We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar and fantastic whiskey”
Review of The Whisky Bar

The Whisky Bar
Ranked #10 of 4,105 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Water of Life", "Brown Gold", "Sunshine held together by water". Whatever you name it: if you are craving for the golden spirit make your way to our Whisky Bar on Changkat Bukit Bintang. Our current selection includes over 400 labels from around the world, - from the rarest single malts and exquisite blends to all-time favorites. We welcome the whisky connoisseur to indulge with his favorite label and encourage the curious to explore our range with selected whisky flights. ~There are two things a Highlander likes naked, and one of them is malt whisky~ Scottish Proverb
The West Country
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great bar and fantastic whiskey”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place is an oasis amongst seedy bars. Clean cool and nicely laid out. Staff are brilliant and the whiskey selection is out of this world. Had a couple of mid week drinks here and thoroughly enjoyed it. One of the nicest places in KL.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TheWestCountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    190
    27
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place to socialize”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've always wanted to check this place out but never got the chance to. Finally when time permits, the opportunity was taken immediately. It was a totally different atmosphere here compared to other bars in Changkat. To put it in plain words, the place has a more soothing feel to it. They have this whisky flight menu that allows us to taste different sets of whisky. There's the steakhouse next door too that we can order from. Good place to socialize. Feels like home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BastianHelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My whisky journey started here”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've never been a whisky enthusiast and I don't think I will ever be, until now. Nuff said, alcohol is expensive in this country unless you stick to good old beer. I've longed for a change of taste and this place was introduced by a colleague who loves to drink. They have plenty of varieties to choose from but the Highland whisky has great texture and surprised me in many ways. We sat near the entrance and the atmosphere was soothing. Nice view of the Changkat scene. The staff was fast and friendly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BostonTea33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheras, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing place. Yamazaki!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Finally, I have time to review this place. We attended their Hakushu-Yamazaki whisky tasting session last week which was my first tasting session ever. The place was full and we were lucky we made reservations as the traffic conditions in KL caused us to be late. The 'lecture' was a bit long winded probably because I was hungry. However, both whiskies was rich in texture and it's amazing how a few drops of water could create different tastes. Nice trick. Overall it was a pleasing session and the waitress was kind enough to refill our glass several times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisLangkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yamazaki was great. Brings back memories...”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After our dinner at Jalan Alor, we decided to take a walk at Changkat for drinks. One of the waiter popped out and promoted their whisky of the month, Yamazaki. What good timing. Brought back memories of the time I studied in Japan. Nice bar and plenty of choices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MandyCYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whisky Bar also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to The Whisky Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing