We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New chic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivatel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #109 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed December 15, 2013

New hotel on a busy road.modern design,the lobby is simple and nice.the room is beautiful,with decorative wallpaper,which later i found out that different rooms come with different wallpaper pattern.the size is ok,the bed is comfortable,quite a number of good tv channels on.wifi is complimentary and has a good coverage in the room.the shower is powerful,the bathroom is clean.the breakfast offers just a simple cuisine,the cafe is tastefully designed.there's a mall next to the hotel,but nothing much there unless you want to shop for furniture.overall, it's a nice city hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings!

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to be told that you were happy with the facilities and services during your stay with us, and we are very much looking forward to your next stay at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 260 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

The receptionist is very warmly in welcoming guest and they process the check in very fast. Generally i like this hotel, the room is spacious and very nice design and also very clean.The only thing lacking is the wifi cant be access into my room ( i was staying in 12th floor) and also the drain in the toilet is not working very well, but other than that all is just good. The breakfast is just so so but i have no problem with that because its easily to find foods in the shopping mall or coffeeshop nearby. The location is easily access to lrt station and not too far from downtown/golden triangle (bukit bintang and klcc area). I already book again and will check in on this coming weekend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khairol Akmal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings!

Thank you for sparing your time to share with us your stay experience at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

We greatly apologize for any inconvenience you had encountered during your stay, and we have highlighted the matter rises to the respective in-charge. We will certainly strengthen our facilities to deliver excellent services to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, for a better experience.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel has a modern decor. The room was spacious and i love the bathroom. The breakfast had limited choice and tasteless. The location is not that great if you are driving due to heavy traffic. But overall it's quite nice and worth the value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delfa0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Vivatel Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

We have noted your remark regarding the breakfast buffet and we have shared your comment with our Food & Beverage Team.

All in all, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, for a better experience.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel looked beautiful, we were nicely surprised.

I booked a Deluxe Twin. Upon arrival it took quite some time to get checked in, I was the only one there. And you have to pay a 200 rm deposit (they better pay you 200rm for all the inconveniences that you will be facing later on).

I got a Standard King? wow a downgrade, that doesn't happen often. So had to change rooms.
We got a very nice looking room, but on the highway side. They cut down on everything that is important, so also on the windows, and the noise is very present. Also the beds are very soft, can't hardly believe that these are new mattresses.

We asked for a room on the other side, we got another room and indeed it was quiet on the 12th floor, pool side. Was pretty hot and after half an hour it was still the same temperature, also the hot water didn't work. We called, and a technician came. AC is broken, change room.

We changed rooms, but got again a standard room! with a dividing door and still very hot. We didn't accept and went to room no.5, also on the 12th floor and including a squeaking bed. After 30 minutes the same heat, ac didn't work either!

Went down stairs, got stuck in the elevator again. Staff doesn't react, stands there, a sorry is what you get. But not a single solution. It was 22:00, 7 hours after checking in and had to change rooms 5 times. We had it and no solution was provided by this unprofessional staff. The manager came, lots of sorries and the ac was broken in a big part of the building?! 3 months old. He would find a solution.

22:30 he found a room on the 8th floor where the ac worked half and though it wasn't cool, it was cool enough to sleep. But we had to wait for the key. Per floor you get a key card that only works for that floor. They would bring the key, 20 minutes later....no key and were stuck in that heat! we called again, oh yes sorry. So from 15:30-23:00, we didn't have a room.

Next day NO hot water! got stuck again in that elevator. Went to the reception to ask for a breakfast coupon for all the inconveniences we had to endure, the least they could do. No no, didn't book breakfast and I really had to explain what had happened! nothing mentioned in the computer, or so she said. She had to call the manager and she was agitated. Well the manager found it a reasonable idea.

Our mistake because the breakfast is so bad you can't believe. The bread and "pastries" were from Easter 2009. The coffee was undrinkable, I got an undercooked fried egg and the air con was dripping in our food!

Got stuck in the elevator again, the outlets didn't work in the room. No hot water and staff who doesn't do anything, except for standing there with the most arrogant and grumpy looks. I had it and demanded a normal compensation when we came back, and that was NOT breakfast.

Well nothing was possible, because we already got an upgrade? Unbelievable the stupidness we had to deal with. We booked a Deluxe, but they put Standard, it took a very long time to figure that out for them. Then the sorries flew again and for our NEXT booking, yes yes, we would get a suite....A next booking, the arrogance of these people is beyond believe?!
Got so angry,we got 1 night refunded.

Don't be mislead by the looks of the hotel, because the hotel and it's rooms look beautiful. But nothing works, the worst staff ever and no service at all. Do yourself a favor and don't book this hotel! We checked out and booked a room in Sunway Putra Hotel, just a little extra, but can not even begin to describe the differences.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel. High way side a lot of noise 12th floor the ac doesn't work and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Vivatel Kuala Lumpur !

Thank you for spending your time informing us your stay experience.

We sincerely regret on the unpleasant experience befell you when you were here.

We would definitely like to improve on the comments which you have stated in the TripAdvisor and Booking.com.

We would like to seek for your consideration to communicate with us for further arrangement on your shortcoming during your stay, kindly please provide your email address to us for further discussion and hope that we could come out with a better solution.

Looking forward to hear from you, or kindly email to eam@vivatel.com.my.


Regards,
Nasir Ismail
Executive Assistant Manager
Vivatel Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very good but the location not that gr8 from the tourist point of view.the hotel dosent have a 24 hr room service and the reataurant(though we visited just one of the 3 )called retro was not all that good.the staff was very courteous.overall a verygood hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gssoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur. We greatly value your patronage and the time you took to write a review.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, and the high level of service provided in our restaurants.

We would like to express once more our delight for your kind comments, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, during your next visit.


Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice, new 4* hotel in a quiet location connected to mall with cinema. Having visited KL many times this was an ideal location to act as a base to visit our favourite locations. A short walk to the LRT (the cheapest rail option) gives connectivity to KLCC etc and only 1 stop and a nice walk to Chinatown and similar to Times Square. If you are pushed for time and haven't been to KL before &/or like to be at the heart of a city this isn't likely to be for you. The hotel is modern, stylish, clean and has a good enough pool (which is unlikely to be busy).

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BobbyDazler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Vivatel Kuala Lumpur !

We thank you for your continued patronage. It is so great to hear that you find our hotel ambiance and the room to your liking

We are certainly looking forward to the pleasure of serving you at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Relatively new hotel where rooms are okay but didn't get the bedding requested...very unhappy as personal belongings were found missing from the room after cleaning up of room!!! No further explanation given by the management!!! Unacceptaable!!! Leave with a very BAD impression of the integrity of the staff!!!! Bad!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank 553bernardl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for informing us your experience.

Can you provide us with your contact details, so our person-in-charge can contact you to obtain more information for our investigation?

Alternatively, we can be reached at 03 9205 8888 or fom@vivatel.com.my.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,
Vivatel Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#118 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
195 reviews
4.2 mi away
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
#159 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Maluri Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Maluri Kuala Lumpur
#263 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sunway Velocity Hotel
Sunway Velocity Hotel
#107 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#32 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivatel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivatel Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 85 Jalan Loke Yew, Kuala Lumpur 55200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $48 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivatel Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivatel Kuala Lumpur is a 4 Star business hotel contemporary rooms and suites, themed, with comfortable facilities and warm hospitality , making a stay at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur a pleasurable one for both business and leisure travelers. Besides, Vivatel Kuala Lumpur has all facilities and conveniences such as a spa, fitness centre, 4 feet deep swimming pool and a wading pool, laundry and room service, high speed internet access ( WIFI) and business centre. There are three food and beverage outlets available , namely Retro Cafe, Retro Lounge and Club 7, that offers international and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivatel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing