We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Ranked #14 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So so...”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

someone has brought up my expectation i guess, but it's really so so...
in the sentral, good if you want to take the train, otherwise somewhere close to mall will be more convenient... funky lobby design, kinda unique here in Malaysia, kinda cool... room deco is a bit retro + local comics drawing... overall is good, but not the best...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Kelly T,

Thanks for your "So so..." review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

I was happy to read that you liked the bright & bold design of the hotel. I have also noted your comments with regard to location and lack of access to a shopping center. The Nu Sentral lifestyle mall is scheduled to open up early 2014.

The team work hard to delight & deliver and I am sorry that we missed the mark. I am happy that despite our short coming you still rated us 4 out of 5.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,790
    1,050
    206
    44
    30
See reviews for
681
714
323
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Aloft is just a 25 minute ride on the KLIA Express from KL's international airport. When you get off in KL Sentral, there is a sign for the Aloft with an arrow pointing you in the (supposedly) right direction, but it was misleading and I ended up on the other side of the train station instead. I let the front desk know when I finally got to the hotel that they need to improve their directions!

Check in is quick and efficient The lobby area is quite big, with a bar, pool table, internet area, etc. Rooms are quite spacious and I was upgraded to a room with a beautiful view of the PETRONAS Towers in the background. Bathroom toilet/shower areas were well thought out and the entire room was decorated quite nicely.

While the lobby had a party atmosphere to it (loud music, etc.) as part of the Aloft marketing strategy, the rooms were very peaceful and quiet, and I was able to get a very good night's sleep. The rooftop pool was amazing with spectacular views of the city. They have a nightly party at the pool area and even during the day, there was a DJ playing electronic music.

The buffet breakfast was very impressive as well, in particular the freshly squeezed juices. There was also an omelet station and a nice selection of hot/cold foods - both international and Asian.

Starwood should be very proud of the management of this hotel. For a new hotel, it's a very well-oiled operation and I'd highly recommend it if staying in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the PETRONAS Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthewfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi matthewfromct,

Thanks for your “Great location, great staff, great rooms” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Aloft is different by design and its great to see that you like the bright & bold modern space.

Good to see that you enjoyed our breakfast chefs@play-station.

I have noted your comments with regard to signage within KL sentral station and we have been coordinating with local authorities to get this done.

Give us a-buzz if your travels take you back to the heart of KL sentral so that we can continue to a-muse you.


Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Extremely convenient address. The hotel service at the buffet restaurant is great and it is a pleasure to find the executive chef checking on the details and food satisfaction unfortunately we cannot say the same about the rooftop which is a little disorganized and to get a sunbed it is almost an impossible task since there is no-one to assist you. The reception team is average and they need more training specially in regards of recommendations. Overall it was a good experience and I am looking forward to be back and see some improvements.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bujin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Bujin86,

Thanks for your “Great location!” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Great to read that you liked nook our all day dining venue and that you had the opportunity to interact with Steven our Chef.

I have read your comments about our Aloha Desk team and Splash pool and I am sorry that we missed the mark. I will share you comments with the team so that we can do betterr.

Give us a-buzz when you plan your next trip to KL so that we can a-muse you with more positive changes.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Cheap(ish), chic, new, clean, and the pool is to die for. I love how the furnishings in the room are pretty "designer" and good quality too. Absolutely a steal for the price-point. 3 of us slept in the basic room (with 2 queen beds). It was lovely!

Especially awesome if plan to travel to other parts via KL Sentral. I didn't get to swim in the pool or hang out by the bar this time, but I'm determined to go back and try it out!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zi Jie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi whimsical16,

Thanks for your “Fantastic” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Aloft is different by design and its great to read that you like the bright & bold modern space.

Look forward to seeing you back in the heart of KL sentral soon.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo

PS. check out the panoramic views of the KL skyline from our tiki moderne Mai Bar on the roof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Staff

On arrival at Aloft KL Sentral we we're welcomed by Ophilia at reception. She is fantastic! It wasnt the warm welcome, friendly smile or caring attitude that was impressive (this is to be expected from the brand), but more so the fact that she had welcomed my parents who arrived 4 hours earlier, and changed their room as to be on the same floor. This very small attention to detail was carried out through our entire stay at Aloft.

The breakfast was wonderful with such a wide variety of choices to suit every pallet. Most importantly, the staff once again matched the high standard of cuisine being served at the buffet. The Chefs made the perfect omelette to order, and quickly replaced any item that was running out, or had been sitting for too long. The wait staff including the Food and Beverage Manager - I'm sorry I dont have her name - was great. Maron was also pleasure to see every day and all staff took the time to speak with us, and to make sure our children were happy. I seriously cannot praise them enough - they made the holiday.

Facilities

Pool - With awesome views across KL to the Petronas and Menera, this was the children's favourite place. Lovely lunch served by wait staff, as was the cigar and rum in the late evening. Yes the food and beverage prices can seem a little high, but when your sitting on top of a great hotel with a beautiful pool overlooking the city, you can understand why. Alternatively if you don't like the prices, you can go into KL Sentral across the road with the million other people and have McDonalds.

Gym - although small, it has every equipment necessary to keep up your fitness and is kept immaculate. Water, and towels were always on hand with the facilities extremely clean.

There are so many other nice aspects to this modern hotel, but spelling them out for you is not going to do the hotel, staff, or yourself justice. Go and stay there and you'll be amazed.

Location

Aloft is literally across the road from KL Sentral. We caught a bus from KL Airport and once we stopped at Sentral, we strolled 100m to the hotel. The great thing about Aloft's location, is how central it is to everything. Numerous times we caught the MRT to Petronas for RM1.60 one way, which took all of 15-20 minutes. Other times we caught a taxi to Menara tower and it cost RM50 for 4 adults and 2 children. KL Sentral station has every fast food, convenience, ATM and everything else under the sun. If your travelling on some international airlines, I believe you can also check in there as well.

I cant really praise this place enough. The reason we choose Aloft was because the price was excellent, the location was convenient, and it was a new hotel. I have stayed at the Sheraton Imperial, Palace of the Golden Horses and other places whilst in KL, but Aloft takes the cake. Its has a high quality feel, look and service of the 5 star hotels, without any of the associated pretentiousness.

You will not be disappointed, and make sure when you book your room, you include breakfast!

Thanks Aloft for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papua13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi papua13,

Thanks for your “Top Quality, Great Location, Fantastic Staff” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

I was very happy to read that the hotel talent were able to delight and deliver.

The team works hard to engage its guests and its great to get the feedback when we do so. In this day and age when a good job goes often unsaid it is heartening to see that there are still those that take the time to recognize a job well done. I will share your thoughts with Ophilia, Maran, Rose and the team.

Give us a-buzz on when you next make plans to visit KL so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

New and Nice hotel with great friendly and easy going staff also known as 'Talents'. Truly had a very comfortable stay with my 2 year old girl who enjoyed playing in a tent provided by the hotel in our rooms.

Rooms clean nice and we stayed in the Breezy suite. Very convenient location just a stone throw away from the major Metro station.

Room Tip: Higher floors and corner rooms whenever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enochdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi enochdude,

Thanks for your “Best Talents (Staff)” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

Great to read that you had an easy breezy stay in one of our Breezy Suites.

The hotel talent work hard to delight & deliver and its great to hear it when they make a guest stay special. Great to see that your 2 year enjoyed the Camp Aloft!!

Give us a-buzz your next visit to the heart of KL sentral so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I was recommended this hotel by my uncle and I was wowed by the warm welcome I got as soon as I checked in.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially Tanusha. They all went an extra mile to make our stay memorable and enjoyable.

Centrally located - so travelling is very easy.

The buffet breakfast had a wide selection which helps you set out for the day.

All in all I would say it is an excellent choice for a visit to KL.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftKL, General Manager at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi19AS,

Thanks for your “Perfection” review of aloft kuala lumpur sentral.

The hotel talent works hard to delight & deliver and its great to get the feedback when we have done so. I am delighted that Tanusha went out of the way to make your stay special. I will definitely recognize her for delivering an A+ experience. In this day and age when good work goes often up-praised its fantastic to see that there are still those that take the time to recognize a job well done.

If your travels take you back to the heart of KL sentral, give us a-buzz so that we can continue to a-muse you.

Live.Life.Aloft,

Paolo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,723 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral

Property: Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Address: No 5, Jalan Stesen Sentral | Kuala Lumpur Sentral, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral 4*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new destination sensation in travel arrives in KL Sentral with an urban-influenced design concept. Aloft KL Sentral is a refreshing alternative on the KL hotel scene offering spacious, loft-like rooms with high ceilings and a savvy environment. The perfect getaway to the city, Aloft KL Sentral is only 28 minutes away from the KL International Airport and connected to the main KL transportation hub such as the KLIA Express, KL Monorail, KL North – South Commuter and the Light Rail Transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing