shopping fervor and bag a bargain at the lively Petaling Street Market.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You no buy...you no ask how much”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I love to visit this place since my childhood till now until recently there a lot of prostitute roaming around the streets. My daughters are asking me what are the doing? And i cannot answer. The vendors taking care of the little shops or booth are mostly foreign workers. It has lost the heritage touch. The fun of bargaining is gone cause now you no buy...you no ask how much. If not they will curse you till kingdom come.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie2asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    2,335
    2,167
    673
    306
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne AU
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Colourful. Fun.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There are a lot of posts about how bad chinatown is for it's pushy sales techniques, fake watches and pirated dvd's. Have these people never been to Asia before??

Chinatown is full of life. It's noisy, crowded, interesting, colourful. Some buildings are interesting, others are run down. There are lots of bargains to be bought and it's easy to avoid the fakes - i just said "no thank you" (in English). Well worth a visit while in KL.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gwerdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must-see”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

No Trip to KL is complete without a trip to chinatown. (petaling street) If you seriously want to shop for fake bags, t-shirts etc. then go during the day - the locals have a superstition that the first sale of the day has to be a good one for the rest of the days sales to be good. You can sometimes manage to haggle prices down to about 30- 50%. act uninterested, say the price you want to pay and walk away if they dont say ok. 90% of the time they will call you back. (and if they dont go to the next booth that sells the exact same thing). If you do this with a smile you will get great bargains. Be aware that in some countries it is illegal to bring in fake goods such as hand bags (for example france). If you just want to go for the experience, go at night and have dinner at one of the stalls. Great cheap food! Its a good place to buy good quality local fruits as well. (try the mangosteen - if you havent before you will never forget it! Peel off the thick black shell) Drop by central market (crafts market) which is in walking distance as well for a complete experience. Dont fall for the trap of buying fake DVDs unless they can show you the quality on a TV first. Most of the time they are filmed in a movie theater or the copy is so poor that you can toss it in the bin.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathrine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barooga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Crappy Market”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It may look like a Hong Kong street market, but that's where the similarity ends for me.

I found this market to have pushy vendors, and be full of crappy goods. It's a tourist trap basically, and these days is one of the more seedier places in KL. I would not take my children there at night to be honest - not that there's danger, it's just not nice.

An eye-opening observation I made was this - no locals shop there, none. Enough said I reckon.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbrown101272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Feels just like a Hong Kong market”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

T-shirts, watches, toys, electronic knock-offs and people bugging you to buy them. Watch out for the chestnut drums my 2 year old was burned by a coal that popped out of one! Run the gauntlet and grab a t-shirt and an airplane. Don't forget to haggle!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Chinatown - Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing