We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCAM: hotel taxi service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivatel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #108 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is fine to stay in, staff could be more friendly but to be honest i found customet service in KL to be seriously lacking so...But if you get one of the online deals it will be worth it! HOWEVER DO NOT USE the hotel taxi service! It is a big rip off and will cost you double or more of the actual price if the taxi driver uses a meter! There is a scam going on here and I found out too late. But it will be cheaper for you to do a quick online search for reputable local taxis, call from your room and get them to pick you up.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAtraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

We have taken note on your comment about hotel taxi service. We are pleased to share that our hotel taxi is service by Metro Services. Fares for the hotel zone are a bit expensive depends how far along you want to go. Fares available at hotel receptions.

We hope this will clear up your question sufficiently.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for 3 nights arrived around 7pm so when i arrived they upgraded me to a big great room with amazing view but the A/C in the bedroom wasn't working so i moved the next day to another room it was great and clean room. Their breakfast buffet wasn't that exciting no much options which made me feel like it's not worth it book the room with breakfast. Overall hotel is great, friendly staff a bit far from the center but highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the right side has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

We have noted your remark regarding the breakfast buffet and we have shared your comment with our Food & Beverage Team for consideration.

All in all, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, for a better experience.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is new, modern design and location is good as well, however, since the hotel is opened recently, the services are not complete. The room service very slow or sometime they ignore you, the breakfast is basic, the waitress are too lazy to respond to you.. they have problem in electricity as well, I remember the 1st night I stayed there I went to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, I was waiting for half an hour for my order then they said sorry we the electricity shut down in the kitchen!!! The room is nice and modern though...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muayad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

We appreciate your feedback on improvement to our services and where we could do better. We have highlighted this matter to our Training Manager, and we will certainly strengthen our staff training to deliver excellent service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, for a better experience.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My first trip to Kuala Lumpur and I got this Vivatel Hotel which was like a home to me.The staff were very co-operative and welcomed us with a nice smile and the check in was also very fast thanks to the pretty girl at the reception.Talking about the rooms,it seems they were designed with brain and heart.We got the room with the vibrant red color interior which was very cozy and luxury and at the same time clean and neat.The breakfast was fresh and delicious and the staff were always around you to offer you whatever you need.Location was safe as well as the hotel and moreover they have free shuttle service to take you to different malls.There is also a Viva mall next to the hotel which has restaurents,Giant hypermarket,cinema and shops.It was a wonderful experience for me to stay in Vivatel Kuala Lumpur and it can be for you as well.

Room Tip: Any theme room you get,you will love them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanif4786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

We are glad to be told that you were happy with the facilities and services during your stay with us.

We are very much looking forward to your next stay at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in vivatel twice. 4 nights in apr13 and another 4 nights in may13.

1st stay was pleasant. I stayed in water-themed room. Water pressure for shower was excellent but the hot-cold adjusting a bit tricky. Slight twist then it can get very cold or very hot. Aircond was way cold. Need to switch it off at night.

2nd stay I got wooden-themed room. Nicer deco I thought. Alas, during my 2nd night, an adult cockroach came out from under the bed. Yewwww!!! Can't imagine such a brand new hotel (opened in jan13 if not mistaken) could be a breeding ground for cockroach. otherwise I would have rated 5 for cleanliness. Water pressure from shower was poor. I need to stand near the wall to bathe. Again, the hot-cold adjuster is very hard to
manoeuvre.

Complimentary breakfast was ok with lots of room for improvement. The daily fried mee/meehoon/rice were quite bland. A friend tried the nasi lemak but the sambal was bitter.

The management should seriously look into the
matters mentioned especially the cockroach. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sapura79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us.

We have taken note about your comments, pertaining to the water pressure and the cockroach issue. We have highlighted these matters to our Maintenance Manager, and remedial actions have been initiated to ensure there are no re-occurrences in the near future.

We are certainly looking forward to the pleasure of serving you at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a new hotel still under construction, official opening in about 2 months. Spa and fitness area not available yet. Rooms are spacious and modern. Bathroom is nice. The fridge is hidden behind the mirror which you can open from the room and makes the bathroom part of the room. Nice glass windows from bottom to ceiling.
Breakfast is ok, however not that much variety and choice. One of the issues i would recommend the hotel management to improve as soon as possible: the ability of the staff at the retro cafe (breakfast area). You can order fried eggss, omelet or whatever eggs but the staff standing behind the counter don't know what to do, do not speak , just look at you, which i then took as the sign i could order...had to explain several times what i wanted then somebody else came out of the kitchen and started making my omelet which took him 3 attempts. This happened two days in a row, the last day he finally understood how to bake an egg. I would recommend the hotel management to improve on the signage: as you cannot see very clear that there is a part where you can have eggs ( as most of the time the staff in not at the counter but in the back in the kitchen), also i would recommend to have pepper and salt on all the tables and not only at the egg station. And last but not least: coffee and tea is served by staff walking around but unfortunately most of the time they were hiding out in the back.
There is a nice big swimming pool on the 5th floor. I would recommend the hotel management to add some cushions as the wooden sunbeds are very hard to have a relaxed few hours at the pool.
The overall experience is very good that is why i still would highly recommend this hotel, staff is friendly, hotel is clean and location however not in the center is ok.
Just some comments to help improve as their is potential for this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted that you find our hotel ambiance and the room to your liking; and we regret on your unpleasant experience at Retro Cafe and appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know. We have highlighted your experience to our Food & Beverage Team and remedial actions have been initiated to ensure there are no re-occurrences in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, for a better experience.

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Vivatel Hotel is part of an integrated Viva Mall and Viva Expo.
We were participating in a Food exhibition in Viva Expo, so it is very convenient for us to just walk over. Anything we missed out, we just head to the Giant Supermarket to replenish. So location wise, it is superb for our trip.

The hotel staff are very friendly, they take care to smile and greet you, and offer assistance whenever you walk near them.

Being near to the Mall, lunch and dinner is no problem as they have a few F&B outlets onsite. But breakfast is a challenge if you do not want to eat the Hotel buffet, as the mall F&B outlets do not open in time for breakfast. However outside the hotel are a few eating house within walking distance that you can have local breakfast.

Taxi to other places like Midvalley Megamall, Times Square is just 10-13 minutes away and costs less than RM10 if you managed to get the driver to switch on the meter.

We stayed at Floor 7, and the WIFI signal is strong there, the rooms and facility is complete. We have what we needed. The TV however does not have good signal, when it rains, the picture is grainy. The air con is pretty cold and the bathroom ventilator is quite noisy. Other than that, the room is comfortable and roomy enough for an extra bed to fit in without problem.

Room Tip: As they are still quite new, some floor are still not ready, WIFI not working etc. Make sure you ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivatel_KL, Front Office Manager at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Vivatel Kuala Lumpur during your last stay in Kuala Lumpur.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and the service provided by our staff. We have forwarded your comments, regarding the poor TV signal and noisiness of the bathroom ventilator to our Maintenance Team for remedial actions; please accept our apology for that.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Nasir Ismail
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
4.2 mi away
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
#163 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#120 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Maluri Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Maluri Kuala Lumpur
#259 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
0.7 mi away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#35 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunway Velocity Hotel
Sunway Velocity Hotel
#122 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivatel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivatel Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 85 Jalan Loke Yew, Kuala Lumpur 55200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $47 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vivatel Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivatel Kuala Lumpur is a 4 Star business hotel contemporary rooms and suites, themed, with comfortable facilities and warm hospitality , making a stay at Vivatel Kuala Lumpur a pleasurable one for both business and leisure travelers. Besides, Vivatel Kuala Lumpur has all facilities and conveniences such as a spa, fitness centre, 4 feet deep swimming pool and a wading pool, laundry and room service, high speed internet access ( WIFI) and business centre. There are three food and beverage outlets available , namely Retro Cafe, Retro Lounge and Club 7, that offers international and Asian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivatel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing