We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to do in KL”

Dining In The Dark KL
Ranked #2 of 4,128 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A restaurant in total darkness. A completely new sensory experience. Dining in The Dark KL, the very first of its kind in Malaysia.The optic nerve is overridden – your other senses take over. Every sound, every movement, every taste, every breath is an adventure!Thoughtfully designed and carefully prepared surprised menu fit for a fine dining—Starter, Soup, Main, Dessert—with varying flavours to give your palate a wonderful experience and your mind... an exciting challenge!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Have to do in KL”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and my daughter and I were very keen to try this restaurant out and were not disappointed. We were greeted with a cocktail by very friendly staff who got us to play a game with a blind fold - we were hopeless. We then met our waiter for the night, Tom, who was fantastic explaining how the diner would progress. The room is black cannot see a thing. Food came in segmented plates and Tom was always there with us explaining how best to the eat the meal. Food was great and it is amazing how much we rely on vision when eating - we knew the tastes were familiar but some of them we couldn't work out what they were. Great concept great to experience what it is like for the vision impaired.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Rochelle L,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you have had a good time dining with us. Yes, it is always exciting to be exploring a new concept and gaining insights from the experience.

Our guides who are vision-impaired are very much encouraged by diners like you.

Thank you once again.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    305
    66
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

After reading all the reviews about this place couldn't wait to get there. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient at their job, the food was above average and the concept is interesting. But I don't understand how it could be the number one restaurant in kuala lumpur. It's a different experience but as far as food and everything goes, there are many more out there that are equal or better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cptncnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Cptncnt,
Thank you for your review.

We are encouraged by your positive feedback after your experience at Dining In The Dark KL. At Dining In The Dark KL, we believe in the complete "Gastronomic Journey" and each diner matters.

We are bringing to our diners a new approach dining, where it is about the true taste, true aroma and the texture one would pay attention to when the sense of sight is taken away.

Thank you for having dined with us, and we hope this experience gave you a new insight to the food served whenever you go dining.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went here after seeing the movie about time based in a dark restaurant in London, Your met by two lovely phillapina ladies who make you feel totally relaxed before your introduced to the person who will look after you all night inside the dark room and believe me it is absolutely pitch black, Your taken in by your dark room supervisor and told where to sit, the expericence consists of 4 courses, first there are 4 starters i will not tell you what they are as i do not want to spoil this for you, then 2 soups, then 3 main courses, then 5 sweets all washed down with 4 glasses of red wine, the whole experience is unbeleivable and your other 4 senses become alive with the complete loss of your site, My only complaint was and this is nothing to do with the restaurant was the loud mouthed cockney (Londoner with the philapina or thai girlfriend who were very obnoxioulsy noisey sometimes i feel ashamed to be British and this was one of the occassions luckily we were on our last course when he came in) I can complety recommend the whole experience and i have reda in these threads that the food was not very good well i thought the food was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ferretUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear FerretUk,
Thank you for your review.

"Brilliant" experience at Dining In The "Dark" KL is indeed a wonderful description. We are delighted you enjoyed your "gastronomic journey" albeit not perfect. As this is very much a concept dining experience, how diners react to it varies - Some face the challenge with an open-heart and some, slightly apprehensive.

It is best to remember that one does not need to speak extra loud in order to hear each other in the dark or, to be anxious about how one could eat without looking. In fact, our blind and vision-impaired guides depend very much on hearing each other as well as hearing you as they navigate in the dark so that they do not walk into each other. And, all diners have no difficulty finding their food when it is served despite their initial apprehension.

Congratulations for completing the challenge with flying colours!

Thank you and we do hope to see you again.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great experience, great service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Totally unforgettable experience and would recommend to anyone visiting KL. The staff were excellent - helped make the night and good value for money considering....its amazing the fear / excitement factor of trying to guess what you eat !!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Dom1874,

Thank you for writing your review and for your confidence in us.

It is a joy to know you have had an unforgettable dinner at ours, and had conquered the dark by completing the dinner entirely. Congratulations!

At Dining In The Dark KL, we do our best to ensure our diners are comfortable throughout the dinner, and able to experience their surroundings as well as enjoying the company of their loved ones without "seeing" them.

Once again, thank you.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, au
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A really unforgetable experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We went with friends who were living in KL at the time. You will get some insight into how it is to be blind, it is not just "dark" you literally can't see a thing. I even had to take my watch off because of the luminous face.

The food is served on segmented plates and you are told where to start eating and what direction to eat around the plate. At the end you were given a test to see if you could work out what you were eating, I did reasonably well with this.

A really unique experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnmBrisbane_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleCharlottePua, Public Relations Manager at Dining In The Dark KL, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear JohnmBrisbane-au,

Thank you for writing your review.

We are glad you have enjoyed your dinner and it has been an unforgettable experience for you.

Yes, our menu is designed to give each diner a journey through different tastes and aromas of the food. Therefore, diners are highly encouraged to eat them based on the sequence we have set out, and of course, savour every single flavour in it.

It is quite an interesting experience to finally focus on your sense of taste and of smell, without any pre-judgement through your sight. Well done on figuring out most of the food you had.

Thank you.

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining In The Dark KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Dining In The Dark KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing