We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Grid 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grid 9 Hotel
Ranked #71 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent there one night. It's clean, kind of fancy and a bit more expensive than usual backpackers. But you get a nice small room (we went for the double with a/c and own bathroom without windows for 125RM) with a big flatscreen and warm water, towels, soap, tissue and citymap. Jalan petaling and chinatown is 3min walking distance, maharajalela station is 50m away. Taxi from LCCT is 100RM, taxi to KLIA is 75RM.
It can be a bit loud at night so we were lucky not to have a window-room facing the street.
Friendly staff included. Recommendable!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KleinerPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Kleiner Pit,

Thank you so much for your positive comment about our staffs. Here at Grid 9 Hotel, we are committed to always offering memorable hotel experience and best customer service to all of our guests. We are looking forward for another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 667 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

I called the hotel a couple of hours prior to arrival and requested for interconnecting rooms. They did not have any but promptly assigned two adjacent rooms. It was a very friendly discussion & I felt assured of a good stay, which it was. The hotel is also very close (5 minute walk) to Chinatown street market. The hotel is minimal, basic but very clean and super friendly. It is bang opposite the monorail station. If your plan is to sleep for 8 hours and roam the city for 16, then this place suits the best.

Rooms are tiny (not small) as we took the windowless ones. However this was expected and value for money

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Vaga B,

Thank you for choosing Grid 9 hotel as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are glad to hear of your positive comments about our facilities and services. The team at Grid 9 would like to thank you for your great support. Have a great day ahead!

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is very close to the train station. Check in was a breeze and the staff are very helpful. The room is clean and new. There is a cafe at the restaurant and food are very reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmittenByFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear SmittenByFood,

Thank you for choosing Grid 9 Hotel as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. You are right! Our hotel is strategically located in downtown Kuala Lumpur with a stone’s throw away distance from monorail. Your positive comments will definitely motivate us. Once again, thank you for your great support!

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is like KL overall: really modern and fancy on the outside, but when you look closely, you notice all the minor things that a not quite okay.

I traveled solo and stayed here for 4 nights in early January, in one of those "Super Pods". Super Pod is advertised on their webpage to have more space than an ordinary dorm bed, I don't know how small the regular Pods are, but my bed was just the normal size, so I'm not sure what was the super about it. Good thing though, the room only had four beds, so maybe it was that.

Grid 9 seems to be a fairly new establishment, but still the building seems a bit worn down already; one wall in our room had crag in it and there were bits and pieces not quite properly maintained, for ex. the A/C leaked the condensation water on the room floor, the mounting of a clothing rail in a Pod next to mine had failed and the rail fell off, the bedsides and locker were dusty etc. Small things, but they just make you wonder what else is wrong.

Another thing that surprised me was that as you check-in, they hand you your bed linen + towel and then you need to make up your own bed. Well, I'm capable of doing that, no problem. However, there were two Asian girls staying in the same room with me and for some reason, they didn't have any bed linen at all. I thought that was strange, because they are included in the bed price, you don't need to rent them separately or anything. And as mattresses and pillows and blankets get easily worn out and dirty if people are sleeping there without any bed linen, I really hope that's not a normal custom there!

The hotel website boasts with this mellow, easy going backpacker atmosphere and that's why I chose to book a bed, but unfortunately in reality, the hotel doesn't quite live up to it. The reception and bar staff were reasonably helpful, but certainly not in that relaxed and friendly manner you would expect to find in a backpacker hotel/hostel. And also, there's a 50 ringgit deposit for the room keycard, I understand some deposit, but 50 ringgit??

Anyhow, on the good side, the hotel is reasonably priced, I mean the Pods are cheap, and reasonably clean and with a reasonably good location (with the Monorail), so it's not all bad. It just has the potential to be way better that it currently is.

Room Tip: It's by a heavily trafficked road, so if you can, try to get a room from the opposite side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Losviages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Losviages,

Thank your for choosing Grid 9 hotel as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The Super Pods that you booked is definitely larger compare to the Single Pods, in term of the size and space. In addition, we have also noted your comments about cracking line on the wall and services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience may have caused you.
On a positive side, we would like to thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. Our housekeepers will be very happy to see your comments as they are working very hard every day to maintain the highest standard possible. Have a great day ahead!

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place, great location..it's a wonderful place, clean, with very good location..the monorail station it's outside the hotel..turn left, walk 25 meters, go up the stairs, and you are there..the beds are super cosy..they are private, new, and very comfortable..the staff is polite, and kind..
You can have breakfast there, for a very good price too..for backpackers is a heaven.. The wifi is excellent.
If I will go back to KL, I will stay here again..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Radu A,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us! We look forward to welcome you again for another memorable experience at Grid 9 Hotel.

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Grid 9 for 3 nights. I highly recommend this nice hotel to first time visitor. The rooms are really clean with comfortable bed. The location is really good. U can easily access anywhere easily. The service crew is very friendly and will try their best to sort out any request. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Lynns,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Grid 9 Hotel. Taking your positive feedback on board, we will continuously seek for improvement on our current experience.

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I get the concept behind the hotel and on first impressions it looks spot on. The small rooms are designed to sleep in not socialise and that's fine as the lounge and cafe makeup for this.

But this is where our room failed. A corner family room with two windows with multiple ac units mounted directly outside which was hot, had a failing AC, short beds ( I'm 5'10" and my feet hung off the bed) and terrible water pressure in the shower. The hot water pump is a joke and failed on the fourth shower even after reset. We had cold showers the morning we had to leave early. The 3rd floor room was also noisy from the traffic below and the curtains did not block out the ambient light from the city.
I had virtually no sleep as a result and whilst my wife and son fared better they also struggled to sleep. And that's the point - the sleep experience for us was terrible. However another couple travelling with us in a non window room had no issues except again with that joke of a hot water system.
We did mention the hot water problem on leaving but not sure that the message got through.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swamprat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Swamprat96,

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with us. Our rooms were designed to be compact yet comfortable, providing the necessities required for our guests while keeping it an affordable price. With regards to the water heater, we have taken note on it and will definitely forward your comment to our supplier for their immediate action. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grid 9 Hotel to replace the negative experience with a more positive one!

Owen Lim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#58 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#90 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#96 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ceria Hotel
Ceria Hotel
#79 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#89 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grid 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grid 9 Hotel

Address: No. 9 Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $13 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grid 9 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We built Grid 9 with a vision to create a social experience unlike any other hotel. Inspired by the design of a grid, we want the paths of our guests to intersect, forming a network of globetrotters around the world. More than just a hotel or a flashpacker, we are a hybrid of both. From our pods to our rooms, from our lounge to our gastropub, the Grid 9 experience is what differentiates us from the pack.Located in the heart of KL, we are a 10 minute walk to Chinatown and right next to the Jalan Maharajalela monorail station.P.S. The wifi is free =) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grid 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing