We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whisky and Whiskey Galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whisky Bar

The Whisky Bar
Ranked #7 of 4,051 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Water of Life", "Brown Gold", "Sunshine held together by water". Whatever you name it: if you are craving for the golden spirit make your way to our Whisky Bar on Changkat Bukit Bintang. Our current selection includes over 400 labels from around the world, - from the rarest single malts and exquisite blends to all-time favorites. We welcome the whisky connoisseur to indulge with his favorite label and encourage the curious to explore our range with selected whisky flights. ~There are two things a Highlander likes naked, and one of them is malt whisky~ Scottish Proverb
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Whisky and Whiskey Galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We started there on a night that involved a bit of a trawl around the food and drink of the P Ramlee/ Changkat/ etc environs.

This place is excellent! We didn't eat there, so no comment on food, but it has the most exhaustive list of whiskies I have EVER seen. All available by the glass, and they even have "tasting menus" of 6 different types to try in about 5 different versions, if I remember right...

Magnificent! (But not, of course, cheap!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    185
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue for enjoying Fine Whisky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Folks,
This one place for those who love fine whisky and great paring for the palate. The food not bad too. I would strongly recommend this place at changkat bukit bintang in heart of the night live in Kuala Lumpur as great venue for business dinner and for friends to gather around. The amazing range of the whisky and a passionate owner with dedicated staff for attention to detail are something to shout about.

Look out for the single ice ball for your whisky that unique for this place, one thing for sure if I am having my cigar with my whisky this is the joint I will like to go if I am in Bukit Bintang...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oneooneeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Whiskies and Steaks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Must be the place with the most number of different whiskies in Asia. Great choice at great prices. Yamakazi 18 is a must try!. Food here is pretty good, Steaks are well prepared to accompany the drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeGerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
606 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“whiskey heaven...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Whiskey Bar is one of the few relaxing & classy joints along the Changkat stretch. They emphasise mostly on whiskeys but do carry other drinks as well. They have an amazing selection of whiskeys. Anyone who is starting or wants to try varieties other than the usual blend should visit this place. I had a great experience trying out all the Japanese varieties. Do note however it is very pricey but worthwhile. Service is quick and attentive. They take care in the preparation of their drinks. Highly recommended for whiskey freaks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Decided to try this place out as it was recommended by a colleague of mine. Wonderful place to have whisky and wine as they have plenty of choices here. We girls had red wine and the guys had their whiskies. The thin crust pizza we had was awesome. We chatted till 2am.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HannahRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whisky Bar also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to The Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing