We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite”

Din Tai Fung Pavilion KL
Ranked #47 of 5,552 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Din Tai Fung is our go to restaurant in KL when we have friends visiting with us. The service was exceptional, fast and faultless. Everything we tried was hot, tasty and has the taste of quality. We love Din Tai Fung and try to try as many of them as we can and we find the one at Pavilion is the same as some of our other favourites.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bronandcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2019

First time to go to their Pavilion branch. Best is to use either Grab or public transport since Pavilion parking is soooo expensive. If you are a non-meat eater like me, it is not easy to get a good spread of food to choose from, especially in the Xiao Long Bao area. Pity. They should try and accommodate more for the non-meat eaters. I do eat seafood so I have a bit more choice than the vegetarians or the vegans! It gets crowded at dinner time, so remember to come early to get a seat.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maitheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Dined here on our first night in KL and we weren’t disappointed. The pork xaio long bao were yummy with the soy sauce/rice vinegar dipping bowl. Cold spicy schezchan chicken, spicy prawn and pork wonton and pork noodles completed the order. With 2 waters the price was around £17 - what a bargain!! Here are a few photos of the half eaten dishes. Worth a visit but was difficult to locate - on the 6th floor of the Pavilion at the top end when you exit the escalator

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank TH06MAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We came here around 6pm on a weeknight and there was no wait. With Din Tai Fung, you know what you are getting. The xiao long bao was delicious as usual. We also enjoyed the braised beef noodle soup. I think if you stick with their specialties, which are noted in the menu, you can't really go wrong. There may be better xiao long bao at some local Chinese restaurants, but as a tourist, we don't know about it and Din Tai Fung's quality is a known constant. Also coming from the U.S., the Din Tai Fung here was a LOT cheaper for the same food. Service is fast and efficient, if not particularly warm or friendly. If you feel the urge for good xiao long bao in a new city, this is always a good place for it.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whoisthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

A popular venue and, be assured, a short wait in the queue to get in will be richly rewarded. First impressions are gained through the front window, where you see a throng of ghostly white figures with gauze masks, making the sublime dumplings. We chose the famous pork and prawn dumplings prettily folded with neat pleats spiralling from top to bottom. These we augmented with Szechan spicy chicken, snow pea tops with tiny mushrooms and Japanese steamed rice. The efficient waiting staff worked with military precision and ensured a splendid and delicious dining experience. Is there a sixth star....?

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung Pavilion KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Din Tai Fung Pavilion KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing